We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to Manager and Staff of Mango Mar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mango Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mango Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mango Mar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   De la POPS en Jaco 100 mts | hacia el mar. Calle Cocal., Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thanks to Manager and Staff of Mango Mar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit at Mango Mar from Jan. 25th to March 7th, 2012; this was our 6th trip back to Mango Mar and 7th to Jaco. Mango Mar, a little boutique hotel, is in the centre of Jaco and on the beach. The Manager, Marlene, was exceptionally helpful and all the staff are wonderful....they are like our family and home away from home. Although the hotel is a little older, it is clean and well maintained and they can't do enough for guests. We felt truely relaxed and spoiled there! We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are fairly spacious and all sleep at least 3 people; mostly 4. The rooms on the east side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at Mango Mar for 7 nights with a group of friends looking to get away from the very noisy San Jose. The reason why we picked this hotel was mainly down to the location and was not disappointed in the slightest. Mango Mar is set in the heart of Jaco and right on the beach with its own private access meaning that you do not get lots of beach goers trundling through while you are sleeping or relaxing by the guitar shaped pool. The sunsets on Jaco are stunning and every evening locals would just sit on the beach and watch the sun go down.

All the rooms had a beach view but would recommend the 1st floor rooms mainly cause the view is better and also because you can leave the balcony door open and get a nice breeze coming through. The hotel was always clean and the staff, in particular the lovely Marlena were very friendly and attentive. On our last night at the Hotel Marlena even cooked a lovely dinner for us as a thank you which was a nice touch. There is always a security guard on patrol adding an extra feel of security. Tours can be booked though the main office and you can also use the hotels body boards ($5 for 1 hour $10 for the whole day) which we did on a few occasions and was so much fun but harder than it looks.

All in all this was a great stay and would defiantly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nothing luxurious but a cute little beachfront hotel in a garden setting with pool (in the shadow of the larger, sleazy Hotel Cocal). Simple rooms but a great value. Each room has a balcony or terrace with nice ocean and sunset view. Order the pancakes at breakfast (included) instead of the continental which is just toast. There's nothing the hotel can do about it but a loud disco a few blocks away resounds until the wee hours. However, Jaco is not known for its peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This hotel is great value for the price. Right on the beach and if you get a room on the second floor you can see the ocean. It is older but well maintained and includes a breakfast ( tastless toast, fresh fruit plus juice and coffee). There is parking at the back and a night watchman. The gate to the beach is locked over night so an evening or early morning stroll on the beach requires walking around the block. Staff are very helpful. Sixty dollars off season is what we paid and we were quoted one hundred for peak season.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay with beach front and close to everything in Jaco, this is the place to go. My husband and I have stayed at Mango Mar several times and we continue going for it's value. It is inexpensive, beach front, clean, the staff is very helpful and friendly and it's at walking distance to the center of Jaco.

The rooms have A/C and cable TV, and the pool is small but clean and right by the beach. Also, it includes continental breakfast with an option to buy a bigger breakfast for a great price. Great value in a great location!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better layout and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

The pool is shaped like a guitar. I will give them that. The place needs to be renovated. My gf and I went for one night after our transfer from arenal to manuel antonio was deferred because of rain. The staff was more then helpful and bent over backward to help. The room felt like a 1984 vibe with no change to the bedsheets from then. You are literally right on the beach which is a perk but thats the only true advantage.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

You can't beat the location right on the beach and the staff is well-meaning. However, this hotel has seen better days. It hasn't been upgraded since I visited 5 years ago and is showing its age in a way that isn't reflected in the pricing of its rooms. The main issue is security. The locks on the doors are flimsy and. the safe in my room didn't work. As a solo traveller I just wasn't comfortable leaving my belongings whle I went out. ' there are big spaces between the door frame and the wall and the floor which means all manner of insects just make their way inside at will.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mango Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Mar

Address: De la POPS en Jaco 100 mts | hacia el mar. Calle Cocal., Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mango Mar 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Mar is located right in front of the pacific ocean in jaco beach. this small fourteen room tropical hotel is quiet and cozy and no matter where your room is you have a view of the ocean. walking distance to all your amenities, great waves and sunsets!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mango Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mango Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.