We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing surf - sink hole of a joint. Nice enough staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Las Olas Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Olas Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added Las Olas Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Playa Hermosa de Jaco, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing surf - sink hole of a joint. Nice enough staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This place is in a prime location - its cheap and given that food is expensive (Aug 2012) it's a nice place to save money BUT when the rains come it quickly becomes a sink hole with a swamp in the bathroom, and a leaky roof that dripped all over my bed. Yea if ur a surfer traveling with dudes you can put up with it - but even we were ready to GTFU after 2 nights

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
1
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

A surfers destination, waves for all abilities are at your fingertips! Cristian, Tex, and Nelson, will provide whatever experience you desire! The post surf food is fabulous...more ahi tuna then you can imagine! The hotel has a laid back vibe..the owners Cameron and Jason see to that. Will return this year for a 7th trip and can say every year has provided an amazing, different, wonderful trip! Don't expect turn down service, but what surfer does, be ready for a true, incredible costa rican experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you are looking for the best of everything Costa Rica has to offer, Las Olas is the perfect place to stay or to start your journey! if i had to backpack through C.R again, which i will..i will definitely return to Las Olas for another unforgettable experience!
From the best waves, most amazing black sand beaches, gorgeous sunsets to which you practice the best yoga i have yet to practice in the last 5 years! Spiritual, challenging and at the same time nurturing practices done by the wonderful Alejandra are better than any massage you can get after your surf! (which is also available) The energetic days surfing with really awesome surf instructor Nelson. Balanced by relaxing and invigorating yoga practice.
The food at the beach front restaurant is the best in all of Costa Rica! I've traveled all over C.R and i love good food, but never tasted breakfast, lunch, dinner, smoothies...you name it! Las Olas has the best food hands down! ((they are also famous for their beach restaurant, as many locals come there to dine, which is also a good way to meet new friends))
The staff at Las Olas are PURA VIDA!! ;-)) So chill & friendly. They go the extra mile just to make your experience the best! in my 8 day stay there they went the extra mile at least 4 times for me!!! Thank you so much Nelson for driving me when you were actually off work!!
Thank you Jason & Cameron for making sure i get to EVERY Yoga class in the special remote locations offered as a courtesy by the wonderful Alejandra!
Dear Tex, i can't thank you enough for saving me from being late to the airport and missing my flight (even 3 weeks after i left Las Olas) YOU GUYS ROCK!

When you have natural beauty & down to earth atmosphere with the most wonderful people i have yet to find in my 30 day journey in Costa Rica, having the best food EVER, and being given the chance to do my thing, make friends with the amazing local people from all over the world, or have a planned day, or have it all! This Experience out rules any luxury hotel out there! having a travel agent mother, i have been to many luxury, all inclusive, prestigious resorts & hotels. But NOTHING, and i mean Nothing compares to the LIFE you get to experience @ LAS OLAS.

Gracias por todo!
Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed at Las Olas for a few days in May 2011. Had the best time. Love the beach front restaurant. Views ;-) and food was great. Cristian, Tex, Jason and Mike really made my vacation fun! Accomodations are "rustic", but for the price, views and atmosphere...totally worth it! Will be back again! Maybe 2012...before the world ends? Ha ha...private joke btw Tex and I!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

THis was an awesome hotel. they provide you with the basics of essentials. its on the beach in what can feel like the middle of no where. Jaco is a short drive near by however. the staff is real chill and will help you with anything providing you need it. I was locked out of my room a few times. that was my fault but they were very friendly and helpful. THey pretty much let you do your own thing for the most part. the beach is an amazing blakc sand beach and the waves are prime. just enjoy the water the sun and the delicious food they make there at the restaurant.
I have to say thanks to Cameron for the baord rental. also have to say sorry I forgot to tell you that the leash broke from very powerfull wave. sorry man.
There was the first night when we stayed there that we had no running water but that was from the strom that occured earlier that day. every hotel in the area had no water so that wasnt a single problem with that hotel. our Key didnt work the first night we got there but cameron the owner climbed through some windows and stuff and got us set up. it was pretty cool. he pulled off some secret agent spider man moves.
All in all a really good stay and a nice time.
if I was going to mention a real issues it would probably just be the fact that the hotel is right off the highway so we can here all the cars driving by at night. not that big a deal in my opinion though.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

What i loved most about this place was the location. Don't get me wrong, the place itself and the people that work there are awesome too, but the location was my fave.
It's far enough from Jaco to be quiet and peaceful but close enough that you can hop in a cap and be there in 5 minutes. It's also about 10 minutes from Los Suenos and Herradura Bay if you want to go fishing. The hotel is right on the beach so you go to sleep and wake up to the sound of waves crashing. You really cant ask for anything better.
About the place. If you want to be able to pick up the phone and ring down to the lobby because you need more towels or another sample size of shampoo, this is not your place. If you want room service at 3 a.m., this is not you place.
If you want to surf all day and just have a cool chill place and a comfy bed to come home to, definately your place.
It doesn't have air conditioning but you don't need it. The rooms are clean. I think a maid comes every day. I think all of the rooms have a mini fridge in them. ya know, to put that bottle of rum in that you got a the duty free store when u landed.
The people that work there are totally awesome and helpful. Just let them know what you need and they will get it.....it might take them a little longer *wink wink* but they will get it.
The restaurant there is awesome! Everything i had tasted great and one particular breakfast really saved my a$$ after a rough night the night before.
And you really can't go wrong with the price. I think i spent more on dinner the other night then i did for my entire stay there. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

The food was not to be believed ! The best place to eat in Playa Hermosa. Great cooking with a laid back attitude. The service was rapid, polite and clean The servings where appealing to look at and great tasting ! If you like large servings, you'll be right at home. You won't leave hungry. I've tried the other places to eat on this beach, and I always return here.

The view from the open air restaurant, is a black sand beach with a breaking surf. This is a great place to start your morning, checking out the surf conditions with a cup of coffee. Or a sunset dinner, relaxing after a long day.

This location can best be discribed as a "Surfing Camp". No need to dress up.

Steve

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Olas Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Playa Hermosa de Jaco, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Number of rooms: 166
Also Known As:
Las Olas Hotel & Restaurant Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Olas Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.