We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding perfect panaoramic palatial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion

Save Saved
You added Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garabito, Herradura de Jaco, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding perfect panaoramic palatial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Superb staff, we were treated like royalty. My daughter's sunset wedding overlooking the infinity pool was a slice of heaven. The total week we spent at Villa Caletas and the Zephyr palace oozed with Ambiance. The concierge and staff sent us on a sunset cruise, tours through the rain forest, sight seeing excursions, horse back riding, surfing, zip lining, and offered great restaurants all with congeniality and finesse. Our rooms bedecked with towel sculptures and orchids and cleanliness surely seemed like a palace. The views from our in room jacuzzi to our screen in porch looking out over the mountain to the waves crashing below mesmerized us and gave us the best relaxing vacation and destination wedding.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

This hotel is amazing. The suites are decorated and named after places in the world. Our room was the african suite. The art in our room was gallary quality. The view breath taking. The walls and furniture are natural wood and inhanced the room with a clean earthy scent. the bathroom is open to the room so there is little privacy, but great for lovers. I highly recommend this hotel for lovers.

Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The Zephyr Palace was the last stop on our Costa Rican vacation, and was one of the most magical settings we’ve ever experienced. The mansion itself is stunning, set 1200 feet above the ground, you begin to feel that this is what paradise must be like. The common rooms are gorgeous, and the infinity pool is not to be believed. It was amazing to gaze over the edge of the pool at the beauty and not be able to distinguish where the water ends and the sky begins. We watched a pair of scarlet macaws circle overhead and butterflies drifted around us as we lounged by the pool. We had lunch poolside and the service and food were both fantastic. We went down to the sister hotel Villa Caletas to watch the sunset and have dinner. We had drinks in the amphitheater, and then dined outside at Mirdor, both of which were incredibly romantic. Our only disappointment was the beach associated with the property, which has not been improved and is not good for swimming. It is lovely that there is a beach club where you can get food and drinks, but it would be great to take advantage of the ocean as well.

Our room was beautifully designed with a large terrace and a dazzling view of the Nicoya Gulf. The artwork on the walls was reminiscent of the 1920s, and the angels on the ceiling make you feel like you are sleeping in the clouds. The amenities when we arrived were all five star; fresh fruit and flowers, in-room Jacuzzi, internet connectivity, and high-tech TV/sound system/lighting/AC. However being a new property there were still a few kinks to work out. The room had a distinct smell of mold which might be due to the Jacuzzi in the bathroom or perhaps not being aired out properly. The bedding also suffered from this, and I think new linens of a higher thread-count and new comforters would make a big difference. That being said, the overall experience was spectacular, and we would definitely go back and recommend this property to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

An outstanding place to stay....world class views, service and rooms. The views were out of this world, the food was fantastic and the staff superb.

Would have been nice to have wireless Internet throughout, but I cannot complain.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

I couldn't imagine it any other way for a dream destination wedding. I was recently married at Zephyr Palace with 70 guests and every person agreed that it was amazing. From the views, food, drinks, service, band, and flowers it was perfect from start to finish. I started planning our wedding in September- it is helpful to start early because the coordinators are busy and can not always reply to questions too quickly. But, not to worry because it will be memorable. The coordinators are very professional and very detailed. The florist Ave del Paraiso, from Jaco, did an exceptional job, the most beautiful flowers and arrangements I have ever seen.


We stayed in one of the suites for our wedding night, and it is also as impressive as the hotel and service.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

My partner and I spent a wonderful two nights at this property checking in December 31, 2008, with an additional night at the adjacent Villa Calitas. The property is beautiful, sparkling clean, spectacular views (daytime & sunset) and exceptional service. As we booked the property late, there was very limited availability (there are only 7 suites). Our first night was spend in the Oriental Suite, which was wonderfully appointed, two bathrooms, full size Jacuzzi in the bathroom, flat screen satellite TV & music, lovely terrace with fantastic view of the Gulf of Nicoya. Our second night was spend in the "20 Year Suite", which was a bit smaller than the Oriental Suite (only one bathroom) & one floor lower in the building, but still had the same wonderful amenities.

The private infinity pool at the Zephyr Palace is spectacular. The view from the pool, 1,200 ft up on top of the mountain is truly stunning and serene.

New Years Eve the hotel offered a New Years Eve dinner at 9 PM and fireworks display at midnight. All guests of the Zephyr Palace and Villa Caletas were required to pay for the evening so it was very well attended and I must say, I cannot think of a better place in the area to have brought in the New Year.

Our last evening was spent in a Master Suite (#16) at Villa Caletas (the entire Zephyr Palace had been rented by one group, complete with body guards & 8 Hummers!). Though the suite at Villa Caletas was older, it was still very well appointed. Suite #16 was about 150 steps down the hill to the last building with spectacular private views, private plunge pool, sun deck, Jacuzzi tub, separate shower/bathroom, living room and small sitting room as well as flat screen TV. When we reserved this room we were told it was a favorite of honeymooners due to its privacy and I would agree completely.

There is a small restaurant at the Zephyr Palace that served breakfast/lunch and lunch was available poolside as well. Our evening meals where taken at Villa Caletas. Two wonderful dinners at their fine dining restaurant, Mirador as well as a fantastic meal on the terrace of the Anfiteatro. The sunset viewed from the Villa Caletas amphitheatre was beautiful. The roman columns are a wonderful touch to the photos taken of the view at sunset. Even if you are not a guest at the property a visit at sunset is a must.

A constant phrase I heard from several guests and I agree completely is that this is a very "special place." I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a truly relaxing vacation (though if you wanted active days, they offered many tours as well). When I return to this part of Costa Rica, I will most certainly book a suite at the Zephyr Palace.

  • Liked — Tremendous View & Great Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion

Address: Garabito, Herradura de Jaco, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the central pacific coast of costa rica with an impressive view to nicoya gulf and located in the top of the hill, is the zephyr palace, a stunning mansion with breathtaking sunset views, bordered by a tropical forest and touched by a gentle breeze.its name and design was inspired in the mythological greek god of the west wind. zephyr in the original greek zephyros, was considered the gentlest wind. the warm west wind brought the spring season, even today the name of the god means a warm and light breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion Hotel Jaco
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.