We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic secluded paradise in the rain forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion

Save Saved
You added Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garabito, Herradura de Jaco, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic secluded paradise in the rain forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Our most recent stay here was magnificent. The staff are attentive to your needs without being overbearing. They are a phone call away when you need anything at all, but allow guests tremendous privacy otherwise. We stayed in the 20 year suite. The only complaint is a faint mildew smell from the cover over the large private in-room jacuzzi. Other than that the accommodations were beyond expectations. With only 7 suites total we only saw other guests once or twice in a week at the Zephyr Palace. More frequently over at the Villas Calletas facilities. It was like having the entire grand palace to ourselves. Our large private balcony overlooked the lush valley below, the hotel's private beach and the blue Pacific beyond. Fantastic. The staff are extremely friendly and take great pride in serving your needs and making you feel special. From our room we could watch toucans, macaws, white faced monkeys, and numerous smaller creatures. If you have a 4WD vehicle you can drive to the private beach, otherwise take the hotel's shuttle because the road down is treacherous.

I can highly recommend this place and we will stay again the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This vacation was wonderful! The grounds are beautiful, the location is secluded, the views are breathtaking, the pools were wonderful, the amphiteatre restaurant was nice, the spa was amazing, the staff were very polite (Especially all the waitstaff, Marjorie in the spa, Henry and Joani at the front desk) and they even put up with me attempting to remember all the spanish I learned 15 years ago. We were a little overwhelmed travelling to costa rica for the first time and from picking us up at the airport to the very last day they treated us like royalty and made us feel very special.

Our room was so beatuiful (Nuevo Mundo) and even had a hot tub on the porch overlooking the rainforest and ocean. We enjoyed our room and did not find that there were many mosquitos outside, or many bugs in our room considering we were in the jungle. There were quite a lot of Spiders on the villa calettas grounds, but none on the Zephyr Palace we saw.... but I'm not sure how much of that could really be helped, but it was a little awkward. We almost walked into a few and they are the size of your fist there!! You had to be pretty vigilant at all times. :-P

We loved the ride down to the ocean volcanic rock beach and the golf cart rides from Zephyr to the restaurant. The beautiful terracotta decorations were beautiful.

The fruit is so good there too! I ordered a fruit plate and a cappucino every morning.

This vacation and this hotel want you to have a good time and relax... and was in heaven, I looked at the view, watched butterflies play, swam in the infinity pool all day, relaxed on our porch, saw some wildlife, read a book, did an excursion, sat in our hot tub, had a massage, ate at our leisure... it was the ultimate in relaxation vacation.

I would definitely do it again if I can afford it!

Room Tip: I feel like any room at this place would be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite places in the world. The service is absolutely wonderful which makes the private peaceful place even more relaxing. If you are looking for a place to relax, restore and revive yourself from a busy life and busy environment then no place in the world could be better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This resort is absolutely amazing. It sits on the side of a mountain and if you stay in Zephyr Palace, which is a more secluded resort on the Villa Caletas property you can see the Gulf of Nicoya. We saw every sunset at dinner and woke to every sunrise in our room. This resort is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the New world Suite which sits on the bottom floor of Zephyr Palace but it has a Jacuzzi with a nice sitting area and curtains for privacy as well. Keep in mind this resort is in the most beautiful forest I have ever seen so you will see lizards, toucans, and other animals. The restaurants on site are expensive so if you spend all of your money to stay in the Zephyr Palace like we did you may want to look at nearby restaurants or delivery. The concierge desk is absolutely amazing. You just tell them what you want to do and they will make it happen. If you do not bring enough cash, the resort can do a cash advance for a small fee. There is a beach at this resort, however, it is at the bottom of the mountain. There is a shuttle that holds about 5 people that travels back and forth to this private beach. There are beds and canopy at the beach as well as folding chairs. The beach does not look like the typical sandy beach. It is more rocky than anything. You have to walk a little distance to get in the water. Jaco beach is about 20 mins from the resort and looks like your typical beach, however, it is not private. Overall the resort is a great place for relaxation as long as you don't mind the lizards and animals you may see. Almost forgot.....The beach shuttle stops running at four. The resort can rent a vehicle if you like.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I could not think of a more perfect place to stay. We stayed in the 20th Years suite for 5 nights, and everything was perfect. The views are the best around, the food in both restaurants is delicious, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There were a couple of weddings taking place at Zephyr Palace during our stay, so there were two days that the pool was closed. Not a big deal to us though, we were happy to go over to the main pool at Villas Caletas. They have a golf cart that will pick you up, but we usually walked- it only takes a few minutes. The beach is beautiful, although you can't swim because of the rocks and coral. But they do have cabanas, a bar and a room for massages right on the beach. The hotel is also a short distance from Jaco, which has lots of shops and restaurants. We rented a car (and a GPS) for our trip, which I would definitely recommend, since cab rides to get to and from town can add up quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coplay, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our honeymoon was at Zephyr Palace. The hotel site is beautiful and the staff was first class: very, very helpful, there were even origami towels with flower blossoms for us everyday (2 swans, heart shapes, etc). The food at the restaurant was very good, a mixture of costa rican and more american fare on the menu. The views from the rooms and particular Zephyr palace infinity pool are breath-taking. We literally spent several hours just paddling around the inifinity pool and watching the sunset. The private beach is great and we saw many scarlet macaws there, although it is rather rocky for swimming, more for getting sun and having a cocktail.

There was one minor concern that detracted from our stay and prevented a 5 star review. The Zephyr Palace is the part of the Villa Caletas resort which has a ballroom for holding weddings (primarily destination weddings I assume). I assumed that on a Saturday, the last day of our stay, that there would likely be a wedding there, which there was. The issue was that in addition to the ballroom area they closed off the infinity pool of the hotel for the wedding reception entirely, so that it could not be used by guests. This was not disclosed to us prior to our arrival and we were very much looking forward to watching the sunset from the infinity pool on the last night of our honeymoon and we could not do it. (Full disclosure: there is a second pool that goes with the Villa Caletas part of the resort that we also had access too, but it was much larger, not nearly as private, farther from our room, and the view was slightly less from there than the Zephyr Palace pool, so there was a pool available to us that night, but not the one that went with the Zephyr palace portion of the resort.) This wasn't a huge inconvenience, just a small disappointment, but I do think that they should have let us know that we wouldn't be able to use the pool during a wedding reception, as we loved that pool and had really been looking forward to using it that night.

All in all though it is a great resort with amazing views and with an attentive, helpful, and very friendly staff and we had a very nice honeymoon there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We just got back from our three night trip where we stayed in the Egyptian Suite for three nights. We have stayed at Villa Calettas before, so this was our first time at the Zephyr Palace.

Like the Villas, the attention to detail was great, but was stepped up to just a higher level at the Palace. The rooms view, style and amenities were second to none (full size hot tub in the bathroom, surround sound, room and bathroom size, decorated tastefully). The balcony could have been a little larger, but that's nitpicking an otherwise amazing guest room.

Please note the Palace is a few hundred yards up from the other Villa rooms, and if you want to go to the restaurant, the hotel will happily send a golf cart to transport you to the shared amenities.

One nice thing was the proximity of the rooms to the private parking. Some of the villas can be a work out getting to and from. The like the room view, the infinity pool view is breathtaking with it's own small bar and lounges for about a dozen people.

Depending on your position, we were lucky to have the place to ourselves for two of the three nights. While the privacy was great, my wife was slightly uncomfortable and felt a little isolated being the only patrons at the Palace.

Either way, this is an amazing property that I would highly recommend and likely return to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion

Address: Garabito, Herradura de Jaco, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the central pacific coast of costa rica with an impressive view to nicoya gulf and located in the top of the hill, is the zephyr palace, a stunning mansion with breathtaking sunset views, bordered by a tropical forest and touched by a gentle breeze.its name and design was inspired in the mythological greek god of the west wind. zephyr in the original greek zephyros, was considered the gentlest wind. the warm west wind brought the spring season, even today the name of the god means a warm and light breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion Hotel Jaco
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.