We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion

Save Saved
You added Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garabito, Herradura de Jaco, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 hotels in Jaco
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I could not think of a more perfect place to stay. We stayed in the 20th Years suite for 5 nights, and everything was perfect. The views are the best around, the food in both restaurants is delicious, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There were a couple of weddings taking place at Zephyr Palace during our stay, so there were two days that the pool was closed. Not a big deal to us though, we were happy to go over to the main pool at Villas Caletas. They have a golf cart that will pick you up, but we usually walked- it only takes a few minutes. The beach is beautiful, although you can't swim because of the rocks and coral. But they do have cabanas, a bar and a room for massages right on the beach. The hotel is also a short distance from Jaco, which has lots of shops and restaurants. We rented a car (and a GPS) for our trip, which I would definitely recommend, since cab rides to get to and from town can add up quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coplay, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our honeymoon was at Zephyr Palace. The hotel site is beautiful and the staff was first class: very, very helpful, there were even origami towels with flower blossoms for us everyday (2 swans, heart shapes, etc). The food at the restaurant was very good, a mixture of costa rican and more american fare on the menu. The views from the rooms and particular Zephyr palace infinity pool are breath-taking. We literally spent several hours just paddling around the inifinity pool and watching the sunset. The private beach is great and we saw many scarlet macaws there, although it is rather rocky for swimming, more for getting sun and having a cocktail.

There was one minor concern that detracted from our stay and prevented a 5 star review. The Zephyr Palace is the part of the Villa Caletas resort which has a ballroom for holding weddings (primarily destination weddings I assume). I assumed that on a Saturday, the last day of our stay, that there would likely be a wedding there, which there was. The issue was that in addition to the ballroom area they closed off the infinity pool of the hotel for the wedding reception entirely, so that it could not be used by guests. This was not disclosed to us prior to our arrival and we were very much looking forward to watching the sunset from the infinity pool on the last night of our honeymoon and we could not do it. (Full disclosure: there is a second pool that goes with the Villa Caletas part of the resort that we also had access too, but it was much larger, not nearly as private, farther from our room, and the view was slightly less from there than the Zephyr Palace pool, so there was a pool available to us that night, but not the one that went with the Zephyr palace portion of the resort.) This wasn't a huge inconvenience, just a small disappointment, but I do think that they should have let us know that we wouldn't be able to use the pool during a wedding reception, as we loved that pool and had really been looking forward to using it that night.

All in all though it is a great resort with amazing views and with an attentive, helpful, and very friendly staff and we had a very nice honeymoon there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We just got back from our three night trip where we stayed in the Egyptian Suite for three nights. We have stayed at Villa Calettas before, so this was our first time at the Zephyr Palace.

Like the Villas, the attention to detail was great, but was stepped up to just a higher level at the Palace. The rooms view, style and amenities were second to none (full size hot tub in the bathroom, surround sound, room and bathroom size, decorated tastefully). The balcony could have been a little larger, but that's nitpicking an otherwise amazing guest room.

Please note the Palace is a few hundred yards up from the other Villa rooms, and if you want to go to the restaurant, the hotel will happily send a golf cart to transport you to the shared amenities.

One nice thing was the proximity of the rooms to the private parking. Some of the villas can be a work out getting to and from. The like the room view, the infinity pool view is breathtaking with it's own small bar and lounges for about a dozen people.

Depending on your position, we were lucky to have the place to ourselves for two of the three nights. While the privacy was great, my wife was slightly uncomfortable and felt a little isolated being the only patrons at the Palace.

Either way, this is an amazing property that I would highly recommend and likely return to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Zephyr Palace is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are very luxurious. We stayed in the Oriental Suite and it had a great balcony overlooking the ocean, a huge master bathroom complete with walk-in shower and hot tub with an ocean view, and a second small bedroom and bathroom with a walk-in shower. If you are just looking for a great room with a view, you will get it here. If you are looking for a totally wonderful customer service experience, perhaps elsewhere close by, like the Marriott, would be better.

This place is geared toward large group bookings like wedding parties and other parties renting out the whole 7 room mansion for special events. We were there when another large party had rented out the rest of the rooms and many others in the Villas complex. We were apparently the "odd couple out". After paying a huge amount of money to get a room there, we were made to feel like intruders on the other big party's good time. When we tried to swim in the beautiful infinity pool overlooking the ocean, we were constantly questioned about who we were and if we were staying there (really???), and then we were ineptly escorted out of the pool as we were told it was reserved for a private party, and whisked off to another pool on the property. Totally not cool and very embarrassing.

I did complain about our treatment when we were checking out and had to ask for compensation for our treatment as they offered none upon checkout. I will have to say that they finally did comp our night's dinner and drinks after they saw how unhappy we were so I'll give them credit for that but we shouldn't have had to ask for that courtesy.

Room Tip: The Oriental Room is apparently right below the kitchen, so expect a lot of noise late at night whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We attended the wedding at Zephyr Palace, which was nice (except over done steak and lousy wedding cake).
But all that beauty was wasted by lousy (actually non) sleep we got due to the rock hard beds in our room. When we mentioned it at the morning while checking out, no apology or any good will attempt came.
We spend one week before in Doubletree by Hilton in Puntarenas, where the beds were comfortable and therefor we know it is not standard to have hard as rock beds in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Would like to thank everyone at Zephyr palace and villa caletas for making my wedding unbelievable! We had about 50 people and could not have asked for more. Our guest were amazed and the food and view was divine. This was our second time there and definitely would come back. Coming from Bermuda, we had high expectations and all was met. The sunsets are amazing, and the pool at the zephyr made them so much more private and special

Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Overall I had a wonderful stay at the Zephyr Palace, part of Villa Caletas. The Palace has about 8 suites and a small infinity pool overlooking the jungle and ocean. Our suite has it's own outdoor jacuzzi (I think most do in that building) and a separate spare bedroom fit for traveling with your personal assistant. We were one of 2-3 couples there during our stay so we had a semi-private experience.

The property also boasts a private beach outfitted for lounging and relaxation, accessible by a long walk or a convenient shuttle service. The beach, however, is not suitable for swimming (rocks). And if you need a change of food or scenery, it's about a US$30 cab ride into the town of Jaco.

Service at the Palace seemed a little slow though. Being on the far side of the property you need a pick/drop off just to go to the main restaurant. On one occasion the cart did not show up and on another took over 30 minutes. When we ate or drank at the pool at the Palace, our order took ages. It seemed our waiter was the only person working in that building and was perhaps running back and forth to attend to other duties. It's not any fault of his but just seemed understaffed, perhaps due to the small number of guests in the Palace at that time.

The Zephyr Palace also appears to be a wedding venue and on a few occasions there was a flow of visitors and sightseers coming through as we sunbathed and ate our breakfast pool side.

All of this is still only a small blemish on an overall wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend the Zephyr Palace to others and may even return sometime myself.

Room Tip: Try to get the room all the way at the bottom of the property. It is the only room where the jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion

Also Known As:
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion Hotel
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion Hotel Jaco
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: Garabito, Herradura de Jaco, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#8 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the central pacific coast of costa rica with an impressive view to nicoya gulf and located in the top of the hill, is the zephyr palace, a stunning mansion with breathtaking sunset views, bordered by a tropical forest and touched by a gentle breeze.its name and design was inspired in the mythological greek god of the west wind. zephyr in the original greek zephyros, was considered the gentlest wind. the warm west wind brought the spring season, even today the name of the god means a warm and light breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.