We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemon Zest Restaurant

Lemon Zest Restaurant
El Jardin Plaza, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
506 26432591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 93 restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located in the heart of Main street in Jaco, Costa Rica.
Cankton, La
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A jewel in the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lemon Zest is a wonderful restaurant in a surfer town. The food is excellent and although a little pricey for its surroundings, its prices are average for the US. The appetizers, main courses, and desserts are wonderful. The bar is well stocked as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    392
    82
    38
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great meal and muy romantico!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was an upstairs restaurant and the food was chef-quality. Very delicious. The dining area was simple and elegant. It was a really lovely and romantic meal. We loved it!

Visited March 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heard such great things...complete let down and very expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We showed up the first day, and they said they were closed to the public because they were putting on a celebration for their 5 years of being open..so they closed!! WOW! Then we came back the next night. We ordered the lobster bites which were ok, but nothing to brag about. We ordered a bowl of potato soup...very watery and had no flavor at all!!! For the entree we ordered the Filet. It was so chewy, and had no flavor to it. It was awful. We told our server, and another guy that walked by that it wasn't good. They said sorry, you ordered the worst thing on the menu. We asked our server before dinner what he suggested, and he said the steak. It was gross. They then said, "oh well come back another day and try something better"...are you serious...why would we spend another 50.00/person for something we didn't already like. They should have offered a voucher to come back at least. Not impressed at all, and I would go to anywhere else in Jaco then to go to this restaurant. Defiantly lacking a lot!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Incredible food. Staff was really great. We had a small wedding reception there with folks with lots of food allergies and gluten restrictions. They accomodated everyone and even made us a gluten free wedding cake. I can't say enough about these wonderful folks. Definitely will return there again!

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
“Best Food Experience in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

One night, some friends and I decided to take the advice from a taxi driver about places to eat. He enthusiastically recommended Lemon Zest; we weren't disappointed! Yes the food was great, (the majority of us had the mahi mahi dish) but what stood out the most was the SERVICE!! After experiencing extremely slow and non-existent customer service in Costa Rica and Panama, our server Ivan was a breath of fresh air. He had us drooling over the menu options as he explained each special to us in great detail and our drinks/appetizers were on the table in a matter of minutes. We had a large group (6+) and many of us decided to split our main courses. Ivan took the liberty to have the dishes split in the kitchen before it got to us, meaning no extra plates and no division of the meal ourselves. This may not seem like a big deal but considering what we had experienced elsewhere in Costa Rica, the attention to detail was a plus. When we tasted the dishes my normally chatty group became quiet as we cleaned our plates and sent them back to the kitchen spotless. Delicious. What an overall pleasant experience, so much so that in the two days we were in Jaco we seriously considered dining at Lemon Zest for a second time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemon Zest Restaurant also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Lemon Zest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemon Zest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.