We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Jaco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kangaroo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kangaroo to your Saves list
Hotel Kangaroo
Calle Pastor Diaz (800 mt sur de la Municipalidad), Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Georges, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Jaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I went there in march 2014 when I was travelling in Costa Rica. This hotel is perfect for quiet and funny people. It is not in the downtown, quiet, but we can go by walk for few minutes. The pool is perfect and the beach with the black sand is so wonderful. The rooam are air-conditioned and clean. The beds are confortable. A lot of french people there. The owner is so helpfull for activities and thing that we don't have to miss

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
38
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Had a great time in Hotel Kangaroo. The place is clean and in a nice more peaceful area in Jaco. The beach is close by and they have bikes you can use if you go to the center. The staff is unbelievably helpfull with everything. They'll give you loads of helpfull information about Jaco and are very helpfull when you are planning trips to places aroung Jaco and when you leave Jaco. This was the nicest, most welcoming place of them all during my stay in Costa Rica. Great place for surfing also. The local bus stop is just outside the premises so it is very handy to get to&from the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We went at kangaroo with the idea of staying one night. When we arrived, the owners were So chill and the place amazing that we decided to stay 5 nights. It´s located next to the beach (2 min by walk) and you can use bicycle for free! I recommend to everyone this hostel. Every morning There were 7 parots eating in a tree.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel Kangaroo is run by a great crew of bilingual folk that make your experience their priority. I went for a 3 night stay at the beginning of my trip and returned later with my girlfriend because I'd enjoyed it so much. There is a small 4-bed dorm and many beautiful private rooms upstairs with aircon and warm showers. They also have free basic surfboards and bikes for free use to guests. The hotel is just a 5-10 min bike ride from "town", which is nice because Jaco is a big tourist/party town. Great place to learn how to surf. For experienced surfers, go south a few km to Playa Hermosa for some world-class beach break. $8 taxi each way. We tried a stay in Hermosa to save us the drive but would have rather stayed at Kanagaroo in retrospect. Free coffee in the AM. Amazing pool, wifi, great hammocks. Stay here, it's the most raved about place I've been to. EVERYONE loved it. Great for older couples and young travelers alike.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Kangaroo hostel was our first stop in costa rica, we arrived late at night and were greatet immediatly by Even who was keen to help and oriante us in our new surrindings. Throughout all our stay Even was super helpful, he recommended food and shops, ordered take away for us and when one of our bags did not arrive he called the airline and assured our bag will be delivered to the hostel, every time we needed something we got three times more and always with a smile.

The location is excellent for laid back travllers. outside of downtown jaco, about 2 minutes by bicycle that is provided for free. The beach is right outside and Playa Nossara is less than 3 minutes by cab. The rooms and pool are very clean and the common area is inviting and always full of interesting people.

Kangaroo hotel was the best landing site we could ask for in costa rica, we will definetly visit it again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I am one of Ben T´s buddies so not gona repeat all the stuff he said. One thing I found really cool was that the dogs would come with us to the beach and watch our stuff while we hit the waves. Should´ve brought one home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Had a great experience at Hotel Kangaroo in Jaco!

My buddies and I visited to enjoy the Costa Rican coastline and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Francesca and the team were very helpful throughout the process, and we felt safe and comfortable the whole time. It was great to meet other travelers and hang out with the friendly staff. The rooms are pretty bare, but everything was clean and in working condition. Also, it's about 20 minutes outside of town, but the walk is nice or you can get a cab for very cheap.

As a heads up, Francesca rescues dogs who also stay at the hotel. However, they're fantastic and well-behaved!

Room Tip: Roosters live across the street, but the never woke us up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Kangaroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kangaroo

Address: Calle Pastor Diaz (800 mt sur de la Municipalidad), Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kangaroo is a favourite among the travellersthat visit Playa Jaco. Its quiet, chilled out location, just 80mts from the beach, make it the perfect place to relax and enjoy the spectacular wildlife thatCosta Rica has to offer. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, French, Dutch and Italian. Surf lessons and after-surf massages. Free loan of bikes. Optional breakfast and comunal dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Kangaroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kangaroo Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kangaroo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.