We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great team, Incredible location, and a lot of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kangaroo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kangaroo to your Saves list
Hotel Kangaroo
Calle Pastor Diaz (800 mt sur de la Municipalidad), Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great team, Incredible location, and a lot of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was my first time in Costa Rica and I booked the Kangaroo blindly just to have a room the week of New Years not really knowing what to expect. It turned out to be a hidden gem and one of my favorite places after traveling 3 weeks in Costa Rica. Its a simple place with 7 or so rooms it is very clean and it has a really nice pool in the back. The beach is literally only a block away you are slightly south of el centro (downtown) but its a less crowded and less rocky side of the beach. Downtown is about a 20min walk or literally only a 2 dollar cab ride. The Kangaroo is a good value and a good location but what really made it for me was the team. Francesca, Evan, Bryan and Jordan are some of the nicest and most hospitable people that i have ever met. Their knowledge of Costa Rica is endless and they answered all my questions and then some. They really go out of their way to make sure that you are enjoying your stay and that all your needs are being met. There was an optional New Years dinner which me and my friends took part in the food was incredible and i felt like i was sitting with family it was really great. I travelled through Costa Rica for 3 weeks and had no plans of returning to Jaco, however after seeing many places some great and others not so great i realiized how rare a place like the Kangaroo really is, and I returned for my last 3 nights again there. Overall if you are looking for a great value hotel with a really chill vibe and great people this is your place, ill never go anywhere else, Pura Vida!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    21
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
38
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here about a year ago with 3 friends and we shared a 4-person dorm. The accommodations were very basic and the rooms were hot, but it was nice to have a pool and the outside shower. A less crowded part of the beach is a short walk from the hostel, so we got to experience a beautiful sunset without many other tourists around. I don't love Jaco, but if I went back I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My friend booked this place online for 4 of us!! It really is like being a guests at someone's house!! Don't expect the ritz - but this is truly one of the most memorable places I have ever stayed!! Francesca the owner is amazing her team Jordan, Brian and Evan are also fabulous!! Best night in ever just sat around a table with the staff and other guests chewing each others ears off!!! Love love love it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

For christmas we had already booked something else, but we decided to come a day early to Jaco, and came to Kangaroo. Perfect choice! It is very close to the beach, and a nice beachwalk into town. The people are very friendly, and the pool is nice and refreshing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was on the road to Manuel Antonio and decided to stop in Jaco for the night. After driving through the seedy/touristy downtown, I proceeded all the way almost back to the highway before I saw the Kangaroo Hotel. I pulled in and was immediately welcomed in by Francesca. I ended up taking a private room which was basic but comfortable and very reasonable. The room was clean and the hot water was HOT in the en suite bathroom. Her associate Brian took me and other guests out for the night and we had a blast on a Tuesday. The pool is open 24/7 as is the kitchen and the outdoor living room. It really felt like a home away from home and was an amazing random find. It's a little ways outside of town, but that's a BENEFIT since it's much quieter than being in the middle. Plus it's only a $1-2 cab ride into town. Also got to enjoy a morning yoga class on the terrace with Gita which was perfect and really relaxing. Kangaroo is also a 5 minute walk from the beach as well...so the surf is right there. Totally enjoyed my time there and will definitely go back next time I'm in Jaco.

Room Tip: You don't need the A/C...the fans are powerful and kept me super comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Really chilled out place away from the craziness of town but close to the beach. Lots of gorgeous pets and a big chillout area with a pool and big kitchen. Francesca went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and fun and even cooked me a birthday dinner. Thanks everyone at Hotel Kangaroo you won't be forgotten!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Planned on staying for only 2 nights. Ended up staying for 4. Really helpful staff, Helped me out with some problems I had when I got there which really made me want to stay there over other places in Jaco. Bryan showed me the nightlife and Francesca was an amazing host. I will definitely be coming back! Good prices, and an awesome little soda just down the street that kept me coming back for more. You have to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casajungla Hostel
Casajungla Hostel
#18 of 55 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kangaroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kangaroo

Address: Calle Pastor Diaz (800 mt sur de la Municipalidad), Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kangaroo is a favourite among the travellersthat visit Playa Jaco. Its quiet, chilled out location, just 80mts from the beach, make it the perfect place to relax and enjoy the spectacular wildlife thatCosta Rica has to offer. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, French, Dutch and Italian. Surf lessons and after-surf massages. Free loan of bikes. Optional breakfast and comunal dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Kangaroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kangaroo Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kangaroo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.