We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place to stay. Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kangaroo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to stay. Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Planned on staying for only 2 nights. Ended up staying for 4. Really helpful staff, Helped me out with some problems I had when I got there which really made me want to stay there over other places in Jaco. Bryan showed me the nightlife and Francesca was an amazing host. I will definitely be coming back! Good prices, and an awesome little soda just down the street that kept me coming back for more. You have to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    15
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
33
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We had so much fun at this hostel. Originally we were only due to stay in jaco for one night, but ended up having so much fun at the hostel we stayed for 5 nights. And even then it was hard to leave. The staff is incredible and Francessca will go out of her way for you. There is a real family vibe, everyone hanging out in the brilliant communal area, playing cards, talking, drinking etc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Some of the rooms are in need of a real makeover, but the communal areas are lovely with a quirky but very tasteful feel. The pool is great, location perfect - a short taxi ride from the town centre and the best thing about this place is the lovely owner, Francesca. She bent over backwards to help us while we were there and we really enjoyed our two communal dining evenings with her, her staff and some other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was the first hostel we stayed at in Costa Rica. It was so cool because it has a pool and there were some other friendly people staying there as well! We got in a cab soon after our arrival and went partying in Jaco. I recommend staying here for sure! The rooms fit two people comfortably with nice little bathrooms. Have Fun!! It is hard not to enjoy yourself here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

What can I say? A diamond in the rough! I was planning on staying 2 nights and moving on, but stayed 5. there aren't enough stars on this page to properly rate "The Roo".Most of the staff there made it a great stay. For starters, we were greeted at the gate, without a reservation, by Evan, who promptly gave us a room with a/c. The hot shower was the deal closer. Great guy, professional demeanor and an awesome host. Brian, the activity director, gave us the grand tour of the hotel, as well as Jaco Beach and all its attractions and restaurants. I think we wore him out. Maria, what can I say, my mother never made my old clothes look new again like she did. Gracias, Maria! And Walter...what can I say? Walter, Walter, Walter. The surf/dance instructor. Ladies beware! Travel in pairs. Last but not least, CHARLIE!!!!! Coolest dog on the planet! I would have taken him home I could have. What a great place to relax and meet new friends. The laid back, communal lifestyle at the kangaroo what not what I expected, but has now set the bar for all my future excursions. Thank you Hotel Kangaroo staff for an unforgettably fun trip!

Room Tip: rooms away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed 4 days in Jaco last July. Hotel Kangaroo is THE place to stay: all the staff is so nice and helpful, the place is quite and clean, the position is good, we had a car but you can take the free bikes if needed.
At first we had a room with NO a/c, we complained about this and immediately we were moved to a A/C room as it was available.
The only "bad point" is the price; 40 USD without breakfast is quite high in comparison to other places in costa Rica, where you can get the same for 30 USD.
But Jaco is all a little bit overprice, so it's ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I read all the reviews before booking and renting a private room at Hotel Kangaroo. Via the images and some travelers opinions - I wasn't that hopeful, but much to my surprise the artsy little hostel was perfect for us! Clean room with character. Clean private bathroom - with REAL HOT WATER! Huge PLUS. Clean - and inviting kitchen. Friendly little dog, Charlie, was a pure delight and made us feel right at home. Evan is a down-to-earth host - friendly and he made us feel extremely welcome. The place is quiet...(low season). Most reviewers complained about the roosters across the street. I couldn't hear them with the door closed - and they certainly didn't wake me up. Would I stay here again? Hell, YES!

THANK YOU!

Room Tip: We had a room in the back on the top level - perfect and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kangaroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kangaroo

Address: Calle Pastor Diaz (800 mt sur de la Municipalidad), Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kangaroo is a favourite among the travellersthat visit Playa Jaco. Its quiet, chilled out location, just 80mts from the beach, make it the perfect place to relax and enjoy the spectacular wildlife thatCosta Rica has to offer. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, French, Dutch and Italian. Surf lessons and after-surf massages. Free loan of bikes. Optional breakfast and comunal dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Kangaroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kangaroo Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kangaroo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.