We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Paradise/pura vida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CheapTickets.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Peninsula de Osa Golfo Dulce, Golfito 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Golfito B&B and Inns
Laguna Woods, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Return to Paradise/pura vida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A fabulous place to be in the Osa! Playa Nicuesa has it all, from lovely accomodations,gorgeous location, great food, great staff and so much to do in one of the most pristine places left on this planet! A real life changing experience. I am a yoga instructor and will be leading my 3rd yoga retreat at Nicuesa in February 2013!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    19
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
71
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdowne, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Nicuesa and had the best vacation yet. The accommodations were comfortable and just simple and rustic enough to still be charming. Our cabina was clean and really adorable. We enjoyed sitting on the little porch watching the crabs and ants go about their business below. The food was fresh, delicious, and local. I looked forward to every meal. The setting of the lodge is gorgeous, absolutely beautiful. Pictures don't do it justice. But there very best part was the staff. From the boat captains, to the servers, to the managers, to the best bartender anywhere. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and just interesting people. I really can't say enough about how welcome and at home they made us feel. The activities organized by the staff were all a lot of fun and excellent adventures from the in-shore fishing trip to the waterfall hike. I recommend the Multisport package to anyone interested in having an adventure everyday. We were never at a loss for something to do, or for a place to lounge and take a rest. Nicuesa is a great place for a couple, friends or a family. We will go back and bring our little boys next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A gorgeous location, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful eco lodge, stunning nature... Nicuesa Rainforest lodge has it all. For those who have never been to Costa Rica, this place is the best to get to know the real authentic atmosphere of this country.
We felt connected with the nature. One of the best 'rules' was the time spent together with other guests during the one big dinner table.
If we could stay there forever, we would totally go for it:)

Room Tip: We were staying at Dolphin Cabin, which was an absolute blast! Everything was perfectly clean, quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Firstly this review was meant to be written after our stay there in April 2011. So better late than never! What a great place - we stayed tn the Toucan Lodge, darkish (but it would be) but very comfortable and with a net over the bed, and was welcomed by a large black spider which I flicked outside through the shutters, but thats fine cause thats why we were there to see as much wildlife as possible. The food was really nice, and cooked in-house where a variety of Fish and Meats were used. Went to a nearby rescue centre by boat which was also a superb half day out. This was organised at the Lodge as were other hikes and small tours which could be booked. Big thanks to Jonathan who took me on a couple of rainy hikes through the grounds at night to show me the frogs, snakes and toads that seemed to appear once the rain set in. Listening to all the night croaks and dinks from the frogs is something I wont forget. And all the staff seemed very nice and helpful during our 3 night stay. We did experience why its called a rainforest one night when the heavens opened up and some palm branches came thundering to the ground, but great experience. Saw Macaws most mornings high in the trees by the beach and a White Nosed Coati seemed to always be sniffing around and best of all I followed a Tamandua (type of Anteater) around for about an hour one morning snapping photos at every opportunity. Howler Monkeys, although quite a long way from us, woke us up most mornings at about 4.30am which was great listening to their rasping deep howls that seem to echo through the trees. Also saw a few Hummingbirds and other exotic birds in the grounds, some Blue Morpho butterflies and many frogs at night and a Coral snake etc etc. I love snakes and could'nt resist picking one up one evening and taking it into the bar - not sure if it was a good idea looking at the faces, but Jonathan the resident wildlife expert assured us it was harmless and seemed to know what every snake and frog was called. No swimming pool there but the sea was warm and pleasant to dip into. So all in all a great place that we will hopefully stay at again someday soon. Go there you wont be dissapointed if you love remoteness, wildlife and want to experience the humidity of a rainforest.

Room Tip: Just check the weather to see which time of the year might be best to travel in this southern most p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro del General, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge is the BIGGEST Adventure I've ever had. It is an amazing Paradise, you can share with other guests, make new friends, the Staff is really Kind (love you guys), see and hear animals 24/7, do Yoga listening the to the waves and scarlet macaws. 1000% recommended, go kayaking or just have a cup of joe and relax.
Thx Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge for making me HAPPY!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were warmly greeted at the San Jose Pavas airport by Felipe who happened to also be on our flight to Puerto Jiminez after attending a trade show in San Jose and escorted us along with Manuel, the bar tender, to the panga for our quick boat excursion across the Golfo Dulce bay to the Playa Nicuesa Lodge. Just as if on cue, 5 scarlet maccaws flew across the dock landing in the trees nearby, with their screaching welcome, and this became their daily hangout. Stepping off the dock, and walking through the beautiful flowered pathways winding up to the lodge, Manuel had tropical drinks in hand for us and we joined the current guests to a fabulous fresh lunch that included fresh coconut chunks and homemade chocolate from cocoa grown on the property! All meals and juices were fresh and tasty, prepared and baked from scratch with wonderful flavorful spices! And Manuel makes an awesome Pineapple coconut drink with chunks of fresh coconut!! I even suggested a Nicuesa Lodge Cookbook because I'd love to try to make ALL of these at home (the ginger cookies were to die for)!! I'm not much of a fish eater, but they prepared a fresh mahi mahi and set it in front of me one night for dinner, rather than asking for something else, I tried a bite, loved it and quickly ate the whole thing! It was fabulous, not fishy tasting at all! Later on, Felipe confided he had chicken ready for me if I had wanted it instead of the fish, but he had a hunch I would enjoy it and he was so right!!! Felipe and all the staff made sure that we felt welcome and our needs and activities were addressed. Activities were plentiful, hiking, kayaking, swimming, fishing off the dock (we caught several snapper and trigger fish), yoga was available, and the sustainment tour (we even planted 2 trees!) or just relaxing in the hammocks and the swing chairs. Listening to the rain, the waves and the howler monkeys every day added to the enjoyment from our cabin (a must stay if you are not afraid of bugs!) and the open air shower, which was better than any camping trip! This place is a way to unwind, relax and have fun...It was the start of our 2 week trip to Costa Rica for my son's wedding and it couldn't have been a better introduction! Thank you to all the staff for making us feel welcome and taking such good care of us during our stay at the Nicuesa Lodge! We will return again! Thank you Donna and Michael for sharing your vision and dream of the Nicuesa Lodge...we thoroughly loved it!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the privacy yet openess of our cabin in the jungle! We could even hear the waves lulling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This review is a little overdue as we stayed in Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge two years ago. The lovely memories stay with us still!
The people were kind and attentive without being overbearing and we really enjoyed our trek with Freemon (I may misspelling) and the evening talks we had with Jonathan. He is a real nature lover and a great bartender too. He even took us on a night stroll to check whether the “resident” alligator has made an appearance.
The highlight of our 3-night stay was when Thomas took us to maybe see the dolphins. We were so lucky that we saw a whale with her kid! For about an hour we were watching these beautiful creatures playing in the water. Truly unforgettable!
We are not a particularly active couple so an almost equally sweet memory is how we spent one evening in the hammock just reading and gazing at the macaws and toucans up above.
The food was ok with some great moments. All in all we were satisfied by our stay there. It stretched our budget but was worth it and we would recommend to those that seek the combination of comfort and ‘eco’.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge

Also Known As:
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Hotel Golfito
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Hotel
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Golfito
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito
Address: Peninsula de Osa Golfo Dulce, Golfito 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Nicuesa is an environmentally sensitive lodge set on a 165-acre private preserve in the undeveloped Pacific Coast of Southern Costa Rica. It's jungle & sea location provides a unique multisport vacation: the front yard is a gulf right off the Pacific Ocean, and the back yard consists of thousands of acres of pristine tropical rainforest. Overall, the experience embraces conservation and harmony with the natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list