We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience you should not miss!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafiki Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rafiki Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Rafiki Safari Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Grenada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Experience you should not miss!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place exceeded our expectations.
The location is beautiful, and the accommodation is novel and quite good.
If we could have stayed here longer, we would have!
The owners Carlo & Janel were friendly and made you fell at home, and the staff was very good, and this just added to the whole experience.
Meals were excellent and the tours which we did (White water rafting and Waterfall hike) were first rate!
I don't think there is one thing we did not enjoy!
Again, the staff and owners are what make this place worth going to.
They were friendly, helpful and let you set your own pace.
There is also horseback riding available at the lodge, in addition to the other tours.
A water slide is built into the hillside which empties into the pool and this is something which you simply must try ….. Its FAST!! ....... lots of fun, but hang on to your swimsuit.

Coffee is ready at 6am for any early risers!

We absolutely loved this place!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our stay at Rafiki Lodge was the best holiday experience our family has ever enjoyed. Everything about our stay was fabulous - but it was mostly about the people, who delivered an extraordinary service experience.

The drive to Rafiki is part of the fun. We flew into Quepos (an adventure) and rented a car (another adventure). From there, we drove to Rafiki. Once you leave the main road, the adventure really begins. Have faith! The road will eventually get you there. :-)

Upon arrival, the place is wonderful. Meals are served family style (the food was spectacular), the bartender and cook and warm and friendly, the desk is managed by the family that owns the place. Every person that we met along the way was lovely, charming, and fun to be with. I was traveling with my husband and two teenage daughters and everyone found something to love about it. One highlight was the wonderful and fun waterslide that is part of the water system at the lodge (ask someone to tell you about it!)

Our tent was comfortable and spacious, with a real bathroom. It is a safari tent, and not at all luxurious, but it was such a nice place to relax, with a beautiful deck and a nice walk to the main building.

The main attraction at Rafiki is the white water rafting. Our rafting experience was amazing. Our guide was so much fun and really made the trip spectacular. It was clear that he loves what he does and helped up to love it too. Lunch was arranged and we enjoyed a gourmet picnic by the river, and cold beer at the end of the day. The Lodge arranged a "paparazzi" boat on the river as well, so we had a photos and a video of our day to take home with us. (extremely reasonably priced!)

I cannot recommend Rafiki enough. It was the perfect way to spend a few days with my family and we will treasure the memories of our experience always.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

What an impressive place to be!!! My husband and I visited 'Rafiki Safari Lodge' for a couple of nights whilst on our honeymoon in Costa Rica last month. We hadn't actually booked our stay before departing the UK, but instead emailed Rafiki a couple of days before we wished to arrive to investigate whether we could make a last minute reservation. We received a prompt, friendly and helpful response to our email, advising us that our visit would not be a problem.
Simeon (my husband) and I were blown away by the views when making our way up the drive to Rafiki. The location just fantastic, absolutely beautiful and the safari lodge itself so unique. We can only compliment Janal and Calos (the owners) for what they have created there. The setting, lodges, staff, food, drink, tours etc were all just perfect. If you are looking for a unique, clean, fun and friendly place to be, you must visit Rafiki! The meals provided at breakfast, lunch and dinner were so tasty, and the bar/waiting staff were incredibly nice and helpful - I only wish I had thanked them better for their service.
After much persuasion from my husband and Carlos, I decided to 'have a go' white water rafting (an excursion offered by Rafiki). I was amazed at how much I enjoyed the experience, and this was the best thing that we as a couple could have done whilst on our honeymoon - so memorable! We couldn't leave before a horse-ride up the mountain with Carlos - which was so interesting and exciting. All we can say is 'THANK YOU SO MUCH' to all at Rafiki (and to our white water rafting guide), you made our honeymoon so special and we hope to visit you again one day - if only so that I can plunge down that slide!!! Best wishes to you all. Rebecca and Simeon - June 2013

Room Tip: Don't forget your torch for the snake path!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Rafiki is a unique lodging experience. The service, food and views make this a 5 star experience. The luxury tent/cabins were perfect for our family of 4 and made us feel like we were part of the Jungle. I can imagine some people not liking the hour drive on the bumpy road and the whole tent/jungle experience - so be it....but if you are looking for a cool and unique Costa Rican place to stay for a couple nights - then this is it.

The food was amazing. The rafting was a blast (first time rafting for our 10, 12 year olds), The people that work there are all friendly and become your friends. The massages with Yerlin were really good and a great value. One other tip - the waterslide is FAST!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the lodge but took the white water rafting tour that starts up at the lodge. It was an all day event....we were picked up at our villa, taken for about a 90 minute drive up to the lodge. The drive was long but our guide was excellent throughout describing the sights as there were many interesting things to learn along the way. When we arrived at the very remote lodge, what a pleasant surprise! It was wonderful, serene and very remote, (we might be back to stay)!! They fed us breakfast, we relaxed and then we ranted for about 3 hours. We stopped along the way for lunch, ( which was excellent also)! The river is low this time of year so they use smaller rafts, which is fine as 1 raft took our family of 4. Our guide was awesome! Our trip down the river was both educational and a whole bunch of fun! When we were done, they took us back up to the lodge where we could relax a bit before they took us right back to the door of our villa....perfect. We all had a great day and highly recommend this day for any level of white water rafter.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We didn't stay at this lodge, we were driven in from Manuel Antonio for the white water rafting. Upon arriving you get breakfast and a tour of the grounds - really gorgeous. The kids really loved the water slide - super fast and scary! The rafting here really is a lot of fun. Besides being an overall great family adventure, what really makes the trip memorable are the awesome guides. These guys are so good at what they do and so sweet - they just make the trip that much more enjoyable. Our group of guides consisted of Josue, Juan Carlos, our personal guide, 'Gringo Loco', & 'The Chef'. This was our boys' (ages 7 & 9) first rafting trip (my husband's too) and the Savegre River was a great way to introduce them to the sport. I never had a concern for safety: Josue gave an excellent (and perfectly humorous) water safety intro-course before we got started. There's lunch in the forest (which is great since you work up an appetite), a fantastic waterfall swim and breathtaking scenery of the lush mountains along the way. Again, we can't thank the guides enough - they're true gems and Rafiki is lucky to have them. As a side note, if you get a chance, don't miss a stop at Club Roncajon restaurant on the way back to Manuel Antonio. It's right on the highway, about 10 minutes or so outside of Quepos, and has the best Ceviche we'd eaten anywhere! If you're lucky, you'll get to ride back with some of the guides who live nearby and this is a great chance to offer them a beer! Thanks Josue, JC, GL, & 'The Chef' for a wonderful time!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We were there for three days - two adults and one 11 year-old. We rafted during our stay. It was a great experience. Our tent was not fancy but we did not expect it to be. It had tile floors in the bathroom that was cleaned every day! The dinners were amazing - especially given the remote location. The staff was accommodating and welcoming.

The only downside is that it is VERY difficult to find an the road is treacherous - and that is coming from an Idaho gal! In fact, it was so difficult to find we did not make it our first night and stayed at Rafiki Beach. The beach was amazing! So, no regrets. All in all, a great experience. Would strongly recommend it for families!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafiki Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafiki Safari Lodge

Address: 16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 449 Specialty Lodging in Province of Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rafiki Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafiki is a sustainable adventure lodge located in the Savegre Valley of Costa Rica. The lodge sits on 840 acres of tropical forest. Rafiki specializes in custom white water rafting, horseback riding and hiking trips. Guests sleep in imported luxury Safari Tents which feature hydro electric fans and lights. Each tent sits on a raised hardwood platform, has a deluxe bathroom with glass showers heated with fire. The units also have a private porch with rocking chairs looking over the Savegre Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Rafiki Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafiki Safari Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Rafiki Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafiki Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.