We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rafiki White Water Rafting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafiki Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rafiki Safari Lodge
Save Saved
You added Rafiki Safari Lodge to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Sunset, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rafiki White Water Rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is the best thing we did in Costa Rica We did not stay at the Rafiki Safair Lodge but scheduled a one day river water rafting trip for 4 people. Because the River was low, we were taken in two small rafts called mini-me’s. We were picked up at our house and had a long ride to the lodge. After being given a tour of the lodge, which was quite spectacular, we were fed a full breakfast before heading out to go rafting. We had a brief orientation and safety talk and then we were on our way. Our guide was Kenneth and he was incredible. We had a hot lunch at a stop along the way that was included. We stopped at a waterfall and swam under it. Kenneth showed us plants that had medical and other uses. He spoke perfect English and had a good sense of humor. I would definitely do it again and you get real value for what you paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eatonville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were unable to spend the night at this beautiful place but at least wanted to at least see it. It was one of our trip highlights! The staff here is so friendly and welcoming even though we were only day-visitors. They gave us a map to hike the trails, put out fruit to draw in some of their gorgeous wild birds, and welcomed us to try out their very-fast and fun waterslide. We enjoyed lunch and fruit smoothies at their restaurant while taking in the ambiance of this pretty place and being constantly distracted by an abundance of wild birds. We easily saw crested guan and trogons on the trails and up-close views of woodpeckers, tanagers, and euphonia at the feeders. This place is delightful, even just for a day-trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great staff and beautiful location! White water rafting with them has been AMAZING (we have been twice already and plan to do it another 2 times)! Looking forward to trying out a few of the other tours they offer. Very organized and professional! We did not stay at the lodge, but did take a quick tour - the rooms are very clean and looked great! We have loved Rafiki every visit!!!! Make sure to go down the water slide while there :o)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the best bang for your buck in Costa Rica We did not stay at the lodge but scheduled a one day river water rafting trip for 6 people. We were picked up at our villa and after about an hour drive arrived at the Rafiki Safari Lodge. After given a tour of the lodge we were fed a full breakfast before heading out to the river where we started from. We had a brief orientation and safety talk and then we were on our way! Our guide was Rolando......if there is anything you do......don't forget that name. Rolando was an incredible guide. As a native he was extremely knowledgeable. His english was perfect! He stopped at various times during the trip to show us plants, trees, and wildlife. He even takes pictures! We gave him the camera and during the stops, he pulled it out and took the pictures. After river rafting for awhile we stopped for lunch. A full delicious lunch. We then headed back out for more river rafting and even stopped at a waterfall. Did I say how good our guide Rolando was???? Can't say enough about this entire trip. The owners were very friendly, the food was delicious, the guide was fantastic. Everyone on the trip commented about how this was money well spent! We would definitely do it again and would go back to Rafiki Safari Lodge.....maybe even stay there a night or two. Remember.....ask for Rolando! I am sure all there guides are good but if your going to Costa Rica, might as well as for the best. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our fifth trip to Costa Rica, and to Rafiki . After visiting about ten places in country, we split the last two trips between there and the other enchanting destination owned by the same family now called Rafiki Beach Camp. The Safari Lodge location is paradise. It is on the Rio Savegre with wildlife that is a dream to this photographer. You will not need to walk more than 100 feet to find amazing songbirds (go down by the boards in trees with plantains for the first 90 minutes after sunrise and before sunset), the odd Tucan that scares songbirds away for a few minutes, and egrets, herons and other shorebirds in the pond. You can also choose between hiking, rafting, horseback riding and the"aquawalk." That starts with a raft trip down the river. Then you hike up next to waterfalls and up a stream bed about 750 vertical feet to a very small village, have lunch there, and hike back down to the raft on the river to complete the journey. Next to the restaurant is a most interesting suspension footbridge about 130' above the gorge, and about 400' in length.The first unnamed waterfall is about 75' high and people usually stop to swim at the base. The second is about 50' high and you can dive off the third which is only 15' high.
The family that runs the lodge is terrific. The same people are still working there since our first visit in 2008. It has a woderful family atmosphere. IT also features a true chef in the middle of no where. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

* Although they do have wireless & cell coverage.
I am still on the plane leaving Costa Rica, after spending a fantastic week at Rafiki with my two kids. A family owned business, Rafiki is more than just a place to stay; as my daughter put it she felt like she was at home. A warm staff will make you feel that way, the food is fantastic and there are plenty of activities to choose from. My youngest kid especially could not imagine being without his X-Box for so long, but both my kids have come back different, with a real appreciation for the natural world. We'll be back!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

If you are staying in the Manuel Antonio area and are looking for a white water rafting adventure, be sure to give these folks a try. An rafting package that includes transportation, breakfast (traditional Costa Rican, yum!), picnic lunch, and the rafting cost $95 per person, which is great considering you are looking at the better part of an entire day. After eating breakfast we were given a tour of the lodge including the safari tents and also given free run of their water slide. Then we got down to business. The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly and the rafting of course was spectacular in both the thrill of the ride as well as the immersion into flora and fauna (to which the guide was knowledgable). After our return to the Lodge we had a few minutes to consume some cold ones at their bar.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafiki Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafiki Safari Lodge

Address: 16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 441 Specialty lodging in Province of Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rafiki Safari Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafiki is a sustainable adventure lodge located in the Savegre Valley of Costa Rica. The lodge sits on 840 acres of tropical forest. Rafiki specializes in custom white water rafting, horseback riding and hiking trips. Guests sleep in imported luxury Safari Tents which feature hydro electric fans and lights. Each tent sits on a raised hardwood platform, has a deluxe bathroom with glass showers heated with fire. The units also have a private porch with rocking chairs looking over the Savegre Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rafiki Safari Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Rafiki Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafiki Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.