We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge and rafting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rafiki Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rafiki Safari Lodge
Save Saved
You added Rafiki Safari Lodge to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Vallejo, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great lodge and rafting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have been on the rafting trip three other times which is alot of fun. The guides are alot of fun and very experenced. The lodge is very nice and the breakfast/lunch they service is okay.

They have new managers of the lodge (Owners son) and his wife. She was nice and let us take a look at one the of tent rooms which are great. Concerning the owners son he was not very professional and was chewing tobacco and did not seem to enjoys his work.

I know some of the business in C/R are family owned but while we were there the Dad and Mom
had the kids toys every where. Maybe have an area in the back for family stuff? The wife asked us to pay early and purchase items in the gift shop because the family (owners) would not be around at the end of the rafting trip. I know it was a slow day but....

I hope this review helps the new managers out but the other son did a better job running the lodge. When we want to raft again we will be looking else where in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently stayed at Rafiki for three nights and had a great time. The lodge is located quite a ways inland from the Coast Highway on an unpaved road. So be prepared to drive, but it is worth it.

The breakfasts and lunches were great. The dinners were pretty good, but I wish we had a typical Costa Rican dinner options each night.

The mixed drinks by Ann were very good, even though she has just been bartending for 3 weeks- she is a fast learner!

The check in process could have been a little better- we weren't really shown where anything was- we had to ask about things like when dinner and breakfast were, where is the pool, etc. We also were not shown to our room for quite awhile- we were just sitting not sure what to do. I think this is because of some new staff?

Our room had a very pleasant view and

Overall, we had a great time and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Loved the posh bathroom in the middle of a tent! Staff was very nice and accomodating. Went white water rafting and staff was superb! Have to go down the water slide at least once but definitely hold on to your top!!! This is definitely a treat in the middle of the rainforest!

Room Tip: Book a tent further away from the others if you are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We did a white water rafting excursion with Rafiki in May 2012. We were picked up from our resort in Manuel Antonio and brought to Rafiki Lodge. The lodge was pretty amazing! We were served an fantastic typical costa rican breakfast and got to play around on the lodge's water slide. Then we left for our trip. Because of the small group, we were split up into 2 small rafts with 2 people plus 1 guide in each boat. The water was tons of fun and the guides incredible!!!! We also got a great lunch and were able to trek to an amazing waterfall. One of the top highlights of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I didn't realize until looking to book our next trip that I failed to post our review from June 2012. We had the pleasure of whitewater rafting at Rafiki. We had the extra pleasure of riding to the lodge with the owners, Constant and Ralene. The lodge is beautiful. The food is so yummy and the guides made us feel so safe. Special thanks to Randoll, who was our guide, who made this nervous nelly feel safe on the entire float (even though we joined the "swimmers club"). We cannot wait to return and are looking at dates now for travel. We are planning on staying there in the luxury tents. Don't hesitate to book! Feel free to email if you have any questions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family stayed here one night on a Backroads Multi-sport tour. Rafiki was a hit with everyone. The kids absolutely did not want to leave. Favorite parts were the seclusion -3 KM down a dirt road from a small village,- the concrete water slide, sleeping in a safari tent on a platform which happened to have a very nice tiled bathroom, and the bird watching. They put out fruit for birds early each morning and they present quite a show while you sip morning coffee. The owners, who operate the lodge, are very environmentally conscious and generate electricity with the flowing water that also flows down the water slide. The slide is really fast and lots of fun. The food, prepared by one of the owners, is native, healthy & very good. We would have extended our stay here if we could.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, WI
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed one night at the Rafiki Lodge as part of a Backroads multi sport trip. We trekked the last few kilometers on foot, which made the approach really great. We stayed in cabin 4. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms attached to the tents (which are on platforms) were very nice and large. There was adequate hot water, which is pretty amazing in the middle of the rainforest. Food was excellent and the service was very friendly. The owners live at the lodge. There are a total of ten cabins, all pretty much the same. The photos on their website are very representative of the actual location. We did the white water rafting with our group and they did a superb job. One of the highlights of our visit to Costa Rica. The water slide is amazing.

Room Tip: Room 1-5 seemed to have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafiki Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafiki Safari Lodge

Address: 16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 446 Specialty Lodging in Province of Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rafiki Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafiki is a sustainable adventure lodge located in the Savegre Valley of Costa Rica. The lodge sits on 840 acres of tropical forest. Rafiki specializes in custom white water rafting, horseback riding and hiking trips. Guests sleep in imported luxury Safari Tents which feature hydro electric fans and lights. Each tent sits on a raised hardwood platform, has a deluxe bathroom with glass showers heated with fire. The units also have a private porch with rocking chairs looking over the Savegre Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rafiki Safari Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Rafiki Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafiki Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.