We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafiki Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rafiki Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Rafiki Safari Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Loved the posh bathroom in the middle of a tent! Staff was very nice and accomodating. Went white water rafting and staff was superb! Have to go down the water slide at least once but definitely hold on to your top!!! This is definitely a treat in the middle of the rainforest!

Room Tip: Book a tent further away from the others if you are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We did a white water rafting excursion with Rafiki in May 2012. We were picked up from our resort in Manuel Antonio and brought to Rafiki Lodge. The lodge was pretty amazing! We were served an fantastic typical costa rican breakfast and got to play around on the lodge's water slide. Then we left for our trip. Because of the small group, we were split up into 2 small rafts with 2 people plus 1 guide in each boat. The water was tons of fun and the guides incredible!!!! We also got a great lunch and were able to trek to an amazing waterfall. One of the top highlights of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I didn't realize until looking to book our next trip that I failed to post our review from June 2012. We had the pleasure of whitewater rafting at Rafiki. We had the extra pleasure of riding to the lodge with the owners, Constant and Ralene. The lodge is beautiful. The food is so yummy and the guides made us feel so safe. Special thanks to Randoll, who was our guide, who made this nervous nelly feel safe on the entire float (even though we joined the "swimmers club"). We cannot wait to return and are looking at dates now for travel. We are planning on staying there in the luxury tents. Don't hesitate to book! Feel free to email if you have any questions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family stayed here one night on a Backroads Multi-sport tour. Rafiki was a hit with everyone. The kids absolutely did not want to leave. Favorite parts were the seclusion -3 KM down a dirt road from a small village,- the concrete water slide, sleeping in a safari tent on a platform which happened to have a very nice tiled bathroom, and the bird watching. They put out fruit for birds early each morning and they present quite a show while you sip morning coffee. The owners, who operate the lodge, are very environmentally conscious and generate electricity with the flowing water that also flows down the water slide. The slide is really fast and lots of fun. The food, prepared by one of the owners, is native, healthy & very good. We would have extended our stay here if we could.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, WI
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed one night at the Rafiki Lodge as part of a Backroads multi sport trip. We trekked the last few kilometers on foot, which made the approach really great. We stayed in cabin 4. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms attached to the tents (which are on platforms) were very nice and large. There was adequate hot water, which is pretty amazing in the middle of the rainforest. Food was excellent and the service was very friendly. The owners live at the lodge. There are a total of ten cabins, all pretty much the same. The photos on their website are very representative of the actual location. We did the white water rafting with our group and they did a superb job. One of the highlights of our visit to Costa Rica. The water slide is amazing.

Room Tip: Room 1-5 seemed to have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have just left the Rafiki Safari Lodge in Costa Rica and wanted to share what a wonderful experience we had. The owners and staff were fantastic, the lodge and surrounding property were breath-taking. From the delicious food, thrilling water slide, pool and hot-tub to the memorable excursions, we couldn't imagine a better "camping" experience!
Thank you, Janelle and Carlo.

Room Tip: Tents 1 and 2 have a beautiful view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were staying in Manuel Antonio and often like to make our own tours/adventures happen, versus booking a tour and getting on a tour bus with a group of strangers. We decided to go white water rafting and happened to notice a brochure and subsequent road sign offering white water rafting at the Rafiki Lodge.

Driving there was half the adventure as we travelled along a dirt road for about 45 minutes passing small authentic Costa Rica villages and it's inhabitants. The road was rocky and rough, and we would occasionally see signs for the lodge.

Upon arrival to Rafiki Lodge, we knew right away that we had stumbled upon a true gem in the rain forest. The Lodge looked like it was transported straight from Africa into the Costa Rican rain forest.

We were there early and the only ones there and asked the local maintenance/lodge care taker if there were any rafting adventures available. He looked at us inquisitively and replied in spanish "no-one is here, and you have to call a day in advance to book a white water rafting experience". He then proceeded to call the owner (Loki) of the lodge who instantly showed the utmost customer service and told us he would make a couple of calls to his guides to make things happen for us. Within a half an hour we had our two guides (Chookie and Randall) who lived in the local village of Santa Domingo with a population of 150 people.

Our guides were awesome to say the least as they educated us on the local plant species and indigenous culture of their families and community.

The rafting trip was amazing with roaring rapids, waterfalls, various animals, along with an amazing lunch half way down the river in a secluded spot in the jungle.

On a scale of 1-5 stars, The Rafiki Lodge receives 10 stars on my rating scale! Thank you once aging to Loki, Chookie, Randall, and Raphael in making this one experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafiki Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafiki Safari Lodge

Address: 16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 449 Specialty Lodging in Province of Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rafiki Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafiki is a sustainable adventure lodge located in the Savegre Valley of Costa Rica. The lodge sits on 840 acres of tropical forest. Rafiki specializes in custom white water rafting, horseback riding and hiking trips. Guests sleep in imported luxury Safari Tents which feature hydro electric fans and lights. Each tent sits on a raised hardwood platform, has a deluxe bathroom with glass showers heated with fire. The units also have a private porch with rocking chairs looking over the Savegre Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Rafiki Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafiki Safari Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Rafiki Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafiki Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.