We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Natural Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talari Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talari Mountain Lodge
Save Saved
You added Talari Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
San Isidro, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Natural Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is not far from the town of San Isidro but it feels like it is worlds away. Rooms are basic, but there is little reason to be in them except to sleep and shower! Each morning there were brilliant forest birds right outside our front door. Each room has a small patio and a hammock. There are trails to walk near a river and through an orchard, both with lots of birds to see. There is a beautiful pool. This is a family-run place and the owners are very friendly and helpful. They live on site. The food was very good and fresh. Fresh juice was made from local fruits every day for our meals. The restaurant itself is open-air and is actually a good place to see birds while you enjoy your meal. Talari is close to some very good birding spots - local guides are quite expert at pointing them out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A little off the beaten track (our driver needed to ask directions), this was a gem of a place. Nice basic rooms, great food, nice birding on the grounds, and connected with great local guides. The open-air restaurant had great views of the valley to go with the meals. Room was somewhat small, but who spends time in their room when there is so much to do outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

the rooms were fairly basic - perfecty comfortable and clean, but without too much luxury.
However as we explored, we found a 'hidden' pool (which we didn't try), and a lovely restaurant / bar, where very good food was served, and where you could sit and talk.
The lodge covers a large area, with good birdwatching opportunities, and the owner was very willing to give advice and help.

Room Tip: the rooms we stayed in were in a block of about 8 - there didn't seem to be much difference, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel Talari was nothing fancy, but the setting was great. The clean rooms were of cement construction divided into two blocks. Each block contained 8 rooms. Rooms were small, and a bit crowded, but the bright colors helped alleviate any potential depression. Air conditioning was not available, nor needed. Beds were variable; the single bed in our room very lumpy due to the bamboo supports under the mattress, but the double bed was very comfortable. The plumbing suffered from mechanical problems typical in Costa Rica and flooded slightly from the tank during our stay. The shower was one of the better ones we experienced with great pressure and lots of water.

The hotel grounds include areas of orchard and second growth forest with a clean and attractive pool area situated close to the banks of the river. We walked one small trail through part of the second growth, but there were more trails available that we missed. The open air dining area is up hill from the rooms taking full advantage of the great views over the San Isidro valley and lodge gardens. It would have been great to have a spotting scope available here for use here. Birding was good, with many edge species easily found. We requested dinners in advance, and the food was the best we received from a hotel, though not cheap.

Ericka and Carlos were in attendance, though they were busy with family during the Easter holiday weekend when we were there. They were very accommodating of our schedule, and seemed quite friendly. This hotel is located within reach of the Alexander Skutch Bird Reserve and Museum, a place I highly recommend visiting for bird watching or picnicking.

Would I stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: Rooms looked to be about the same as far as location and privacy goes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct,usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The lodge is rustic, don't expect anything other then a bed to sleep in, shower etc.
I didn't use the pool, too busy birding the property and other locations, great birds and an interesting piece of land. My favorite was the canopy space where you ate your meals, scan the horizon for birds or sip a glass of vino, a gem of a spot...rustic.
Watch out for the ant hills, they bite. Temperature was warm, nights cooled down a little.
Worth the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head island
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

stayed two nights while touring the pacific coast. cool, laid back atmosphere. the room was small with three beds wedged in. tight bathroom and basic shower. no worries. hiking all day off property allows one to find comfort in just about anything with a roof and toilet. i slept well and awoke to find two motmots sitting on a limb just outside my door. saw lots of birds at sunrise from the porch/dining room, and the nearby feeding station attracted a variety of colorful tanagers. even saw a tinamou scurrying across the road early one morning and a family of otters frolicking in the river. food was fine, though beans and rice are my menu of choice while in the country. very creative presentation of fruits for breakfast. fairly close to los cusingos. on-site manager.

Room Tip: be prepared for sparse accommodations. totally ok if you're in the field all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here immensely. The beds were fine, though not luxurious. The solar hot water shower was nice. I liked being able to step out of the room to lay in a hammock. There were bird feeders nearby with many colorful birds. During a pleasant breakfast on an elegant open deck the birding was even better. Many beautiful birds could be seen while eating. Living is comfortable at this altitude in Costa Rica. A trail went down to a splendid river. I also enjoyed the pool. The owners were very helpful and made us feel like family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talari Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talari Mountain Lodge

Address: San Isidro, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Province of Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Talari Mountain Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talari Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.