We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talari Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talari Mountain Lodge
Save Saved
You added Talari Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
San Isidro, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed there on December 6th for a night. I had been put off staying longer by bad reviews here. But it is a great spot, the owners very friendly, and the food excellent (new cook maybe?). Many birds to see, and you can easily visit Los Cusingos nearby if you have a car. Accommodation is fairly basic, beds not great, but hot water, fan, fridge etc there if you need them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

New owners--no hot water in shower--bed like sleeping on floor-told we could have tuna or beef for dinner--got dry pan fried chicken- we were the only ones there --needs lots of improvement

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

The owners now seem to cater mainly to groups.
I was the only guest so went elsewhere for dinner although the breakfast was good.
The room was small but clean, the solar heated water was very hot.
The bed was extremely hard and the bath towel extremely rough.
The grounds and birding was average although the new spacious restaurant/viewing deck is very nice.
The whole experience was spoiled by the owners barking dog..non stop for 24 hours. They said they would do something about it but 2 hours later it was still at it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I was with a group of 13 people so got to see several rooms. All of them need to be updated - the sheets look threadbare, the towels are thin, etc. Just looks like its not very well cared for. The best part of the hotel are the grounds - especially if you are a birdwatcher or photographer like most of the people in our group. The people in the group liked it for the grounds, not the rooms. We got the evening meal both nights, and while the food was good, I think it was overpriced for what we got. One frustrating thing was that the office was usually not open, so if you needed something you had to walk all over to try to find someone who could help you. There is a husband and wife that own and operate the place. He was very friendly and quite helpful, she seemed grumpy all the time and seemed like she was annoyed that we were there.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

The rooms were very basic but clean and adequate. There was a fridge in the room which was good. The showers are solar and were quite good. The first night, we ate dinner at the restaurant. The fish was covered in olives and lemon which completely overpowered the taste of the fish. The dessert was only ice cream which I thought was not much effort. This was a very poor and expensive three-course meal. There was no choice for breakfast. For a country so rich in fruit, the little slivers of fruit we were given were totally unacceptable. There was a tv in the rooms but the reception was very poor. The grounds were very nice and overlooked a river and a nice view of the mountains. We could not swim in the pool, as it was not clean looking at all. There was no common area to sit in, so after dark, which is at 6 pm, all you could do is sit in the room or go out for the evening. Also, for most of the day, there was no one around to assist with anything. All in all, this was expensive for what was offered.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed two days. The rooms need updating but the grounds are nice. The pool needed cleaning.This used to be a well know birding place but has changed ownership. Most of the bird feeders are empty, although there are still many birds around. The focus is now on the tennis court. It is rather magnificent and the owner is a tennis pro. You can have dinner there if you wish for $15 per person which is a lot for the area. By the time tax and service was added we paid $42 for two people. This should get you a feast but it was a small and unremarkable meal - definitely not worth the price. Instead, go into San Isidro and find a place around the square - half the price and twice the meal!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Off the road and very nice, this was an unexpected treat. We had it to ourselves late Nov.. liked the big rooms and fridge! We saw an armadillo trotting around at sunset... and of course, tons of birds, as all have mentioned. We were not impressed with the sheets on the beds, but otherwise, everyone was friendly and accomodating, we had a great quiet sleep. The grounds are spectacular and feel safe.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talari Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talari Mountain Lodge

Address: San Isidro, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 441 Specialty lodging in Province of Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Talari Mountain Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talari Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.