We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't buy the dinner!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Talari Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talari Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Talari Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
San Isidro, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't buy the dinner!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed two days. The rooms need updating but the grounds are nice. The pool needed cleaning.This used to be a well know birding place but has changed ownership. Most of the bird feeders are empty, although there are still many birds around. The focus is now on the tennis court. It is rather magnificent and the owner is a tennis pro. You can have dinner there if you wish for $15 per person which is a lot for the area. By the time tax and service was added we paid $42 for two people. This should get you a feast but it was a small and unremarkable meal - definitely not worth the price. Instead, go into San Isidro and find a place around the square - half the price and twice the meal!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Off the road and very nice, this was an unexpected treat. We had it to ourselves late Nov.. liked the big rooms and fridge! We saw an armadillo trotting around at sunset... and of course, tons of birds, as all have mentioned. We were not impressed with the sheets on the beds, but otherwise, everyone was friendly and accomodating, we had a great quiet sleep. The grounds are spectacular and feel safe.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Lots of birds nearby so you could spend your entire day here looking and watching birds. There are a good two miles of trails through the local forest and by the river at the bottom of the hotel reserve. The owner is very friendly and is currently building a tennis court at the top of the hill. The shower is solar powered so environmentally friendly, but this doesnt equate to comfort if there is no sun! This applies to the jacuzzi and pool as well. Well worth a visit even still as the spot is beautiful and the experience was positive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed only a day at Talari Lodge. Recommended to us by a Costa Rican friend, for nature lovers, birders, and bird photographers this place is amazing. I wish we had stayed longer.

The place is a bit rustic, compared to its neighboring lodges (such as the esteemed Savegre Lodge in the mountains). But the birds are a WOW. The place is family run, very reasonably priced, and proved to be a hit with my teenage daughter and my wife (as well as myself). Erika, the hotel manager, used to be a restaurant-er and the food served shows her skills. The owners have several bird feeders and we immediately went ooh and aah when we saw the colorful birds on this property.

If you are a nature-lover spend a few days at this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

This was a great spot for bird watching. I enjoyed every minute of my stay. The staff was friendly and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Talari Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talari Mountain Lodge

Address: San Isidro, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Province of Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Talari Mountain Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talari Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.