We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, nice beaches, great wildlife!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Nacional Marino Ballena

Parque Nacional Marino Ballena
Costa Rica
Update attraction details
Type: Other, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, National Parks, Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: El Parque Nacional Marino Ballena se encuentra en el departamento de Puntarenas (Pacifico Central) es un hermoso parque de playa donde cuando la marea baja se une una isla al continente y forma la cola de una ballena. Tiene unas hermosas playas calidas y transparentes y una vegetacion agreste.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, nice beaches, great wildlife!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was a beautiful area. The beaches were lovely, the natural formation of the 'Whale's Tail' was amazing, the water was clear, and we did a whale watching tour and were lucky enough to see two humpback whales, dolphins, and a turtle. The drop back of this beach is amazingly beautiful. It is great that the locals are very concerned about maintaining this national park in order to preserve the abundance of wildlife that inhabit it, and especially encourage the humpback whales to keep coming back each year to have their calves. Also at the time of visiting it wasn't one of the main tourist destinations which makes it even nicer as we didn't just want to go to the typical tourist places. I think people will soon learn about the whales and it will become increasingly more touristy in the future.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surreal walk on the whale's tail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is by far one of my favorite beaches in all Costa Rica (and I've traveled almost every corner having lived there for 9 months and now work for a travel company, Class Adventure Travel)! Marino Ballena is where I went to celebrate my birthday and I couldn't have given myself a better birthday present. The beaches here seem to go on forever, and while you can find small crowds of people it was never crowded. My friends and I took a surf lesson with Travis, founder of Bodhi Surf School. Awesome instructor and all around great guy! Walking out on the whale's tail in the late afternoon when the tide was down was a surreal experience. All the way out in the water with the waves lapping on either side of you, the jungle and beach at a distance seem like a dream. I was too lazy after surfing to do much else than soak up the sun but the snorkeling in the area is also supposed to be pretty good. Getting to Uvita, the small town closest to the park takes only 4hrs from San Jose, which is just a half hour more than super crowded Manuel Antonio!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

View the tail from one of the lodges and explore the beaches to the south. You'll need a 4 x 4 to enjoy the area. The sea caves around Playa Ventana are worth renting a kayak to explore but make sure you go at low tide. Playa Tortugal just south of the park is very excluded and the bird watching is great. Be prepared to hike in, the road isn't passable even with a 4 x 4. There is a day pass for $10, we never saw a ranger to ask us for the fee, but would have gladly supported the park if asked.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Okay for a walk on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Driven there by the incredible reviews here on T.A. we parked the 4x4 near the entrance and made the short walk leading to the beach. It was quite crowded that day which probably altered our experience here. Once at the beach, there were tour boats waiting and a police truck driving on the beach. The sand here is very fine and dark and feels almost like mud. I have other definitions of paradise... We walked on the beach in the direction of the tail and went to the north side of it. There it was quiet, almost deserted so we got into the water. The water was also more calm on that side. It would probably felt different with fewer people and activity but some other reviews overestimate this place in my opinion. The whale tail is nice, but to appreciate it you have to see it from the mountain nearby...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A national park with a beach shaped like a whale's fin. Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This park is managed by the government (Area de Conservacion Osa) and is a perfect day tour if you are close (Manuel Antonio, Uvita, Osa). The beach is huge and there are plenty of spaces to swim or relax at the beach. During low tide you can walk to the tip of the whale's fin. It is quite impressive. Haven't beach to a beach like that in Costa Rica. Parking gets very crowded so get there early or when it is not whale watching season

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Marino Ballena also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Costa Rica, Central America
 

Been to Parque Nacional Marino Ballena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Nacional Marino Ballena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Parque Nacional Marino Ballena to your Saves list