We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Joy Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Joy Retreat
Puerto Nuevo, between Dominical & Uvita | Costanera KM153, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Me, my husband and our young daughter (23 months old, so yes, this place is kid friendly) stayed here for Christmas 2012 and had a truly amazing time. Despite filling our time with lots of activities (including running up and down the local beaches after our little girl), this was a perfect place to relax and unwind and forget about the stress of the world. The accommodation was simple, but then with the jungle on the doorstep and the ocean a stones throw away we needed nothing more. Chanti was the perfect hostess and made us feel really welcome; even though we were only there for 6 nights we felt like it was home which is a rare feeling when you're traveling. Only trouble is we now feel very homesick and can't wait to go back!
The local area was beautiful and unspoilt, from stunning waterfalls to spotless beaches....this place had it all on it's doorstep. You will need a car (4X4 recommended but don't think it's actually essential) to make the most of the area and we can thoroughly recommend the riding trek to the waterfalls at Nauyaca (possible even with a young one). Most of all though we enjoyed spending our mornings and evenings sitting on the deck listening to the jungle around us (the howler monkeys will wake you up...early, but hey, that's why you go to these places), watching the amazing views and marveling at how lucky we were to have found this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Me and my family (including our dog) stayed in this place for a weekend. It is everything you need to have a nice stay. The cabins are located in the middle of the jungle with a beautiful ocean view from the bed. The location is great, it is near Manuel Antonio, Dominical and Uvita so it is a perfect spot for those who want to explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

we spent four days in jungle joy, the webpage will provide all the information you need, good place to enjoy sounds and colours of the near jungle, skillful management; you definitely need a vehicle to get there, the watsu massage is a big plus.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

I can sure write extensive stories about how beautiful it was and how hospitable Chanti (the host) is but this is something you need to experience yourself. This place is sure still a paradise on earth and close to several hot spots such as Manuel Antonio. It's located on a mountain away from all Lonely Planet travellers close to a beautiful beach with almost the entire beach just for you! While staying at Jungle Joy you can either choose to be independent or ask Chanti to drive you (she will only charge money for gas). Once at Jungle Joy, experience great water massage from Chanti, they are the best! She is a certified masseuse and I sure can't think of a netter place to unwind!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Province of Puntarenas hotels
Free internet...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#2 of 10 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Free Breakfast...
Show More
5.9 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 11 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
5.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#5 of 11 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
14.4 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
14.4 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Joy Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Joy Retreat

Address: Puerto Nuevo, between Dominical & Uvita | Costanera KM153, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Province of Puntarenas
Also Known As:
Jungle Joy Retreat Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Joy Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jungle Joy Retreat to your Saves list