We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biodiversity Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Cruces Biological Station

Las Cruces Biological Station
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Cruces Biological Station
| San Vito, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Biodiversity Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Spent four days here photographing Nature with another like-minded friend. Spacious room with great patio for wildlife viewing. Bathroom was small but the two of us took turns, and hey - how much time do you need to spend in the bathroom anyway? Highlight was hanging out with six ecology grad students from US, EU and Latin America and learning about their work. We organized a nightwalk to look for critters and were richly rewarded. 10 pair of trained eyes and ears can really find a lot! Food was lovingly prepped, homestyle (which promoted conversation and comraderie) and was delicious.
Wilson Botanic Garden was photographically rich; highly recommend the free guided tour on your first day to get the lay of the land. Then wander on your own. Easy and safe. Forest trails range from almost-recent pasture to primary forest. Lots of hot, humid, up-and-down but take your time. Bring a bag lunch and stay out all day. Beautiful little streams and a small waterfall are very photogenic. Birds everywhere; be sure to climb the observation tower before bfast and at sunset for beautiful 360 views.
Dont' be shy about talking to the researchers; they're all happy to talk about their work and their adventures.
PS - the drive to get here is beautiful too, esp. once you leave the Pan Am Hwy. When you leave, climb up and then down to Ciudad Neily - maybe the most spectacular views from high to low in CR. No places to pull over and shoot pix, though. Then drive back North along the Pan Am Hwy and Costanera Sur.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the Main Building = close to the Dining Hall, in the center of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very nice place to stay, comfortable. Many youngs researchers evolving in nature for their researchs and accompagned by teachers. Their was included a visit of the trails in the station and biological garden, the guide was really good. I will recommend that place. The only thing for researchers is that their climatological instruments need to be replace... seem to be old and not functionning. Continue your good work !!

Room Tip: I have an A/C and it is good to have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed here for two nights as part of a birdwatching tour group during the dry season. The facilities, somewhat typical of rainforest areas, were quite good. My room had glass all across the back (louvered windows and a door), with a private deck looking out onto the forest below. A portable fan provided air movement, no small deal since the temperatures got a bit warm. The shower caused me some consternation. The shower head contained an electric heating element that works best (and that's not saying much) when the water flow is lowest. On the first morning, before I figured this out, I "enjoyed" a cold shower; on the second morning, I got water with at least a tepid temperature. Other than that, though, the room was more than adequate. It was clean and the bed comfortable. Meals are served on schedule -- no dawdling recommended if you want to eat (this is the same as other biological stations I have visited). The serving was family style, and the amounts provided were adequate in most cases. The variety of birds was fantastic, at the dining area, as well as throughout the gardens. Our guide set out fresh bananas at a bird feeding station on the patio near the dining hall and we were almost immediately visited by several species of colorful tanagers, honeycreepers and hummingbirds. The gift shop was small but had some nice items, including ice cream treats, a welcome relief from the heat. As most everywhere on our trip, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The grounds have numerous paths between buildings and the forest, and expanses of well-cared for lawn and flowering plants. It's just a beautiful place, with a lot of variety in the flora. Recommended highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at Las Cruces in December. We originally had this in our itinerary as a way to break up a long drive, but it turned out to be a fantastic addition.

We stayed in the Antharium room (all rooms have names vs numbers) and there was SO much wildlife to view from the back terrace. There was this one tree that attracted a constant stream of hummingbirds, guan, and dozens of other types that I can't remember.

We were the only ones staying overnight, and when the chef learned that I had a particular food allergy that they forgot to address (reported several times ahead of time), she whipped me up something special that turned out to be the best meal of the trip. Breakfast was the "tipico" for Costa Rica (beans, rice, eggs, cheese, etc.), but the tortilas were fresh with little stamped decorations in them.

The Wilson Botanical Garden is lovely, and we had some great bird sightings there, but honestly the feeder in back of the dining hall was THE place to be. INSANE colorful bird activity.

We also went on a hike to the observation platform and down to the Rio Java. Would definitely visit again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: Antharium - or if you prefer a little more isolation and luxury, ask if the researcher cabins are av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Cruces Biological Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cruces Biological Station

Address: | San Vito, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Province of Puntarenas
Also Known As:
Las Cruces Biological Station Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Cruces Biological Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Las Cruces Biological Station to your Saves list