We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - potential to be top hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50mts north of Dr Echandi's Clinic, Tortuguero 10736-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Tortuguero
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel - potential to be top hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Staff we very helpful. We were in a group of about 10 people and did all our tours together. Luis our guide was knowledgeable and had amazing eye sight. He saw birds and caman that we couldn't even see when they were under our noses. He also took us on a hike up a local hill where you had great views over Tortugero canals and Carribean. The food at the hotel was good though there was no choice,It was a set menu each evening. The hotel is a bit shabby but I'm sure once the renovation work is complete this will be a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one of larger rooms in pair bungalows rather than group bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

In a remote soaking wet environment, short of spending a fortune removing yourself from the reality, this is as good a place as any to explore from. The food is balanced nutrtionally and culturally. There is enough staff to keep food and events basically on time. Pool is small but clean. Attention to ambience is very good. Very friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juanillo, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a great time at the Flor de Tortugero. As quiet and peaceful a place as we had ever seen. Wonderful birds animals and flora and the people were fantastic. The management and help were more than gracious..i highly recommend this place for a wildlife lover who wants a quiet place to relax and enjoy nature at it's finest

Room Tip: the cabinas are spacious and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deinze, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have some mixed feelings on what to write about this hotel.

We'll start with all the good points:
- the young owners are very friendly and nice and do everything they can to please their guests. They are ambitious and the fact that their beautifull kids are there gives a very warm and familiar feeling. You feel as if your guests into their home.

- the piece and quiet, the pool, the hammocs... You can really relax here.

- they knew we were on our honeymoon and they offered us a nice bottle of red wine in the spacious room

- the rooms are set out in nice bungalows through out the young garden

There were also some little things that need some more work, but they are really working on it:

- the rooms are big and spacious, but a bit run down. They are remoddeling, and it's really necessary. Mold in the bathrooms, cracks everywhere. The rooms were very spacious and clean, but need a makeover. (Which they are doing, so I trust that by next year the rooms will be perfect.)

- there still are some concrete platforms of where rooms used to be, or will come.... they should remove those...

- the guide Luis: He had a face that you can't be mad at and he loves nature... but I think we got unlucky with him. Some other people who were in the hotel together with us, and who took the same tours were rather negative about the hotel, the food, the guide, ... and we think that he must have felt that and didn't really try his best.
He's a nice, lovable person, but when we went out on excursions he just said what he had to say, didn't really look for animals (he was chatting to the locals on the boat) and we feel that we have missed out on some things... It felt as if he didn't really liked his job anymore.... Which is a pity because he looks to be a great guide. I just think he didn't like our group....

- the food: We were only with 7 people in the hotel so they didn't make a buffet... Which we can understand. Unfortunately we never knew in advance what we would eat and there were no alternatives for people with allergies, or people who didn't eat or like something. We loved the food, but heared several people complain. We liked it, but could have eaten more.... The portions were rather small.

Overal this is a great hotel if you're looking for peace and quiet and a lovely time in the centre of the jungle. We do feel that is currently overpiced since the rooms were still rundown, the food was not outstanding,... We payed $ 520 for 3 days - 2 nights and I can't say that this price is correct.

We do wish Jourdan and Hannia all the best, and we're sure that when we come back to Costa Rica with our kids in a few years, they will have turned Flor de Tortuguero into a beautifull place. They just need some more time to turn the randown samoa lodge into the dreamhotel they want to make...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Samoa Lodge is a very quiet hotel, perfect for relaxation. You can only get there by boat - the hotel arranges your transportation when you make the reservation. It is quite secluded because you cannot go very far without having to take the boat, but the arranged trips (to the village and to the national park) were very good. The rooms are basic but colourfully decorated. They have no windows, only a screen to keep out the insects. This allows for the rooms to quickly get (slightly) less hot in the evenings and it gets you more in touch with nature as you can hear the sounds of the wildlife at night. The rooms are located in cabins, which are set in a beautifully kept garden. There are some hammocks in the garden to really make you relax. The staff were friendly and the food was pretty good. Compared to some of the other lodges in Tortuguero, this one had fewer guests so more peace and quiet and a more personal approach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Samoa Lodge is a nice place for any traveler like us seeking a peaceful stay; thankfully we had one of the best of it. Boating was fun and also a bit adventurous but getting to see different breeds of wildlife was amazing. Most importantly their pricing pattered seemed strange it was adjustable and not a problem at all. May think of going back again somewhere in the next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I and my wife recently spent three great days at this place. It was an enjoyable experience. It is a beautiful and peaceful place. The people at this lodge do a great job. We had the opportunity to see a lot of different wildlife while we were here. The place is well maintained and nicely regulated. You get your meals served at the same timings every day. The place offers lot of fun and comfort. We thoroughly enjoyed the boat rides through the waterways and canals. Our room was clean and comfortable. We slept peacefully there at nights. We wished we could stay for a bit longer at this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero

Address: 50mts north of Dr Echandi's Clinic, Tortuguero 10736-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero 3*
Also Known As:
Samoa Lodge And Resort Tortuguero
Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero
Samoa Hotel Tortuguero
Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero to your Saves list