We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at a beautifull setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero
Save Saved
You added Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50mts north of Dr Echandi's Clinic, Tortuguero 10736-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Deinze, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay at a beautifull setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have some mixed feelings on what to write about this hotel.

We'll start with all the good points:
- the young owners are very friendly and nice and do everything they can to please their guests. They are ambitious and the fact that their beautifull kids are there gives a very warm and familiar feeling. You feel as if your guests into their home.

- the piece and quiet, the pool, the hammocs... You can really relax here.

- they knew we were on our honeymoon and they offered us a nice bottle of red wine in the spacious room

- the rooms are set out in nice bungalows through out the young garden

There were also some little things that need some more work, but they are really working on it:

- the rooms are big and spacious, but a bit run down. They are remoddeling, and it's really necessary. Mold in the bathrooms, cracks everywhere. The rooms were very spacious and clean, but need a makeover. (Which they are doing, so I trust that by next year the rooms will be perfect.)

- there still are some concrete platforms of where rooms used to be, or will come.... they should remove those...

- the guide Luis: He had a face that you can't be mad at and he loves nature... but I think we got unlucky with him. Some other people who were in the hotel together with us, and who took the same tours were rather negative about the hotel, the food, the guide, ... and we think that he must have felt that and didn't really try his best.
He's a nice, lovable person, but when we went out on excursions he just said what he had to say, didn't really look for animals (he was chatting to the locals on the boat) and we feel that we have missed out on some things... It felt as if he didn't really liked his job anymore.... Which is a pity because he looks to be a great guide. I just think he didn't like our group....

- the food: We were only with 7 people in the hotel so they didn't make a buffet... Which we can understand. Unfortunately we never knew in advance what we would eat and there were no alternatives for people with allergies, or people who didn't eat or like something. We loved the food, but heared several people complain. We liked it, but could have eaten more.... The portions were rather small.

Overal this is a great hotel if you're looking for peace and quiet and a lovely time in the centre of the jungle. We do feel that is currently overpiced since the rooms were still rundown, the food was not outstanding,... We payed $ 520 for 3 days - 2 nights and I can't say that this price is correct.

We do wish Jourdan and Hannia all the best, and we're sure that when we come back to Costa Rica with our kids in a few years, they will have turned Flor de Tortuguero into a beautifull place. They just need some more time to turn the randown samoa lodge into the dreamhotel they want to make...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Samoa Lodge is a very quiet hotel, perfect for relaxation. You can only get there by boat - the hotel arranges your transportation when you make the reservation. It is quite secluded because you cannot go very far without having to take the boat, but the arranged trips (to the village and to the national park) were very good. The rooms are basic but colourfully decorated. They have no windows, only a screen to keep out the insects. This allows for the rooms to quickly get (slightly) less hot in the evenings and it gets you more in touch with nature as you can hear the sounds of the wildlife at night. The rooms are located in cabins, which are set in a beautifully kept garden. There are some hammocks in the garden to really make you relax. The staff were friendly and the food was pretty good. Compared to some of the other lodges in Tortuguero, this one had fewer guests so more peace and quiet and a more personal approach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Samoa Lodge is a nice place for any traveler like us seeking a peaceful stay; thankfully we had one of the best of it. Boating was fun and also a bit adventurous but getting to see different breeds of wildlife was amazing. Most importantly their pricing pattered seemed strange it was adjustable and not a problem at all. May think of going back again somewhere in the next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I and my wife recently spent three great days at this place. It was an enjoyable experience. It is a beautiful and peaceful place. The people at this lodge do a great job. We had the opportunity to see a lot of different wildlife while we were here. The place is well maintained and nicely regulated. You get your meals served at the same timings every day. The place offers lot of fun and comfort. We thoroughly enjoyed the boat rides through the waterways and canals. Our room was clean and comfortable. We slept peacefully there at nights. We wished we could stay for a bit longer at this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I made Samoa the first leg of our Caribbean vacation - we did the biggest package - 3 nights - and had a really great time. Transportation from San Jose and back was very comfortable and even enjoyable. We stopped to check out sloths and various wildlife along the way. The lodge staff was fantastic. Our tour guides, Marlon and Luis, were the best. The lodge managers, David and his girlfriend Anna were incredibly nice and accommodating and we found out from them that the lodge's ownership had just changed hands the week before we arrived, and that the property was undergoing many much-needed improvements. Examples: all flatware and dinnerware was replaced by our second night, and gravel was being added to all of the paths that had become muddy from the rains.

The cabin we stayed in was spacious and clean, and sleeping was peaceful. It felt a little bit like summer camp - breakfast at 8, lunch at 1, dinner at 7 every day and planned activities/tours every morning and afternoon (except for our last 2 afternoons - we got free time to go canoeing and to hang out by the pool). There was tons of local wildlife on the lodge grounds as well as throughout the canals, and the canoes we used were in great shape. It was a lot of fun, and the secluded surroundings made it very romantic.

From what we learned, it did not sound like the lodge would have been as great had we arrived 2 weeks prior, but I think the new owner is making an effort to rebuild the lodge's reputation and I would definitely recommend staying there after our experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I do not know how anybody can speak well of this resort.

The appearance is nice (as the rest of resorts around) but I pretended to have an extracharge to be billed in advance. The other few guests in the resort shared the same disgusting experience.

At your risk if you dare to go !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

This review is our thank you to everyone, especially Guillermo and Roberto, for making our stay at Samoa Lodge the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. Your friendliness, the warm welcome we received and the wonderful boat rides through the canals and waterways remained at the top of our list for magical experiences in your beautiful country. Roberto and Anselmo showed us more wildlife - birds, caymen, monkeys, turtles, iguana, etc. than we saw anywhere else in the country. The pool was lovely. The room was a bit rustic but it was clean and we were welcomed with hibiscus on the bed and a lovely cocktail at the dock. You can only get here by boat but that is the beauty of this place - quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Wish we could have stayed longer for more great conversation and boat rides with Roberto.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero

Address: 50mts north of Dr Echandi's Clinic, Tortuguero 10736-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero 3*
Also Known As:
Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero
Samoa Lodge And Resort Tortuguero
Samoa Hotel Tortuguero
Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samoa Lodge & Resort Tortuguero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.