We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Tarpon Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Tarpon Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Tarpon Lodge
Save Saved
You added Jungle Tarpon Lodge to your Saves list
Parsimina River lagoon | southern end of Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Sedro Woolley, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jungle Tarpon Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We just returned from a visit to the Jungle Tarpon Lodge in Costa Rica (11/2011) and it was awesome. Angelo the lodge manager was an extremely helpful and knowledgeable fishing guide. Although our trip was mainly for fishing we found the river blown out and Tarpon not so hungry so Angelo took us on a trip through the jungle via boat and a tour of his village, Parsimina. And the food was just as advertised, wholesome, healthy and great tasting. The entire staff could not have been more helpful and the accommodations were great. The only hiccup on our trip was when we arrived in San Jose our luggage did not but Angelo convinced us to travel to the lodge and he would handle the luggage issue and he did. It was delivered to the lodge later that evening.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tn,usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

there is no place for a zero rating. totally false advertising. room only had 2 beds and a table,no chairs and was lit by 2 incandescant bulbs,and a reading light. bathroom was moldy,dirty,and one bulb for light. no curtains on bathroom windows,and the room had thin,poor quality ones that barely stopped the light. we had beans and rice 11 of 12 meals, coimmercial spaghetti the other. advertised as lobster,fresh fish, etc. we had porkchops twice,chicken enchiladas,and the commercial spaghetti for our 4 dinners.the 100 acres is really about 2 that are accessible to you. NO POOL> the lagoon is a muddy inlet off the very muddy river and is barely big enough for the boat.,however small they were. fishing was in 1 approx 14ft jon boat and you had to sit in 3-5 ft breakers to fish,or troll in the river,where we were run off by armed park guards. ocean fishing in a small boat,no live well,a d smelled of gas fumes the entire time.happy hour was advertised.we had none.just 2 bottles of vodka(one flavored),no mix,one type of beer,and no hors d'oerves as advertised.there is so much more,but if you value your dollars and vacation time dont waste it on this dive.the same folks own great alaska fishing, and i would be leary of them also.you talk to the same guy no matter which you choose.wish someone had warned us.

Room Tip: sure.dont book any of them and save yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, General Manager at Jungle Tarpon Lodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Following a low price Two for One trip, a writer wrote a tough review of our lodge. Earlier and later TA reviews of the same trip gave us 4 & 5 out of 5 stars. Our prices are about 60% of the nearby competition. The guest said nothing while at the lodge & tipped well. The writer demanded a 50% refund or threatened derogatory postings on TA. We proffered a refund of $420. The refund was refused and he turned the complaint into American Express, which denied his claim. He turned the complaint in again to American Express and it was again denied. He cashed the refund check. He then sent a follow up e mail demanding $2000, not $420. He offered to send no further bad reviews and to rescind the subject review if he received the $2000.
I think that says it all. We have built our reputation on customer service, including refunds when justified. We thought it only fair that we post the Rest of the Story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

Went to the Jungle Tarpon Lodge and had a great time. The Lodge is nice, ( be careful though, when it rains, and it does, the rooms tend to leak and you play musical beds). The food was great and the people were awesome. I did the eco tours and my husband did the fishing. I must say I made out better than he. Did some kayaking and saw Sloths, Monkeys, crocodiles, many different species of birds, butterflies and frogs. The fishing was not as great. Could not get out to the sea, due to high waves or low tide and nothing biting in the canals. Saw a lot of Tarpon roll, but none were hungry. The guides they have seem to know the area and were with us at all times. Would recommend the Lodge and plan to go again.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leady roof
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jungle Tarpon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Tarpon Lodge

Address: Parsimina River lagoon | southern end of Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Jungle Tarpon Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Tarpon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.