We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a remote frontier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aninga lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aninga lodge
Canal Principal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Luxury in a remote frontier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a Caravan tour. The road to the boat launch is an adventure in itself. I just found out there are cheap flights from San Jose to Tortugero that get you there in 25 minutes, which is what we might do when we return. The lack of A.C. was no issue; the cottage ceiling fan did the job. Consider buying a bug shirt or bug jacket and a flashlight with a red lens before you travel here. The beach is rugged, as is the village. If your idea of Costa Rica is Escazu, this place is not for you. We loved it. Local guide / naturalist named Johnny is outstanding.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glassboro, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked a 13 day Costa Rica trip through Gate 1 and didn't know what to expect at first, this was our first trip to the jungle. The 3 day and 2night stay at Aninga Lodge was as pictured in the information also as stated NO A/C, no problem, the room had a ceiling fan and that made it comfortable and quiet. We could hear the noises of the jungle. There are two pools that were not over crowded and the food was very good and fresh. We took the optional night tour to see the turtles lay eggs on the beach, there are better times of the year to see this. This was a relaxing and exciting experience. Suggestions, take bug spray, sunsreen, closed toe shoes ( old sneakers or shoes ) and don't forget a FLASHLIGHT with a red lens if you can find one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

On a tour of Costa Rica our tour company booked us at this hotel. It is only accessible by boat. It is totally in the rainforest, very unforgettable experience!! We had our own cabin with 1 double bed and 1 twin, desk, and bathroom with shower (hot and cold water). There is electricity but NO phone, NO TV, and NO AC. Very rustic in that way but it was all part of the experience. There WILL be bugs in your room, no matter how hard we would try somehow they got in, bring bug spray! Also the whole cabin is open to air with screens, no glass windows. You can hear all the noises of the rainforest day and night!! The food was typical costarican and it was average. There is no other place to eat and all of our meals were included. You have to be taken by boat into tortugero to buy anything. The pool area was nice. Bar was ok drinks ok. They have a spa which was nice and we had a massage for half price. We had guided tours which were great! There were tons of wildlife right out your front door! Howler monkeys and sloths with babies!! Soo cute! It was a once in a life time experience and I would recommend it more to the outdoorsy types!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visiting for two nights as part of a 10-day Costa Rica package. Facilities are individual cabins with a porch with rocking chairs. No air conditioning but there were ceiling fans and that was enough in March. Pool area was great - the spa was nice - massages were reasonably priced and very nice. Food was simple and filling, some of the best we had on the trip. Boats into the canals for wildlife viewing were great - be sure to bring your camera. Local guide Adrian knew his stuff. Wildlife was everywhere - including a colony of howler monkeys who provided our morning wakeup call Staff was very friendly. wi-fi available in the lodge area - but no phones and no tv - but you don't come to Costa Rica to watch TV. Coffee served at your door on the first morning - but a 5:30, so don't plan to sleep in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here early February for a two night tour. The accommodation is in individual cabins with a verandah complete with rocking chairs. This is an ideal setting for observing and hearing the wildlife e.g. howler monkeys, toucans, spider monkeys etc. The guide for the tours was helpful as well as very knowledgeable. The food was served buffet style and although there was limited choice it was more than adequate. Be prepared for an early start on the first day! I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aninga lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aninga lodge

Address: Canal Principal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Also Known As:
Aninga Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aninga lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aninga lodge to your Saves list