We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Save
You added Casa Marbella to your Saves list
, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Casa Marbella in June 2013. We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 daughters ages 6 and 10) so we booked a family room. It was on the ground floor, facing the water. There was a main room with a double and single bed and a small adjoining area with another single bed plus a full bathroom. It was small and warm, but comfortable and clean. We took the morning boat tour. We were disappointed to learn our guide would not be Daryl, but Roberto was fantastic. Daryl was prompt with answering questions via email prior to our trip and helped us sort our our transportation back to San Jose. (We went to San Jose via boat to Moin then public bus to San Jose) We were wary of carrying cash, not being able to use credit cards as there is no bank/atm in Tortuguero, but all ended up okay. The staff at the reception were helpful and friendly. We booked a night turtle tour and were lucky enough to see several turtles emerge from the sea and watched one lay her eggs. Fantastic experience. We enjoyed being "in town", able to walk to the National Park for a hike, walk to local restaurants, and walk to the Turtle Conservancy museum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    158
    34
    6
    2
See reviews for
79
242
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We wanted to visit Totuguero without committing ourselves with an all-inclusive hotel. This B&B was perfect for that. The staff was knowledgeable about excursions, food, and best time to tour. I can not even thank them for such a fabulous experience.
On the flip side is the noise ... Not just the street but also the river boats, dogs, and other guests. This was only an issue Saturday night (we stayed 4 nights total) so I would try to avoid the weekend if possible. Interesting experience.

Room Tip: Ask for river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location of the B&B is very central to the village. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. The room we stayed at was facing the street and it was very noisy almost like sleeping outside, the walls are very thin as you can hear other guests. The price is reasonable $ 40 for a two bed room but there are many other options for a cheaper price. Overall a very clean place and very charming, good view by the river. They have a great guide Roberto that does the night turtle tours, he is very knowlegeable and funny.

Room Tip: rooms in the inner part of the building, outside ones towards the street are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked Casa Marbella directly prior to our visit to Tortuguero and Daryl was very helpful with providing useful information prior to our arrival. He is extremely knowledgeable about Tortuguero & is keen for visitors to have a great experience.

We caught 2 local buses from San Jose & a ferry from La Pavona - this trip was easy & very cheap when compared to other information about how to get to Tortuguero.

We stayed in a ground floor room with 2 double beds. It looks like the property is being extended, so there are some building works going on, but given you won't be sleeping in anyway, this didn't cause any problems.

Breakfast of pancakes was super and a welcome change from gallo pinto. We'd gone on a wildlife boat tour at 6am that morning & had this delicious breakfast when we returned. The next morning we were hoping for pancakes again, but scrambled eggs and toast were on the menu; still very good.

We booked a turtle nesting tour through Casa Marbella and were successful in seeing 3 turtles along the beach of the national park that evening - amazing! Do not miss this tour if you are in Tortuguero at the right time.

Whether you are travelling as an individual, couple or family I would recommend staying with Daryl and Casa Marbella, if they have availability.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I decided to take a chance and plan a trip for the next day to Tortuguero. I didn't have phone service so I emailed the hotel and the owner emailed back right away. Daryl not only promised me his last room, but he helped me secure seats on the boat ride from Moin. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Our room had obviously been updated recently and was very nicely done. My daughter loved the towels folded up into animals - nice touch! Our room was on the street side and was very loud one night but the noise stopped at around 10. If possible, I recommend asking for a room that's not on the street. Awesome breakfast. The ladies who worked the desk were kind and helpful. I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hi,
Stayed here for 3 nights with a friend. We had room 4 which had a double bed and 2 single beds and a private bathroom with a hot shower. We arrived VERY early as we flew in from San Jose (GREAT FLIGHT but beware luggage allowance on cheap ticket is very low and they charge for excess). Daryl (the helpful owner) had pre-warned that no one would be there that early but to help ourselves to coffee and either wait for breakfast or pop next door to the bakery. We waited and were not disappointed by the pancakes :)
Went out with a guide called ROSS - his info is on the noticeboard. A botanist by trade and full of great stories. We enjoyed our trip on the hill despite the weather.
Went on the night tour to see the turtles (arranged with the hotel). Were very lucky to quickly see turtles.
Also went on the boat tour with Roberto - fabulously relaxing way to spend a few hours.
Restaurant wise - avoid Miss Junies - we only went for lunch with just 2 tables and yet the service was still lousy. Wild Ginger and Buddha Bar were both tasty (BB has best view).
As probably others have said, you need cash as there is no Bank in Tortugero. It's a good spot, nice beach, interesting environment. You probably only need 2 nights there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good clean place, cheap for what you get. Breakfasts were good and not always the same. There's a terrace with great view on the river. We booked tours on place and we were satisfied.
We were in the room with street view and heard the dogs in the street, maybe others rooms, for exemple on the river side, would be more quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites
2.0 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
#7 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: , Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.