We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Save
You added Casa Marbella to your Saves list
Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose Casa Marbella because we didn't want to be part of a package tour. We arrived open minded and were not disaapointed. The accomodation is basic but clean and in a great location with fantastic views and just a boat ride away from the airport. The breakfasts are amazing and great to come back to after an early tour. Staff really friendly and helpful. They provide wellington boots which you need when walking in the national park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    137
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
212
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first stop on our Costa Rican adventure. It set the trip on the right foot. Daryl was super helpful. It was my boyfriends 50th birthday and Daryl was able to find one a home made birthday cake. The customer service from Daryl and his staff is outstanding. We enjoyed the ambience of Casa Marbella. Loved the energy and we are planning our next trip back.
Greg and Ericka

Room Tip: Book Upstairs!! Loved being able to hear the ocean and/or river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good location. Pay attention, the area is very hot and humid, and there in no pool. If we knew that we would prefer to pay more and have an hotel with a swiming pool. Dont miss the hiking trail in the reserv, you can take boots from the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms that r facing the street r very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton bays ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have stayed at Casa Marbella five times. The location is excellant, the facility very clean and the staff both friendly and knowledgeable. I can't imagine going to Costa Rica without a few days at Casa Marbella . Don't miss the morning boat tour with a guide out on the river. There are many interestin walks and hikes .Nice restaurants, nice people .Don' t miss it. Phil Quinn,pfquinn43@gmail

Room Tip: Close to river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good quality for such a wild nature place! Room had 3-4 beds (as requested by our group which traveled with kids). Sealing fan and extra portable fan in the room, free breakfast with fresh fruits, pancakes/omlets. Owner Daryl takes care of visitors and very nice. Wild life tours offered in the hotel - they worth it big time! Wifi works ok in the lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Casa Marbella is clean, comfortable and safe...as are many other places. The breakfast is nothing special, but eating on the deck overlooking the river is very nice.
The best part was the 6 am cruise through the jungle that began right at the Marbella's dock. For more than three hours, a dozen of us floated almost silently through the park waters getting good looks and great pictures of exotic birds, reptiles and monkeys.
Caution: travelers planning to go from Tortuguero to the Pacific coast should not attempt it on Sunday afternoon as the main highway becomes one-way Eastbound for beach people heading home to San jose.

Room Tip: The room facing the front, along the main walking area, can be a little noisy until 9:00 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchcombe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely location right in the heart of Tortuguero. We didn't get to meet Daryl who we were expecting to lead our nature tour. Apparently he doesn't live in Tortuguero any more. Service was prompt, but not particularly welcoming. Fortunately we are capable of sorting ourselves out and it was lovely just wandering around the village.
We ate at Wild Ginger both nights - fantastic, but there isn't a lot of competition! Easier than expected to get there with our car which we left for 2 nights at the dock at La Pavona. Brilliant map and. Directions to get there. All very good value for money and a lovely experience. Room quite small and a bit dingy, but you get what you pay for and the location was priceless!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.