We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Begining of an Awesome Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Save
You added Casa Marbella to your Saves list
Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Begining of an Awesome Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first stop on our Costa Rican adventure. It set the trip on the right foot. Daryl was super helpful. It was my boyfriends 50th birthday and Daryl was able to find one a home made birthday cake. The customer service from Daryl and his staff is outstanding. We enjoyed the ambience of Casa Marbella. Loved the energy and we are planning our next trip back.
Greg and Ericka

Room Tip: Book Upstairs!! Loved being able to hear the ocean and/or river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErickaK602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good location. Pay attention, the area is very hot and humid, and there in no pool. If we knew that we would prefer to pay more and have an hotel with a swiming pool. Dont miss the hiking trail in the reserv, you can take boots from the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms that r facing the street r very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiritaikatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton bays ny
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have stayed at Casa Marbella five times. The location is excellant, the facility very clean and the staff both friendly and knowledgeable. I can't imagine going to Costa Rica without a few days at Casa Marbella . Don't miss the morning boat tour with a guide out on the river. There are many interestin walks and hikes .Nice restaurants, nice people .Don' t miss it. Phil Quinn,pfquinn43@gmail

Room Tip: Close to river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good quality for such a wild nature place! Room had 3-4 beds (as requested by our group which traveled with kids). Sealing fan and extra portable fan in the room, free breakfast with fresh fruits, pancakes/omlets. Owner Daryl takes care of visitors and very nice. Wild life tours offered in the hotel - they worth it big time! Wifi works ok in the lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MashaLeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Casa Marbella is clean, comfortable and safe...as are many other places. The breakfast is nothing special, but eating on the deck overlooking the river is very nice.
The best part was the 6 am cruise through the jungle that began right at the Marbella's dock. For more than three hours, a dozen of us floated almost silently through the park waters getting good looks and great pictures of exotic birds, reptiles and monkeys.
Caution: travelers planning to go from Tortuguero to the Pacific coast should not attempt it on Sunday afternoon as the main highway becomes one-way Eastbound for beach people heading home to San jose.

Room Tip: The room facing the front, along the main walking area, can be a little noisy until 9:00 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annandale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchcombe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely location right in the heart of Tortuguero. We didn't get to meet Daryl who we were expecting to lead our nature tour. Apparently he doesn't live in Tortuguero any more. Service was prompt, but not particularly welcoming. Fortunately we are capable of sorting ourselves out and it was lovely just wandering around the village.
We ate at Wild Ginger both nights - fantastic, but there isn't a lot of competition! Easier than expected to get there with our car which we left for 2 nights at the dock at La Pavona. Brilliant map and. Directions to get there. All very good value for money and a lovely experience. Room quite small and a bit dingy, but you get what you pay for and the location was priceless!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mackej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived at 6.30 in the morning on the Naturair flight from San Jose and were met at the airstrip by a water taxi, arranged by the hotel, which took us directly to their landing stage. The owner's husband, Darryl, who had already sent us lots of information by email, was there to welcome us. As it was so early our rooms were obviously not ready but we were able to leave our luggage and were directed to the bakery next door where we tucked in to an excellent cooked breakfast and coffee. The weather was extremely unseasonal, cool and very wet, but it really didn't matter. This a place to relax in and take life slowly. Fortunately the following day was dry and sunny and we had a fantastic early morning boat trip into the forest with Roberto, the guide attached to the hotel, The boat has an electric engine so is very quiet, which enables you to get up really close to the wildlife without frightening it away. A delicious breakfast awaited us upon our return. Roberto was a great guide and we also went with him on an afternoon walk into the park as well as a night walk. Our room very clean, light and airy and overlooked the river and was beautifully decorated in a New England style, all wood and light colours. Casa Marbella is ideally placed in the centre of the village and everything is within easy walking distance. Nothing was too much for Darryl or Gina, the receptionist who organised our onward boat trip to Moin. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upper superior room which was very light, quiet and had a lovely view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 10 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#4 of 10 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
2.0 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
#10 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing