We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The morning cruise is the best part.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Save
You added Casa Marbella to your Saves list
Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The morning cruise is the best part.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Casa Marbella is clean, comfortable and safe...as are many other places. The breakfast is nothing special, but eating on the deck overlooking the river is very nice.
The best part was the 6 am cruise through the jungle that began right at the Marbella's dock. For more than three hours, a dozen of us floated almost silently through the park waters getting good looks and great pictures of exotic birds, reptiles and monkeys.
Caution: travelers planning to go from Tortuguero to the Pacific coast should not attempt it on Sunday afternoon as the main highway becomes one-way Eastbound for beach people heading home to San jose.

Room Tip: The room facing the front, along the main walking area, can be a little noisy until 9:00 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    137
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
212
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winchcombe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely location right in the heart of Tortuguero. We didn't get to meet Daryl who we were expecting to lead our nature tour. Apparently he doesn't live in Tortuguero any more. Service was prompt, but not particularly welcoming. Fortunately we are capable of sorting ourselves out and it was lovely just wandering around the village.
We ate at Wild Ginger both nights - fantastic, but there isn't a lot of competition! Easier than expected to get there with our car which we left for 2 nights at the dock at La Pavona. Brilliant map and. Directions to get there. All very good value for money and a lovely experience. Room quite small and a bit dingy, but you get what you pay for and the location was priceless!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived at 6.30 in the morning on the Naturair flight from San Jose and were met at the airstrip by a water taxi, arranged by the hotel, which took us directly to their landing stage. The owner's husband, Darryl, who had already sent us lots of information by email, was there to welcome us. As it was so early our rooms were obviously not ready but we were able to leave our luggage and were directed to the bakery next door where we tucked in to an excellent cooked breakfast and coffee. The weather was extremely unseasonal, cool and very wet, but it really didn't matter. This a place to relax in and take life slowly. Fortunately the following day was dry and sunny and we had a fantastic early morning boat trip into the forest with Roberto, the guide attached to the hotel, The boat has an electric engine so is very quiet, which enables you to get up really close to the wildlife without frightening it away. A delicious breakfast awaited us upon our return. Roberto was a great guide and we also went with him on an afternoon walk into the park as well as a night walk. Our room very clean, light and airy and overlooked the river and was beautifully decorated in a New England style, all wood and light colours. Casa Marbella is ideally placed in the centre of the village and everything is within easy walking distance. Nothing was too much for Darryl or Gina, the receptionist who organised our onward boat trip to Moin. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upper superior room which was very light, quiet and had a lovely view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The personal service is excellent. The morning tour was arranged and our breakfast of coffee, juice, fresh fruit, toast, and eggs was waiting when we returned. The dining area makes a nice place for sitting and conversing with fellow travelers. Our room #11 was fine -- clean and comfortable, although along the path to the back without a view, and there was a bit of noise from the street (Saturday night). Still, we would recommend this as a great place to stay in Tortuguero.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights, family of 3, in a 2nd floor room facing the river. Rooms were clean, 2 double beds, lovely bathroom with hot shower. Very relaxing location and within easy walking to all sites within Tortuguero - Caribbean beach - baby turtles making their way to the ocean - watch out for the stray dogs on the beach (some weren't very friendly), National Park, Natural History Visitor Centre, restaurants etc. Breakfast included was very good and different on the 2 mornings of our stay. We took the boat tour with Roberto and 4 others and although the morning was very rainy and our departure was delayed until the rain let up, we ended up having a wonderful tour and seeing so much - toucans, caimans, Jesus Christ lizard, anhinga, howler monkey etc. Roberto was an excellent guide, highly recommend the tour with Casa Marbella, quiet boat. We also booked an independent tour to Tortuguero Hill area for a 3 hr rainforest hike with Ross (it rained for pretty much the full hike) but was still worth it. Ross is so knowledgable about this area, an afternoon well spent. Time in Tortugeuro was a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Overlooking the canal, Casa Marbella has a variety of pleasant rooms, some on the road side quite noisy at night, but only until about 9pm, when the village seems to shut down. Rooms are spotless, clean towels always in a new form each day, from a ship to a monkey dangling on the curtains. Reasonable breakfat included, and if on an early morning boat trip, waiting for you on your return. Very knowledgable owner.

Room Tip: Quieter on the canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Casa Marbella. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. We did a early morning tour with the hotel and this was just perfect. Instead of a motorboat they have a boat with silent electric motor, so we saw more. Also the group is usually small, we were 8 persons. The breakfast afterwards was very good.
In the evening we sat at the riverside and had our beer or snacks there, like everyone else we bought it in the supermarkets in town.
We had a parterre room, very near the river. When the first boats at morning were coming in, we heard the waves and boats very good. So you should ask for a room at first floor.
We were happy with our room, but happier with the tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.