We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed with lovely views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Save Saved
You added Casa Marbella to your Saves list
Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Malmesbury
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Relaxed with lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The riverside location of this accommodation is second to none. The decking area is superb and a good place to sit with a cold beer and watch river life. The breakfast was one of the best we had in CR, fresh fruit, pancakes and maple syrup -no rice or beans in sight! Words can't really describe the feeling of tranquility you get here. The rooms are simple yet spotless, showers hot and perfectly adequate. Only slight negative is that when it rains in the night the noise is deafening on the corrugated roof over the side walkway, equally deafening the noise of coconuts or similar being brought down by the rain. We didn't get much sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    135
    33
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
207
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you want to see any wildlife at all, stay at one of the lodges beside the park, do not stay in the town. Between the speed boats, jet skis and music blaring at a volume so loud your teeth will rattle, there isn't any wildlife within a 5 mile radius of the town. We stayed at Casa Marbella - it's EXTREMELY basic; our room on the first floor had big windows with a sidewalk right outside, and everyone walking around to the deck could see into the room (so much for privacy). Our last night we stayed in a room on the second floor with only 1 small window and there was no air flow at all, we just baked. We spent an afternoon at Rana Roja (across the river from the town) and they were wonderful, reasonable rates and lots of wildlife. Next time we'll stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We loved every minute of our stay in Tortuguero and Casa Marbella. We liked staying in the town. Casa Marbella is well located, though nothing is very far. Our room was simple but comfortable. Breakfast was good. Daryl and his staff were very nice. Daryl was responsive to email in making the reservation. It's a great value.
There is not much in Tortuguero that is right on the river. Casa Marbella is. We loved sitting on the deck right on the river, for breakfast, sitting there while using the internet, watching the sunset, watching the boats go by and the children swim.
We enjoyed the early morning boat tour with Roberto.
As others have said there isn't much to do inTortuguero. We only stayed two nights and really weren't ready to leave. We almost stayed another day. Three days would be nice if you enjoy just hanging out. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Exxcellent location , Darryl very helpfull , morning excursion well organised however limited amount of fauna to see . Coffee at 6am was well appreciated. Room was clean . Altogether a reasonable price

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Casa Marbella. Location is great, right at the Tortuguero Lagoon. There is a private deck were you can sit back and relax. Host Daryl is very nice and helpful. We did the boat tour that he offers, with an electric silent motorboat, recommended! At departure he arranged the water taxi to Moín for us.
Breakfast is nice, with fresh fruits every day and either pancakes or toast and eggs.
Rooms are basic, light and clean, the only minus I can think of is that the beds are a bit hard. If you're willing to spend a bit more on the room: take the one upstairs with the waterside view.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our first venture out into the Costa Rican rainforest was all we were hoping for and much more - the simple but perfect hospitalty offered by Daryl, his family and staff, the magical peace and quiet of simply sitting on the riverside deck, watching the river flow by and listening to the birds and howler monkies, the roar of the surf on the outside of the barrier in the background, the serenity and excitement of an early morning boatride through the channels in the rain forest, experiencing it all in the total silence permitted by the boat's electric motor as Roberto pointed out one forest resident after the other - all experiences of a lifetime! Thank you Daryl for everything - the only thing we regret is following your advice and only staying 3 nights with you!

Room Tip: we loved the riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Casa Marbella. I think you would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay in Tortuguero. The rooms are simple and have all that you need - nice bathroom, comfy beds, fan. The room staff made the best towel sculptures we have ever seen which delighted our daughter. The breakfast is great and you can have it after returning from a 3 hour boat tour of the canals. We took this tour three times with a superb guide called Roberto. He was knowledgeable, patient, full of fun and created a lovely atmosphere (my favourite guide from our time in Costa Rica). The B&B has its own dock where you can sit and watch the world go by. Daryl is a great host and has created a wonderful business here. The electic motors that he introduced are wonderful. (Thank you Daryl and all your team for a great stay!)

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room facing the river - it seemed the best one to me! We really liked the cafe j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.