We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple and great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Save
You added Casa Marbella to your Saves list
Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“simple and great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Casa Marbella is situated right in the middle of the Tortuguero village. Rooms are simple but clean. Outdoor terrace right by the river is the best spot in the whole of Tortuguero for a good drink and relaxation. I didn't get to meet Daryl Loth who owns the place, but his help before booking and later when he was sending us forgotten accessories to San Jose was outstanding. Don't pay more then you need for tours and accomodation - Marbella is a great option for demanding but budget-conscious travellers. Cons - maybe a slightly more varied breakfast would be nice, but for the price we got more than we deserved, anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    137
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
212
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel was beautifully situated on the main canal and a quick walk to the beach. The room was cozy and quiet and breakfast was included and delicious. There is a morning canal ride the hotel offers that was amazing. We were lucky enough to see a lot of different animals, so much so that our "3 hour ride" was closer to 4 hours and ended with breakfast. Daryl also sent us to meet Ross, a guide who toured us through the area around Tortuguero Hill. It was one of the highlights of our trip and we learned so much. Tortuguero is exactly what you would expect a secluded wet forest village to be so if you are one of those "drive through" tourists it might not be the place for you. On the other hand if you enjoy spending hours outside and exploring the wildlife then it's perfect.

Room Tip: Make sure your bags get on your boat as there are other "resorty areas" by Tortuguero wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was the prettiest and cleanest place we stayed in our trip. The room was beautiful with private bathroom and the bed was confy and neat. The tour we took in the morning is absolutely recommended, they are the only place to offer a boat tour with electric motor so animals don't get scared with the sound of the boat approaching. They offer a really good breakfast and lend rubber boots to enter the reserve for a night tour or just the walk. You get what you paid for and more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location, it has an amazing water view and offers the best opportunity to leave and get on the island. The morning tour is absolutely recommended and staff is very friendly. When it comes to the rooms there is not much to say but having a good value for your money. The rooms with street view can get very warm, and if you don't like sleeping in a warm room it would be better to have one with water view on ground level as those rooms are being covered by a second floor and get less heat. Breakfast is included and although it's not special it certainly is typical.

Room Tip: Take a water side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Casa Marbella is a great bed and breakfast for Tortuguero- clean, good hearty breakfast, and great reasonably priced boat tours, although the showers could have been a bit warmer.

However, other than the wildlife boat tour and a 30 minute stroll around the national park, Tortuguero itself does not have much to offer. The locals are not friendly, the prices are extremely inflated for food, souvenirs, and tours. Don't bother speaking Spanish either- you will be bound to get more of a look of disgust rather than an encouraging smile. If you are planning on coming, don't stay more than a night, otherwise you will become just as weary of the locals as they are of the tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Casa Marbella is an excellent alternative to the expensive package tour. The atmosphere is relaxed and intimate. Our tour guides were amazing. Book a tour with Ross. His knowledge of the local ecosystem is encyclopedic and his presentation is compelling. Watching tiger herons from the riverside deck was a treat. Daryl is an excellent host, very helpful with lots of good advice and anecdotes. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The evenings were quiet and the early morning noise is just a necessary consequence of being able to be on the river at the best time for wildlife viewing.
For us, Casa Marbella best exemplifies what Tortuguero is all about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Casa marbella offers decent clean rooms with hot water in a clean bathroom. Breakfast is great. They offer free boots which are required in the park. Overall, the staff is friendly but the receptionist was not to helpfull suggesting us which walks we could do or where to watch wildlife.. Overall Tortuguero is not really the kind of place we liked as independant travellers with a passion for nature as everything is rather taillored and there are very few possibilities to avoid the crowds and explore on your own - but that is not related to casa marbella of course.
Casa marbella offers also a free canoe, but as they have only one you should be lucky that it is availale and not used by other guests. Most guests come also for the early morning boat tour. This tour was somewhat disappointing and really aimed for a more general public with little knowledge of the local nature -going out on yourself with the canoe will yield about the same observations. Where our guide especially recommended this tour for their silent boat, we noticed that many of the smaller guid companies actually use such silent boats and only the big lodges use noisy and crowded boats...
Overall a recommendation, but I doubt we would recomend the guided tour to independent naturalists...

Room Tip: Upstair rooms take more advantge of the cool night breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.