We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal, But Don't Stay Too Long” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Save
You added Casa Marbella to your Saves list
Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monrovia, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Deal, But Don't Stay Too Long”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Casa Marbella is a great bed and breakfast for Tortuguero- clean, good hearty breakfast, and great reasonably priced boat tours, although the showers could have been a bit warmer.

However, other than the wildlife boat tour and a 30 minute stroll around the national park, Tortuguero itself does not have much to offer. The locals are not friendly, the prices are extremely inflated for food, souvenirs, and tours. Don't bother speaking Spanish either- you will be bound to get more of a look of disgust rather than an encouraging smile. If you are planning on coming, don't stay more than a night, otherwise you will become just as weary of the locals as they are of the tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    147
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
69
230
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Casa Marbella is an excellent alternative to the expensive package tour. The atmosphere is relaxed and intimate. Our tour guides were amazing. Book a tour with Ross. His knowledge of the local ecosystem is encyclopedic and his presentation is compelling. Watching tiger herons from the riverside deck was a treat. Daryl is an excellent host, very helpful with lots of good advice and anecdotes. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The evenings were quiet and the early morning noise is just a necessary consequence of being able to be on the river at the best time for wildlife viewing.
For us, Casa Marbella best exemplifies what Tortuguero is all about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Casa marbella offers decent clean rooms with hot water in a clean bathroom. Breakfast is great. They offer free boots which are required in the park. Overall, the staff is friendly but the receptionist was not to helpfull suggesting us which walks we could do or where to watch wildlife.. Overall Tortuguero is not really the kind of place we liked as independant travellers with a passion for nature as everything is rather taillored and there are very few possibilities to avoid the crowds and explore on your own - but that is not related to casa marbella of course.
Casa marbella offers also a free canoe, but as they have only one you should be lucky that it is availale and not used by other guests. Most guests come also for the early morning boat tour. This tour was somewhat disappointing and really aimed for a more general public with little knowledge of the local nature -going out on yourself with the canoe will yield about the same observations. Where our guide especially recommended this tour for their silent boat, we noticed that many of the smaller guid companies actually use such silent boats and only the big lodges use noisy and crowded boats...
Overall a recommendation, but I doubt we would recomend the guided tour to independent naturalists...

Room Tip: Upstair rooms take more advantge of the cool night breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our group of 4 had 2 rooms - 1 standard ( small with twin beds and own separate bathroom), 1 deluxe ( double bed, sl more spacious and en-suite shower), for 3 nights.
Beautiful views from the breakfast terrace. Unfortunately, there is a plethora of n oise from 05.00 every morning - motor boats, their wash, staff sweeping the grounds and other guests rising for the early morning nature trips. there is also a noisy kids disco in the centre of the village that can be heard well into the evening.
Gina in reception pushes Miss Miriam's restaurant. Not sure why as it was the worst of the 4 we went to. The best we ate at was Wild Ginger, closely followed by Miss Junie's (also seems to have nice rooms in quiet location) and Buddha Cafe ( charming maitre d' and enormous pizzas, pasta or crepes).
BIG TIP - wrap your suitcases in bin bags for the boat from La Pavona. 2 of ours were literally dripping with river water when we arrived, though the man in the Jungle souvenir shop will point you to a very reasonably priced laundry lady if required.

Room Tip: Avoid riverside ones or take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful, from Daryl who answered every email faithfully to Roberto who led an awesome boat tour (so great that I decided to go again the next morning!). Roberto was knowledgeable and patient, sneaking up on the animals and letting us take lots of great pictures. The breakfast was standard (OJ, fruit plate, and whatever they're serving that day. No choice. My two days were scrambled eggs with toast the first day and pancakes the second). There are cheaper places to stay, but this place attracts the avid birders/photographers/nature lovers, not spring break/party types. Keep in mind that the budget hotels in Tortuguero do not take credit cards and there is no ATM on the island. Bring dollars or colónes. I would recommend Casa Marbella and would return there.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a good, basic hotel in Tortuguero. The rooms have comfortable beds and sparse furniture. It is very wet in Tortuguero, so the hotel has thoughtfully provided drying racks in the rooms. There is no shampoo but there is a bar of soap. Breakfast was plentiful, one morning they served fruit and pancakes and the other they served fruit and scrambled eggs with bread. We could walk to anywhere in Tortuguero in about 10 minutes from the hotel. When you get the boat to Tortuguero, the hotel is to the left of the port, next to the police station. It's hard to spot at night, so ask someone. People are really friendly and helpful.

The hotel is situated right on the river and we took advantage of the rainforest tour early one morning. We were in an open boat and it poured rain on us, but the tour came with sturdy rain ponchos and we didn't get wet. After that we saw iguanas, parrots, egrets, a caiman and herons. The highlight was seeing capuchin monkeys. They crossed the river right over our heads, launching from one tree to another, almost close enough to touch. It was a great moment.

But the reason you're in Tortuguero is the turtles, right? We were there too late for nesting season, but that meant we were there for the hatch season. We walked out on the beach at the recommended 4 in the afternoon and saw a few babies making their way to the sea! We were really pleased that we could see them. Then we had dinner at the Wild Ginger. On the way back we found at least 100 baby turtles attracted to the street light by the beach. We worked together to get them to the beach (someone had to stand in the water with a headlamp or they'd head right back to the street light). They all made it into the water and my boys felt like heroes! If you want to help the babies, go to the park with the animal statues and turn toward the beach at the parrot (or the big bottle). Go across to the street light. There should be turtles there every night until hatching season is over. I wish we could go ourselves!

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms on the ground floor and they were easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed a couple of night here.
The first room located on the ground were ok and the second one on the second floor was good. The both were superior.
The rooms are clean and the persons who run the place are cary.
The breakfeast is good and the view on the chanel is good.

Room Tip: Ask fot the superior room located upstairs if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.