We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Save
You added Casa Marbella to your Saves list
, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Casa Marbella is nice if you don't want to spend your entire budget in Tortuguero. Rooms are clean and spacious enough, though a bit humid and noisy if you choose to stay on streetside. For us no problem, because we like to wake up early (5:30). The shower is a little low when your tall, but for a few nights no problem. Breakfast is nice and the bakery next door & supermakt across the street are really good for supplements. Plenty of restaurants around for lunch&diner. November is just off season for spotting turtles laying eggs, but during the day you can watch the baby's running to the sea by yourself, it's only a 2 minute walk and so cute! We had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    158
    34
    6
    2
See reviews for
79
242
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I chose this B&B based on the reviews and the price. Most lodges in this area are all inclusive and quite expensive. We paid $65 per night for the Superior rooms - facing the river and $55 for an upstairs room with partial river view. Breakfast was included.

Darryl set us up with two tours while there - a morning canal boat cruise with Roberto where we saw sloths, all three kinds of monkeys, toucans, baby Caimans and lots and lots of birds. It was fantastic. Then we did the turtle tour with Gina that night. We saw a turtle laying her eggs and covering them up and then saw another turtle heading back to and going into the ocean. Both tours were $20 each.

There are only a couple of restaurants in the village but both were quite nice - Cafe Buddha for lunch and Wild Ginger for dinner.

This is a great value and I would recommend you stay here if you are on a budget in Tortuguero.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are well worth the extra $10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Casa Marbella 2 nights in March 2012 and we loved it! First, the hotel is very conveniently located, in the middle of the village of Tortuguero: 2-min walk to the pier, 5-min walk to the beach and to the park. A bakery and a grocery store are also very close. The hotel has a very nice deck on the river, perfect to enjoy the breakfast or just read a book. The room we stayed in was large, super clean, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast is very good. The staff is very helpful and can give you some advice about the restaurants in the area for instance. They can also give you boots to go walking in the park. We also booked a boat tour with the hotel and it was very interesting, the guide speaks english perfectly. In a nutshell, 2 perfect days in Tortuguero (in spite of the rain!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The folks who have posted such positive comments about Casa Marbella know what they're talking about. We stayed in the family room - two adults, two late teens - and had a terrific time. Daryl is tops. He went above and beyond in corresponding to make sure we had all the information we needed to get to Toruguero - which can be a little tricky - and to enjoy our stay. This was a late August trip. We did a night turtle tour (Do it!), a boat tour of the reserve (Do it!), our own "on foot" excursion of the reserve, meandered all over the town, took out one of the B&B's canoes... All sorts of monkeys, a sloth, birds and more birds... The view from the back deck is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Casa Marbella is a very nice place. Before we made our reservation, Casa Marbella provided a lot of relevant information related to getting there and things to do at place. The staff is very helpfull

The rooms have a good size and are clean. Nothing special, just good.

We have done two tours (wild life and turtle tour) with guide Roberto. He is a really fun tour guide with a lot of knowledge and personal attention.

We recommend Casa Marbella as the place to be at Tortuquero!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights at Casa Marbella and had a wonderfull time. Rooms were clean and pleasant. Breakfast was delicious. Staff was very friendly and the tours we booked through them were really interesting. We did a few nice walks along the beach, visited the national park (very wet, hire boots!), did a river tour in the electric boat of Casa Marbella, and of course a turtle tour. Daryl Loth is clearly and rightly proud of the organisational level of visiting the national park and especially the nightly turtle tour (an absolute must do).
The location in the middle of Tortuguero gives Casa Marbellla a very special atmosphere. Though in the centre of town it's quiet at night. Tortuguero has an 'un-Caribian', quite active atmosphere. We very much liked it.The terrace of Casa Marbella is overviewing the river and a wonderfull place to spent some relaxed moments. All in all we had a wonderfull time!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Really glad that I enquired about availability 10 days in advance. Casa Marbella is great, we had a huge spotless room with breakfast, hot water and wifi included, all for a great price. Daryl was so helpful when I made my booking, thanks for the wonderful stay! They organise a great boat tour - our guide was professional and hugely knowledgable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites
2.0 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
#6 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: , Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.