We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, good staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Save
You added Casa Marbella to your Saves list
Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Overveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place, good staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights at Casa Marbella and had a wonderfull time. Rooms were clean and pleasant. Breakfast was delicious. Staff was very friendly and the tours we booked through them were really interesting. We did a few nice walks along the beach, visited the national park (very wet, hire boots!), did a river tour in the electric boat of Casa Marbella, and of course a turtle tour. Daryl Loth is clearly and rightly proud of the organisational level of visiting the national park and especially the nightly turtle tour (an absolute must do).
The location in the middle of Tortuguero gives Casa Marbellla a very special atmosphere. Though in the centre of town it's quiet at night. Tortuguero has an 'un-Caribian', quite active atmosphere. We very much liked it.The terrace of Casa Marbella is overviewing the river and a wonderfull place to spent some relaxed moments. All in all we had a wonderfull time!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    137
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
212
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Really glad that I enquired about availability 10 days in advance. Casa Marbella is great, we had a huge spotless room with breakfast, hot water and wifi included, all for a great price. Daryl was so helpful when I made my booking, thanks for the wonderful stay! They organise a great boat tour - our guide was professional and hugely knowledgable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Did morning Casa Marbella tour with Daryl. AMAZING!!! He really knows his stuff. I´m a biologist and was absolutely blown away by this tour. He really cares and answered all my questions with a lot of detail. He even included detail on the colour of the monkeys scrota! Saw 3 types of monkey, river otter, awesome birds, river turtles, baby caiman, big caiman, iguanas, soooooo much. Boat really is awesome- very quiet and Daryl has a fab eye for the animals. Other boats from the big lodges were zooming past and making too much noise for some of the animals. Definitely do a tour with Daryl!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

When my family visited Tortuguero for the first time in June of 2012, we had no idea what to expect, but we certainly did not expect Casa Marbella to be as quaint and accomodating as it was.

Located right on the water in the heart of the town, Casa Marbella's is a very pleasant and accessible B&B. Although the rooms were somewhat small, the maid service kept them clean, and they always added a special touch by folding our towels into the shape of a swan or something cute. Breakfast is included, and it was very good as well - lots of fresh fruit and either pancakes or eggs and beans. The property has a low dock and a deck, both of which are great from lounging on and enjoying the tranquility of the water and the surrounding lush tropical rainforests. Only drawback could be that there's no A/C, but they have ceiling fans and floor fans - none of my family had any problem sleeping, but that's also because we were worn out by our daily excursions and delicious dinnners on the island.

Overall, great deal for the money. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family of 4, 2 adults and 2 teenage girls, stayed at Casa Marbella for 3 nights. It was perfect! Small, quaint, clean, great breakfast and fantastic view of the canal. Also, it is perfectly situated in the village. Across is a grocery, the best restuarants are so close too. For a small B&B, everyday when would came in from an excursion, our towels were is fun animal shapes - my girls loved this. Great on site guide. Great owner, Dayrl, was really helpful too. Love it and would definitly stay there again!

Room Tip: Don't worry about no A/C - we did not need it. There is a larger family suite that would have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here when we went to Tortuguero for 3 days. We stayed in the upstairs room and it was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was large and very clean. The breakfast was delicious. If you're looking for a snack later on, there is a bakery right next door which is fantastic (they also have great pizza which was delivered right to Daryl's dock as we were sitting there one evening!).

Daryl is a wonderful host and does whatever he can to help you or answer your questions. We wanted a better way to get back to civilization than taking the public transit and he arranged for a taxi to meet us at the dock on the other side.

I highly recommend taking the tour he offers early in the morning, Daryl is very knowledgable and provides a highly entertaining view of the Tortuguero river/rain forrest. I also have high praise for Daryl's friend who took us and another couple on a walking tour of the Tortuguero volcano. Be sure to ask Daryl about this extra tour.

Tortuguero is the place to go when you want to get away from it all, there is little to do at night so don't go there expecting night clubs and all-night parties. It's the perfect place to relax and Casa Marbella is a wonderful place to do that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My family of 8 stayed 2 nights at Casa Marbella. The hotel is basic, but provided everything we needed to experience Tortuguero. It's location with a dock on the canal provides an easy drop off when arriving from Pavona, as well as hours of enjoyment watching the boat traffic on the water with an imperial in hand. The tours offered by the hotel staff were very professional. We were able to see a number green turtles on the night tour and a variety of of wildlife during the early morning canal tour. The electric engine on the boat was perfect for a tranquil morning outing. The hotel's location in town was very convenient to restaurants, shopping and the national park. The locals were very friendly as we found everywhere we went in Costa Rica. The hotel also arranged our boat transport to Moin which was an enjoyable 4 hour ride through the canals with lots of wildlife to see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.