We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manatus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Manatus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tortuguero 705 40005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfort in the forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent 3 days here. Cabins are clean and neat. Outdoor shower amazing, had monkeys overhead in nearby trees. The grounds were alive with parrots, sloths, monkeys. An amazing experience.
Rey and Roberto our guides on the waterways were very knowledgable. Great guys. Had so much fun. Food was good, dining outside wonderful. Staff knew our names by end of 1st day and addressed us so. Everyone makes you feel welcomed.
If you want to experience the beauty of Tortuguero with some comforts this is the place to go.

Room Tip: We had room #6 which overlooked front of complex and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    41
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
98
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This place has everything. Pura Vida! Just to mention some of the things we really, really liked; the boat trips on, Tortuguerro Village, the Carribean ocean, the staff, the rooms, the wild life, the nature, the sloths,

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our first visit to Costa Rica and we arrived at the hotel after a long transfer.
Well, it was worth !!
Nice spacious rooms, very well equipped,a.c.,screens,etc...
Outside lush tropical gardens beatifully kept. The tours they offer is also worth the money, ours guide Rey was very helpful. The remoteness of the place and the pristine tropical forest made it an incredible experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCountryTwo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. We were picked up from Cano Blanco Pier in their boat and whisked up the river at breakneck speed - the transfer took about one hour thirty minutes. After a nice lunch, we went on the boat again across the river to Tortugero village.
We were hosted by our guide, Chito, who showed us the turtle beach behind the village.
Next morning, and afternoon, we went in an open boat with Chito (and Manfred) to search for birds and wildlife on the banks of the rivers and canals. We saw sloths, monkeys, river turtles and an amazing variety of birds. A fabulous day, made really special by Chito's comprehensive knowledge of the local wildlife, flora and fauna. He was measured and intelligent in the way he inter-acted with us, a true professional. Top man.
The food and service at the hotel were excellent, - the rooms were great, wi-fi, tv, air-conditioning, etc. and we had two four poster beds.
The whole experience was superb. Well done, Manatus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We try to visit Costa at least once a year and have been doing so for last five years, or so. We love the rainforest area around the little town of Tortuguero, at the Carribbean Sea. Very remote, very prestine, with wonderful air conditioned accomodations our favorite hotel, in that area, is the Manatus Hotel. Best of the best Great people, great dining (included), very friendly service, and a wonderful relaxing vacation. The Manatus and it's staff, and owner, Roberto, always deliver a great experience. We especially love traveling with the knowledgeable guides, on the included nearby canal boat tours, twice dayly, to spot the "wild life". Awesome for photographers. We'll be returning, again, next month. Even if you stay for one night (we stay five), the Manatus is a treasure not to be missed on your trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Was it the wonderful people (some of the nicest we've ever met)? The unbelievable experience of watching the turtles laying their eggs? Was it the howler monkeys outside the lodge? The tours of the waterways with close-up encounters of lizards, birds, more monkeys, fabulous flowers? The tropical beverages awaiting us as we debarked the boat?

This was one of the highlights of our amazing trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you love being in green places, with lush vegetation, nature hikes and total privacy this is your place. You also must love Biology and nature - as you are truly in the middle of a rain forest. It is a once in a lifetime treat and this is one of the only hotels in this area not touristy or with too many groups. You pay the price though as it is very expensive.

Really all you need is a night or two if it is part of your trip to Costa Rica. Once you go on the boat tour (ask for a special tour with Ray Brown - a local who has lived here his entire life and very passionate about the rain forest and natural medicine) a hike and enjoy the all-inclusive meals at Manatus, this is pretty much all there is to see in the area, unless you are scientist studying ecology.

The chocolate cake at Hotel Manatus and Garlic Red Snapper is a must on the menu at the hotel. Make sure to ask for Leo - very gentle soul and always at your service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Address: Tortuguero 705 40005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A room at Manatus Hotel begins with an extraordinary sense of peace and comfort. Your guest room is designed to inspire, its beauty connects you with the surrounding environment of a wildlife sanctuary and the water canals, while ensuring your comfort and convenience. Here at Manatus Hotel, the first class experience is the rule rather than the exception. We offer all the possibilities for family getaways, romantic escapades, vacations and wildlife adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero
Manatus Hotel Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.