We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pachira Lodge

Save Saved
You added Pachira Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pachira Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   across the main canal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Bottom line: An unforgettable experience, excellent guides, friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms and acceptable food. Free wifi in the main building but not in the rooms.

Giovanni our guide was second to none. We stayed for 1 night meaning we packed in as much as possible. We were picked up in San Jose on a very comfortable coach and driven through the Braulio Carrillo National Park with stunning views of the mountains and a stop to watch a banana plantation at work. After a stop for breakfast we headed to the boats which took us to the resort. There is no way to get there other than by the water which was so much fun, riding on the canal with the wind and water - we even stopped at several points to see some wildlife that Giovanni had spotted.

After we arrived at the resort and ate lunch we went on the tour of Tortuguero village, while not the highlight of the trip it was made interesting by Giovanni. As we were staying one day, we asked specifically if we could fit in canapé, and they arranged for the two of us to be picked up by boat and taken there. While not the bear knuckle experience you would get in other parts of the country it was certainly fun, made even more so by the two guys who took us up and through the jungle.

That evening we got to see the turtles! It was a strange experience initially as you are basically running through paths in the jungle to get to the area that the park guides have instructed your group to go. If you are very unfit or have bad asthma I'd recommend thinking twice. We had one woman in our group who struggled to keep up, despite Giovanni making stops for us to rest. After one false start (the turtles can be picky about where they lay their eggs), and waiting on the beach while the turtle made her nest (we fell asleep on the beach), we got to see her laying eggs. To say it was magical is an understatement. Especially as you aren't allowed any lights and are seeing everything by moonlight!

After we returned from the beach we expected to sit at the bar for a few drinks as we had been told it was open until midnight. The barman had decided to shut shop early and we caught him closing. We got a couple of beers though and sat facing the canal. It was so peaceful and the perfect end to the day.

In the morning you have a very early start (5am) which is ok as you get woken up by the howler monkeys anyway at 4:30. It is well worth getting up as it is for a canal wildlife tour. While we didn't see tons of wildlife there were some very special moments when we saw a family of monkeys leaping through the trees (my personal favourite) and some reptiles and birds. Just the experience of riding on a boat through the jungle was enough for me though.

After the tour we had breakfast and then on the boat to the coach to go back to San Jose.

My only grip with the place was the food which was perfectly acceptable but not excellent but the staff were super helpful and friendly. All in all i'd recommend this experience to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    239
    88
    23
    10
See reviews for
81
236
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Okay I have to start buy clarifying this review. Overall I thought this place was amazing. The staff was over the top great and our tours were included. Wow wow wow. The room was very nice and you really felt you were in the middle of nothing when you were in your room and for the most part you were. One issue I had with the hotel is that there was no AC but this was not the big issue.

Upon departure the hotel had our boat ride scheduled to take us to the Tortuguero airport at 5:00am. This is really early so we got up as late as we could and went to check out and BAM the really bad happened. They told us that only half the bill was paid and we needed to pay the balance. We had no option but to pay because if we had not we would not have gotten our flight. This was really bad service. We told them it was paid in full in advance. I was told buy one of the employees that if we did not pay the front desk employee would have to pay it. After leaving the resort we emailed our travel agent and she contacted them and they admitted it was an error and would credit the Visa. To date that refund has not happened.

Room Tip: I rate the value poor due to the credit card issue and also the sleep quality bad because it was 95f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you want the perfect and well planned vacation I recommend to you the Pachira Lodge at Tortuguero. The experience is magical, you are going to be surrounded by nature and wild life, what it makes it the perfect place to get distracted from everything. I recommend to take comfortable clothing and dark clothes if you want to see the turtles at night at the beach. This last activity is going to change your life forever!

Room Tip: All the rooms are noisy because of the howlling monekys. But it's good to choose a room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A great way to see Tortuguero and a very memorable stay. Jorge our guide was exceptional. Rooms functional but comfortable. The night-time guided visit to see the nesting turtles was incredible and unforgettable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Let me first start off by stating that Pachira Lodge ROCKS!!!
I contacted Pachira Lodge from their website, www.pachiralodge.com and got a response from Aldo that same evening regarding the rates for the 3 day 2 night stay we were interested in. Since we were a family of 5 (2 Adults and 3 young kids) I had asked him if he would be able to accommodate all of us in one room. Also confirmed that they would be able to put an extra bed in our room. That would be great. 50% payment was made by CC when booking the room and the rest would be charged when we checked out. I had another question for Aldo and that was whether he would be able to send a boat to pick us up since we were flying into Tortuguero on a private charter flight. He said a boat would be waiting for us when we arrived. As we landed into Tortuguero a guy from Pachira Lodge was waiting for us with the boat, he helped load our luggage into the boat. The trip from the airport to the Lodge is about 5-10 minutes. Just enjoy the jungle scenery, the birds, monkeys, etc....
As we docked and walked towards the reception we were greeted by Robert from Guest services and another associate who offered us a cool complementary fruit juice as a welcome. Robert had a roster with him that had a list of all the people checking in that day, found my name checked it and said, "I know you're a big family so we're going to give you 2 rooms, You get the second room complimentary on the Lodge!" WOW... Then he told us what time breakfast, lunch and dinner would be at. There was free wifi at the reception area too. and he also told us when our tours would be at. Oh yes, with the 3 day 2 night package you get 3 tours included. One tour is to the Tortuguero Village, the second tour is a 2 hour walking Jungle Tour. Be prepared to walk, they provide boots. And the third tour is the canal and jungle tour by boat. All these tours are part of the package that Aldo from Sales had arranged for us. Robert confirmed all these with us, Robert from guest services (at the reception) was great, very polite, helpful and always had a welcoming smile. You rock Robert!.. We walked to our rooms while some guys from the lodge helped with our luggage. The rooms were immaculate, really clean and smelled great. See My Pictures! For being in a jungle I was expecting far far less, but these guys amazed me in every step. One of our rooms had a king bed while the other room had 2 double beds, both had great showers with hot and cold water. Awesome. They were the monkey rooms. That reminds me, when we settled into our rooms we heard howler monkeys close by, so we stepped out on the front porch to see 3 howler monkeys up a few trees next to our rooms. Then a few minutes later a tucan flew by and sat in one of the trees for a few seconds, then flew off. Wow, what a welcome party!

The food is buffet style and all inclusive, its always fresh and has a wide variety of tastes. Tourists love this place. We met quite a few people from the US and a few from California. (Who would have thought that you would see someone from your state in the middle of a jungle, eh!)
The Lodge grounds are very safe at all times of day and night. You wake up in the morning to the sounds of birds and howler monkeys and at night can hear critters in the jungle. All the rooms have fans and the windows have screens. There are no glass windows. All the windows have metal bars with screens to keep the bugs out. All the rooms have safes that are free to use. We used our safe to keep our passports and $$$.

Now lets talk about the Tours: Giovani, Giovani, Giovani. He's the man! He was our english speaking tourguide for all three tours and he was a blast to hang out with. He entertained the adults and kids with his sense of humor and his knowledge of the jungle and the animals. We took a boat ride with Giovani to the Tortuguero Village. He talked about the village, its conservation plans, the turtles nesting grounds, the village school, importance of education and a ton of other things. Then we were free to venture our and explore the village on our own for an hour. The second tour Giovani took us through the Jungle, we all had boots provided to us by Pachira and we needed them. It had rained the night before and things can get pretty sticky in the jungle, there was a lot of mud to walk through, man I think I had my workout for the rest of the year. Loved the walkign tour though, Giovani showed us sone 1: bullet ants, talked about them, saw some lizards, some insects, monkeys, iguanas, some massive spiders and kept our eyes open for other animals. Do you know that there is such a thing as "Walking Trees"? Yes they are and we got to see them and touch them, you have to experience these trees yourself, they walk!
The third tour Giovani took us in a boat tour and we came across turtles in the water, massive iguanas, a caiman, spider monkeys, howler monkeys, some cool looking birds and more iguanas. On the way back a massive moth the size of my hand decided to hitch a ride on the engine of our boat. See the pictures. Giovani really made the tour really interesting.

Robert and Giovani were really fun to hang out with and made the whole jungle experience one to remember for me and my family. I would highly recommend Pachira Lodge to anyone travelling to Tortuguero. Aldo (from Sales), Robert (guest services) and Giovani (our Tour guide), You guys are awesome!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Remember that it is probably going to rain, and rain a lot so be prepared. Take an assortment of dry cloths because there are no dryers for what you are wearing. Now that I have told you the most important information let me tell you that Pachira Lodge is different and fun. One main lodge and a lot of rustic cabin style rooms all accessed through the thick jungle via wooden boardwalks. No window glass, no storage cupboards and no flushing your toilet paper. But it is clean. Lots of birds, turtles and monkeys and one evening we found a large python just to the side of our path.
All meals in the main lodge. Not a lot of choice, but the food is tasty enough. We had no complaints. The bar is situated outside by the canal and turned out to be a very social venue. They provide good music in the evenings and you will have an enjoyable time interacting with your fellow travelers. All the staff were great.
Make sure you take full advantage of the assorted boat tours offered and try to visit the small village of Torteguero which is situated on the ocean across the canal from the lodge.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the lodge. It was different and fun. I hope that your visit doesn't have rain, but rain or shine this region of Costa Rica is not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Pachira Lodge. The staff were great and the whole place was clean and comfortable. There was lots to see in the beautiful gardens and in the forest just outside it. They went out of their way to make my daughter's birthday special. The kayak tour and zip wires were great fun and the guides were very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pachira Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachira Lodge

Address: across the main canal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachira Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Pachira Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachira Hotel Tortuguero
Pachira Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pachira Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.