We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor sound proofing and lack of maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mawamba Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mawamba Lodge to your Saves list
Mawamba Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Tortuguero Canals, Tortuguero 10980-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“poor sound proofing and lack of maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have stayed in numerous lodges. But these lodges are a huts with 3 bedrooms so you have no sound proofing from the adjacent rooms therefore no privacy.
The rooms lack maintenance and the staff are off hand.
It is a pity the location is fantastic. The wild life is great we saw hatching of baby turtles going to the sea in December.... during the day .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    272
    83
    23
    19
See reviews for
126
315
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We loved this lodge, the wildlife amazing, friendly people, beautiful scenery and awesome Carribean beach. We went on a few boat trips into the canals which were full of wildlife. We did a very earlymorning 5.30 am boat trip but it wasn't necessary as we saw more inthe afternoon. Liquor is expensive but we bought our bottle of wine in town, much cheaper. Go now before more tourists discover it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Two night packages seem to be the norm here, but we stayed three and were glad we did. We never stayed in a place with a guide and group organization before. It was a little weird doing the activities and meals together but overall it was enjoyable. Our guide Anna Maria was a wonderful person, full of energy at all times of the day. The grounds were great to explore despite the nearly constant threat of rain. We had a standard room which was fine. No windows, just screens and shutters. No AC just a ceiling fan. But it put you right into the environment. We could hear the roar of the ocean out the back and the boats on the river out the front when there wasn't a downpour of rain, even the rain was amazing.
The meals were wonderful. We ate too much. The bar was great. The staff was outstanding. The nearby village of Tortuguero was very interesting. The trips on the boats were fun with loads to see.
This was are favorite place on our trip to CR.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are built as duplexes so if you want more privacy, you may want to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Tortuguero it's by it self a magical place, but not every hotel offers such a great service and delicious foods, also this hotel offers different tours with expert guides, you can also walk to the town located 15 min away or 5 min on boat. Great experience if you are looking forward to relax and enjoy the wonderful gifts from the nature!

Room Tip: Ask for Master or Jr rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and after a slightly hair raising boat journey in, found the resort to be nice and luxurious. The cabins were clean, spacious and very comfortable. The grounds are fantastic with loads of wildlife to spot and dedicated frog and butterfly houses. Pool is very nice and unlike some of the other resorts you can walk along the paths or beach to Tortuguero Town in about 20 mins. The bar is well stocked with cocktails and cold beers and there is a shop for any little souvenirs. A couple of disappointments firstly we were sold a 530am trip to see wildlife for $25 but later found out a free one was included in the late morning. Secondly whilst most of the food was amazing, we had fish for lunch ( very nice) it was clearly re-heated for dinner. Also some food nets for the fruit wouldn't go a miss as flies were a issue.

The guide we had both on the water and around the grounds was amazing and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excelent Place, it's really "a must" if you're visiting costa rica. I love it's front garden the river/canal and at it’s beach at the Caribbean Ocean. Its definately a paradise. The rooms are very confortable and the food menu is excelent!! I had the fortune of watching amazing animals during the tours, even the birth of around 200 baby turttles at the front beach!!!! thumbs up & five stars *****

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, België
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The only thing we regret about Mawamba is the fact that we only stayed for 2 nights.
The organisation and staff were excellent, our guide Ana Maria was wonderful and passionate.
All the good things you read about Mawamba are true, don't hesitate, this is truly a very nice place, just take an extra day to relax..

Room Tip: ask for the rooms at the end of the park, they are BIG and have an astonishing bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mawamba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawamba Lodge

Address: Tortuguero Canals, Tortuguero 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawamba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the lush rainforest of Tortuguero Canals, Costa Rica, Mawamba Lodge and Tortuguero National Park are worth visiting year round. What makes us different? *Unbeatable location on a strip of land between the Tortuguero Canals and the Caribbean Ocean, providing direct access to both * The closest Lodge to Tortuguero town within walking distance (no need to take boats to town) * Free WI FI in selected areas of the hotel * Complimentary safety deposit box in your room * Unlimited free visits to our MAWAMBA PARK: where we offer two butterfly gardens, one iguana and one frog garden. A guided visit is also included in our 3 day / 2 night package * Private nature trais for nature walks * Exciting optional tours including night walks in the forest, kayaking, fishing and the NEW! Katonga floating restaurant for sunset tours or dinners / lunches on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mawamba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawamba Lodge Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero
Mawamba Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mawamba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.