We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in paradise...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Lodge & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tortuga Lodge & Gardens to your Saves list
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Across from the airstrip | 1 mile north of the Town of Tortuguero, Tortuguero 6941, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing in paradise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having had an abundance of wildlife spotting's just on the boat journey to the lodge, we had a feeling that this place was going to be special. We underestimated just how special. The staff, from the warm welcome to the sad goodbye, were outstanding. Any question or request was met with a smile and the service was always impeccable. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable and was specifically designed to allow you to relax whilst soaking up the sounds of the surrounding environment. The view from the balcony was superb and was best enjoyed from the comfy hammock. After filling up on the excellent food and cocktails, you can relax by the pool or take advantage of the tours on offer. My wife and I went on the magical turtle tour and experienced the turtles nesting under a star lit sky. Amazing!!! You didn't have to go too far to get your wildlife fix though. There is so much to see just within the grounds of the hotel itself including large iguanas, tiger herons, howler monkeys, three types of toucan, blue jean frogs, the list goes on and on. Thank you for a wonderful stay and making the end of our holiday so special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Chris K,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Tortuga Lodge & Gardens.

We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. You're right, we do have an extraordinary group of people working at the lodge, and they thrive on delighting guests.

Reading your review I got the impression that you really connected with the ambiance of Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, and many of the things that we think make it so special. As a result I thought I would invite you to visit our sister lodge: Monteverde Lodge & Gardens.

If you do you can expect to find the same legendary hospitality, the same access to nature and the same level of professional, expert guiding that you remember from Tortuga Lodge and Gardens. The location however, could not be more different.

In Monteverde you trade the bright and vivid coastal rainforest for the cool climate of the high elevation cloud forest. The lodge is built to reflect this environment, equipped with a bar and restaurant with open fireplace, a naturally filtered 15 person Jacuzzi, and a garden designed to bring the plant life of the cloud forest right up to the lodge doorstep.

You can find Monteverde Lodge & Garden on Trip Advisor.

Thanks again for the review.

Sincerely,



Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfactions Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    45
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
134
204
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Tortuga lodge is definitely in a remote location. Be aware that it costs $5 each way to get to town if you leave tortuga lodge. Something to think about when they have set lunch meals of $24 and dinner is $29 (3 courses though). With that being said, Tortuga lodge is gorgeous and if you want to see animals, this is the place to come. There is a trail around the hotel property that is free and we saw howler monkeys, poison dart frogs, tons of huge iguanas and lots of toucans. We did many tours through tortuga like the boat tour (saw sloths, ant eater, spider monkeys, howlers, and caimons), did the private turtle nesting tour (saw 5 mothers is various stages of the egg laying process!), and did the turtle hatching tour (saw about 10 babies!!!). Our guides were very knowledgeable, patient and it helped that they could also speak English. My husband and I highly enjoyed all the tours- not only seeing the animals, but learning all about them too, something you can only get from having a guide. Tortuga lodge doesn't deserve 5 stars from just being in a lucky location though. They earned it from their helpful staff at the reception desk. My husband and I was traveling through Costa RIca with a tour and they told us to get to a certain town at a specific time but didnt organize transportation for us. Eduard (assistant manager) spent a lot of his time helping us figure out the best form of transportation to get to that town. He ended up booking a private taxi for us, haggling a price, making sure we were well taken care of. He was very patient and incredibly kind and I thank him and his team for making sure we had a nice time in tortuguero but also making sure we got to where we needed to be on time and safely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear katie c,

Thank you for your generous and descriptive review. It was great to read about all the animals you saw around the property.

I was thrilled to see that you enjoyed your guides. I wasn't however, too surprised. I don't know who specifically you toured with, but all of our guides are the best and most experienced in the area. We work only with experienced naturalists, all of whom have spent years in and know intimately the rainforests of Tortuguero. Watching them pick every type and size of animal out of the vibrant and thick Coastal Rainforest is something that never ceases to amaze me, or our guests.

If you're curious to learn more about the guide (or guides) you toured with, you can find all of their biographies under the "Your Guides" tab on the Tortuga Lodge’s website.

Thanks for your great review; we hope you come back and visit again.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days at the Tortuga Lodge and Gardens recently. I cant speak highly enough of all the staff. It started with my emails with Douglas arranging our trip, He was most helpful and never tired of any of my questions. Our pick up at our San Jose hotel was flawless, Abalardo (sorry if I get some of these names incorrect) warmly greeted and transported us to the airport. The staff at the resort were all so friendly and helpful as well, Juan our guide for a private turtle tour was wonderful as were Enrique, Ayala and the rest of the wait staff. And finally Eduardo the asst manager made sure things went smoothly for us. We cant speak highly enough of this resort....first class all the way. They made us feel welcome from our first minute until our last. Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear wader,

I was so glad to read that the staff were able to make you feel welcome, and that you were able to connect with so many of them, ranging from Doug and Abelardo (so close! we just call him Lalo) to Eduardo and his team at the Lodge. Our staff at Tortuga Lodge is an interesting mix of people from all different backgrounds. Some are transplants from San Jose and the populated Central Valley, many others were born and raised in Tortuguero.

I don’t know if it’s the out of the way nature of the lodge, or the tranquil nature of life on the Caribbean coast, but they have formed a tight group that feels more like family than coworkers. I love how that feeling can often get transferred to our guests.

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your review.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our family loved staying at the Tortuga Lodge. It is in a beautiful location and the rooms are very comfortable and clean with one side facing the river and the other the jungle. The screen only windows let us hear all the sounds of the area, especially the monkeys in the morning! The lodge provides all inclusive service and the food is wonderful. The excursions are very well done. We had a very informative boat trip on the river and saw a good deal of wildlife. We took part in the evening expedition to see the green sea turtles nesting on the beach, an amzing experience and so glad to see the precautions that go into protecting the habitats of these beautiful creatures. Everyone we encountered was extremely helpful and genuinely nice. We had a chance to take part in a short excursion to a local school to help teach English to the children, and it turns out that we learned a great deal from them!. This was one of my childrens favorite experiences of the trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in a balcony room and had a view of the river - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Susan M,

It made me very happy to read your review and see how much you enjoyed the different aspects of the lodge, including the wildlife, your excursions and our on site restaurant.

To avoid any confusion with someone considering a visit to Tortuga Lodge, I wanted to clarify that we do not provide all inclusive service. What we do offer is a meal plan that includes an a la carte breakfast, family style lunch and reduced a la carte dinner. This meal plan can be included ahead of time, or purchased upon your arrival at the hotel.

I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the turtle nesting expedition. Tortuguero has always been defined by the cycle of the sea turtles. At first that relationship was exploitative: there is evidence that native people visited Tortuguero during the 5 month nesting season to hunt turtles since way before Europeans arrived in the Western Hemisphere. And by the mid 1800’s there was thriving trade in turtle meat, oil and shells, much of which was exported to the United States and Europe.

Then in 1954 Dr. Archie Carr, a zoologist from the University of Florida, Gainesville arrived in Tortuguero to study sea turtles and the town was on its way to a big change.

In 1975 Dr. Carr and prominent Costa Rican conservationists convinced the Costa Rican Government to create Tortuguero National Park. The coming of the park deprived the towns’ inhabitants of their traditional sources of sustenance; turtles and cutting timber.

Beginning in the early 80’s attracted by the beauty of the park and its highly diverse and abundant wild-life vanguard travelers began to discover Tortuguero. Enchanted by what they found those early travelers spread the word. Now Tortuguero, still only accessible by boat or light air-craft, is a mecca for nature travelers.

Now the town recognizes the value in protecting the town's critical role in the turtles' life cycle. With the help of the Costa Rican National Park service a careful and well structured system for sharing the nesting experience with visitors. I am thrilled you enjoyed it.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time at the tortuga lodge - the staff is amazing & very friendly - always doing the best to make you happy. Our guide Norton was also very nice and very knowledgeable - we had great fun on every tour we took with him. The rooms are very nice and very unique - as there are only nets on the windows you can hear the entire jungle at night - really incredible! The food was also great! And for last - the turtle nesting tour which we took with Angelo was simply amazing - if you made the effort to get to tortuguero don't miss this tour!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Tzooki,

Thank you for taking the time to review Tortuga Lodge & Gardens. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and the service of your naturalist guide Norton.

You may already know this, Norton Sinclair, better known as “Putut,” was born on March 10, 1964, in Rio Maíz, Nicaragua. At the age of 9 he and his family walked from Nicaragua to Costa Rica in search of a safer place to live. Norton began working as a guide in 2005, of his life before guiding he says:

“I'm sometimes ashamed to admit that I contributed to destroying the forests and worked at a plywood factory,” says Norton, “but at least I learned and am now dedicated to conservation. There are people that still hunt and cut down forests in this region today. They have still not understood the damage that is caused.”

We hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Costa Rica in the not too distant future, knowing Norton as I do I’m sure that he would be very happy to see you again!

Sincerely,

Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Tortuga Lodge - extremely comfortable rooms, excellent food, a wonderful staff and excellent activities. Norton and Fernando were excellent guides, and the wildlife we saw with them was extraordinary. We also enjoyed the Words Adventure Program. We would highly recommend a visit to this area of Costa Rica - a bit off the beaten path but well worth it, and a stay at the Tortuga Lodge a definite must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

An experience unlike any other. Chased howler monkeys in the rain forest, hired a local villager who took us out in his dug out canoe through the rivers at moonlight looking for crocodiles and boas. Saw amazing wildlife like the "Jesus Christ" lizard (walks on water!), poison arrow dart frog, amazingly beautiful exotic birds, spiders bigger than my hand. Turtles on the beach. If you are in Costa Rica you should schedule at least a couple days in Torteguero. And Tortuga Lodge is the best one in that locale.

Room Tip: You might want to ask which rooms the monkey's don't howl in front of if you don't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Ron Y,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.

Your description of what you experienced at Tortuga Lodge made me smile. You mentioned that you enjoyed the abundant wildlife and I thought it would be worth describing the area that you had the opportunity to observe during your boat rides through the creeks of Tortuguero National Park.

Tortuguero National Park was originally intended to protect a major nesting beach of the Atlantic Green Sea Turtle, the Park now protects 51,870 acres, one of the last large areas of tropical rainforest in Central America.

Eleven habitats are found in the park. Three species of monkeys (Spider, Howler, and White-faced), Three-toed Sloths, and river otter are frequently seen along the natural inland waterways and canals. Caiman, iguanas, river turtles, Basilisk Lizards, and Poison Dart Frogs (Dendrobates) inhabit the area, along with more than 320 species of birds including all six species of kingfishers found in the new world, three species of toucans, eight species of parrots, and other neotropical species such as the Slaty-tailed Trogon, White-collared Manakin and Purple-throated Fruitcrow.

One of the really great things about the park is that you have access to these wildlife sightings from motorized boats or sit on top kayaks. This makes it particularly easy to explore.

Please come and see us again!

Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Lodge & Gardens

Address: Across from the airstrip | 1 mile north of the Town of Tortuguero, Tortuguero 6941, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tortuga Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by Costa Rica Expeditions, Tortuga Lodge & Gardens sits on 146 acres of private land on Costa Rica’s northeast Caribbean coast. The lodge is designed to blend into the river and the rainforest. The open air restaurant, the naturally purified pool and the hammocks draped throughout the grounds all meld smoothly into the water flowing endlessly past. So smoothly that it will quickly become difficult to imagine one without the other. The lodge has 12 River View Downstairs Terrace Rooms, 12 Upstairs River View Balcony Rooms, 2 River View Downstairs Junior Suites (with connecting door available) and 1 River View Upstairs Penthouse Suite. Outside all rooms have a front porch sitting area and a hammock. Lie in your hammock in front of your room and close your eyes to listen, you will hear life going on in the forest. Inside all rooms have a private shower with hot water, a ceiling fan, in-room safe, alarm clock, free wireless internet, hair dryer, two in-room wicker chairs and a small table. Tortuguero can only be accessed by boat or by domestic or charter plane. Tortuga Lodge offers complete packages including round trip transportation, lodging, meals and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tortuga Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens Hotel Tortuguero
Tortuga Lodge And Gardens
Tortuga Hotel Tortuguero
Tortuga Hotel Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.