We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly soda with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Dona Maria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Soda Dona Maria
Main street, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 restaurants in Tortuguero
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Description: Great food place in Tortuguero. Serves a few variations of the typical casado with your choice of meat.
Restaurant details
Description: Great food place in Tortuguero. Serves a few variations of the typical casado with your choice of meat.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly soda with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Dona Maria took care of all our needs, made sure the fan was hitting our table. Brought us drinks quickly and made some very good fried chicken. Great spot to have lunch out of the sun and crowds. I'd go back anytime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    5
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice budget restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good family run restaurant with tasty Costa Rican fare for good price. The Casado was delicious and filling - rice, bean, chips, chicken and very good seasoned salad for about 5$. The soda can be found just stone throw from public harbour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I try not to eat carbs which makes it difficult to enjoy typical meals in Costa Rica. I think I would have enjoyed it more with the rice and beans. I only had chicken and salad as she didn't have vegetables at the time so it was a good meal but not exciting but that was my fault. She did give me a much larger salad when she learned that I didn't want the rice and beans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibbenbueren, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good meals, low priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

the family-run soda is near the canal and clean. the meals are low priced and excellent. try the casado in different option.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

food tasty and well prepared, location cosy and staff freindly

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Dona Maria also viewed

Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 

Been to Soda Dona Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Dona Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.