We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality at a budget price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Quichotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel Don Quichotte
Save Saved
You added Hotel Don Quichotte to your Saves list
50 metres de la Mer, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Hautes Pyrenees
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Quality at a budget price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

With no hotels in Tortuguero the choice lies between upmarket lodges and B&B's/Inns/
Calling Don Quichotte is the only misnomer. With only 4 rooms it is however a real bonus to offer guests a 10 metre pool with a more than adequate depth for swimming. It is I think the only property in the village with a pool, with rip currents making swimming in the ocean highly dangerous it provides a valuable feature.
Although not the luxury of a lodge the rooms are simply furnished and immaculately clean. The bathrooms have a large tiled shower unit with new washbasin and sanitary fittings. The overhead ceiling fan more than compensates for the absence of aircon, indeed in January we did not even need the fan. The windows have flyscreens but at no time did we notice any winged pests. A fridge is provided with drinks available on a 'use and replace' basis, i.e highly cost effective in comparison to usual mini bar prices
It is only a very short walk to the village centre with the choice of eating places and supermarkets, with the lodges one has to rely on their motorised boats to leave their restricted enclaves
In the village there are no motorised vehicles or bikes allowed, so no harassment for pedestrians.
Gilles provided some welcome touches with cold drinks on arrival and on the morning of our departure.
At a cost of $40 per night rarely have we had such absolute value for money, a really enjoyable stay... just wish the dogs on our first night could have been a little quieter, but a problem in any village!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you want to avoid the all-inclusive lodges, this place is a good alternative. Simple room + bathroom, hammock, pool, close to the ocean, inexpensive. Couple notes - the owner speaks okay english, not great but you can get by. If you arrive by plane, there are no water taxis available so you want to try and plan to have one available ahead of time (I was lucky the lodge was picking up others on my flight and called a taxi). There are no ATMs on the island so try and get money out ahead of time. There is a place you can use your credit card to get cash back but they charge something like 10%. The only thing about the hotel that I didn't like was that the showers were never really warm (but I was showering in the evening).

I went early December and saw turtles hatching. Very cool. It's also easy to secure tours in the town. The hotel works with Bonnie, who is great and speaks very good english. Also, I went by myself (female, early 30s) and I speak the spanish equivalent of probably a 1st grader and I was able to get by just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Don Quichotte...perfect location to stay in Tortuguero. New and really lovely rooms with quite a big and bright bathroom. It is really quiet and ... one of the best things, except of the full fridge with cold drinks when you arrive,... is the really big pool... perfect to jump in at night...and day.
The people are really friendly and you can really enjoy yourself.
It is close to the beach and there are many restaurants and so on around.
One of the best bungalow we had!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Don Quichotte is a very small hotel, with only 3 rooms, very simple, but well located inside the Tortuguero village. Hotel offers no breakfast, but this is not a problem, there are a couple of nice places in the village whre you can have it even very early in the morning. The great thing is that Gilbert, who takes care of the hotel, knows all the best guides of the village, with each one specialty: turtles, canoe on the channels of the park, 'frogs hunting at night', ... . The only negative comment I would make is that the pool is not very clean. But at the end of the day, the only thing which matters is to have good guides as you are all the time outside. Definitely a place I recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

For all those who're seeking for a sweety and quiet place in Tortuguero. Close to the sea, bungalows with all comodities (Hot Water, WIFI, swimming pool...) and nice owners speaking English, Spanish and French.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

If you chose to stay in the town of Tortuguero, you know already decided not to stay in the fancy lodges just outside of Tortuguero.
If you still want very clean rooms, a nice size pool and friendly owners, this is the place to go!!!

We enjoyed it a lot!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Quichotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Quichotte

Address: 50 metres de la Mer, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Quichotte Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Quichotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;