We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rana Roja Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rana Roja Lodge to your Saves list
Rana Roja Lodge
Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent surprise in the middle of the rainforest. Simple and clean accomodations where you can fall asleep listening to all the nature sounds (cabins have no glass windows, only nets). In lodge area you can find lots of monkeys, sloths and the "rana roja". That said, if you are not into nature, maybe not your kind of place. You need to take a taxi boat to Tortuguero village (3 min).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for four nights/three days in January.
It started excellently with a chilled watermelon drink and warm welcome from Daniel on arrival.

I can echo what everyone has said about the location and wildlife in the grounds - lots of monkeys, including howlers on the roof and capuchins on the walkways, toucans in the trees, hummers, trogans, a red-eyed tree frog etc.Fabulous. Yes a lovely pool too.

We also had a great day taking a couple of the hotel kayaks up the river to San Francisco and would have used them more had we stayed longer. We did not use other tours booked from the hotel so cannot comment on these.

The cabins are very nice and the only bug we found inside was a huge ant. No mossies. Luckily the song of the jungle blocked out some of the noise from the bar, but room 32 is very close to the amenities and because of the mesh windows, you can basically hear everything. On our last night is was if the band was in the bedroom and in the mornings noise from the kitchen (pots)and dining room (scraping chairs) was loud too. Luckily the howlers drowned it out most of the time. If you get to choose I think I eyed up cabin 35 as being the most desirably located in terms of peace (from human noises!)

I would say the service was very patchy. There was a day when our room was not cleaned - which could happen anywhere. What really grated was the attitude of the cleaner who was very rude and utterly denied it when we told the manager. Mistakes happen, but rudeness is not a great thing in a hotel. The managers, Chris in particular and Daniel were couteous and helpful (particularly in drying our stinky wet shoes and clothes after a rainy rainforest trip) as was Miguel at the bar. However the level of staffing is low. We had a key problem one night and basically by 7.30pm Miguel and the night watchman appeared to be the only staff on site.

We had dinner the first night and were very disappointed - how they justify US$15 per head for spaghetti you serve yourself I do not know. The dining room has no atmosphere and with prompt service swapping our dinner plates for pudding - a small inedible cake - dinner was over in a scant 15 minutes. Maybe we weren't helped by two of us being seated at a round table for 6-8 beside the kitchen area (Fluorescent lights) and buffet. Nevertheless apart from breakfast (which was fine) we did not eat there again. Even with the water taxi fare (US$3 per person each way so US$12) we could have a couple of beers and a delicious meal in the village for less than the US$30 two hotel dinners would cost (plus US$4 for each beer at the pool bar...). It is a shame the food and drink feels like a rip off - we had much much better food in roadside cafes! Unremarkable food is acceptable if the price matches but it didn't. If they could get this balance right it would be a so much nicer place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 32 is right next to the pool bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loess Hills
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Who’d have guessed that such a nice place could be found just off the river? The cabins and rooms are typically situated in the forest and accessed via slightly elevated walkways. Overlook any loose towel racks. Be pleased with hot water, showers, and flush toilets. For those who find nature dull, there’s a swimming pool and wi-fi. For the more fortunate, observant guests can find strawberry poison dart frogs, toucans, trogons, and white-faced capuchins nearly outside their doors. Furthermore, access to more of the natural history of Tortuguero is just a short boat ride away.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you want the unique experience this is the place. Well designed to fit into the rainforest not to blur the surroundings. At night you can sit in your cabin and feel nature all around you . The sounds of the frogs, the howler monkeys, the birds as well as other creatures will heighten the spirit. If you are into creature comforts this is not your place.However if you want to feel close to God or Mother Earth go here. The staff is very helpful and the food is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel was in a fantastic location. Nestled in the forest, surrounded by wildlife. We heard the howler monkeys all day.
The hotel offers fantastic service, by the family that runs the lodge. The meals were great, wonderful costa divan dishes..
One suggestion, more towels. There were no hand or face towels provided.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Rana Roja and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is included and features typical Tico dishes. They even waited for us one morning when we had gone out on a canal tour and were back later than everyone else. We chose to eat lunch and dinner there too and enjoyed the food. The lodge is not located in Tortuguero, but is a 5 minute boat ride away from the village. For us this was preferable as the cabins are located in the jungle so you do get to hear and see wildlife from your terrace. There is a great swimming pool adjacent to the restaurant - it is a lovely place to hange out when relaxing after a tour. There is also a bar where drinks seem a little pricey, but it's nice feature to have. You can book tours at the lodge or choose to do your own with other companies. There are also kayaks that you can use for free if you want to paddle around the canals.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed only 1 night at Rana Roja but enjoyed it a lot. The hotel is not situated in the village of Tortuguero itself, but it is a 5-minute boat ride (with boat taxis).

The very positive points are that the bungalows are located right in the middle of the "jungle" with large glass windows that make you see all the nature surrounding you when you are inside. We could hear monos (monkeys!) and all the birds, frogs and wild animals that you find in Costa Rica. It was actually the wildest environment and lodge of our 2-week trip in Costa Rica.

Moreover, the staff was very helpful and nice, they helped us book our evening tour to see the turtles (the main attraction in Tortuguero), and the canoe tour in the canals the next morning, but you can also do it yourself in the village of Tortuguero and it will probably be a little less expensive. But that saved us some time, and we enjoyed having it taken care of for us.

There is also a very nice pool that you definitely appreciate when it is so hot out there ! And we were very much pleased likewise with the breakfast buffet after our canoe tour in the canals (beautiful!) : a typical "Tico" breakfast with fresh fruit, eggs, pinto gallo etc.

We stayed there in August, so not during the high season, and enjoyed it even more since there were not so many tourists at the hotel, which is quite big (there are actually 2 hotels right next to each other that share the same pool). So it you like small places, like B&B, you will perhaps be a bit disppointed, but even if it is a hotel, I'd like to stress that is looks like a family hotel, with a friendly atmosphere and great service, for not such a high price (75$ for one night). The staff does everything to make you feel comfortable so that you enjoy your stay there. Rana Roja definitely worked for us !

We're now back in France, already missing the jungle and wildlife, but we hope to go back to Costa Rica one day and if we return to Tortuguero, we won't hesitate to stay again at Rana Roja Lodge (which means: the red frog !)

Isabelle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rana Roja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rana Roja Lodge

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rana Roja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rana Roja Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rana Roja Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.