We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona

Save Saved
You added La Casona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casona
Costado norte de la plaza de deportes | Tortuguero Centro, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

La Casona is a very good place for family. All the staff was very friendly an helpful. We took the package with tours included and it was more than what we expected. The location is next to the beach and the food was great. We highly recommended this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We knew we wanted to go to Tortuguero but had a hard time finding information about places there and I feel so lucky to have found La Casona. Sara and her family were so hospitable. We booked a package with her that included all of our meals, a canoe tour, a night walk and a forest hike. It was the best deal we had in Costa. The food was awesome and after our tour in the pouring rain they even offered to dry our clothes for us. The rooms were basic but clean and they bent over backwards for any request that we had. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay at La Casona and stayed longer than expected. Sara, her mother and the staff are sooo friendly and helpful! The room was good, and it came with a hot shower! The location is perfect: close to the center and the boats and a short walk from the ocean! Only down thing is the wifi not working very well...
We also ate two times at the restaurant, and the food is tasty!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have reserve one cabin for me and my husbend by email, Mrs. Sara confirmed it and she wanted two days before arriving another confirmation by email. So, I did it, she answered that everythink is ok. And then, when we arrived there was no reservation on the reception and receptionist was very annoying. Fortnunately there is plenty of other hotels, so we haven't any trouble. But still, it is very strange behavior.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hostel was included in our tour to Tortuguero. We liked the place as it is located very central, close to the beach and the city. The rooms were basic but nice with hammocks in front of the rooms. The service depended very much on the persons in charge. The first day it was excellent, we were well informed about all the activities and enjoyed also the nice restaurant. Unfortunately the second day there was another lady in charge who was not really interested in taking care of the guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room we had was very basic, but large, with a bathroom and hot shower... as if you really need it it Tortuguero! They cleaned the room daily, even if with a little encouragement. And there is a communal space that people can use when the restaurant is closed (herratic hours!).
The best thing about this place is the turtle tour, we really enjoyed it and saw a lot!
What we didn't like was that it could be very noisy at times, in the evening, due to the restaurant. And that's not ideal when you have a tour at 6.00 a.m.!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is very central and the rooms are basic and quiet. There were nice hammocks outside. However, there wasn't air conditioning which didn't help with mosquitoes. At the same time, the room was not spot cleanned.
Regarding the service, we felt it would depend on the person at the front desk. There was a nice blond lady who would be very caring and professional, however, there was another brunette lady who would be sharp and not very friendly.

The best thing of this hotel: the turtle tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona

Address: Costado norte de la plaza de deportes | Tortuguero Centro, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Hotel Tortuguero
La Casona Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.