We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice views and friendly owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Miriam 2

Miss Miriam 2
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Miss Miriam 2 to your Saves list
Miss Miriam 2
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tortuguero, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
“nice views and friendly owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and thought it was very good value at a low price.
We had a room on the top floor with private bathroom (hot electric shower). The building is a little aged but then so is all of the town and that is its relaxed Carribean charm. There was a lovely balcony overlooking the nearby beach and sea which was lovely to relax. There was no kitchen but we were allowed to use the fridge. Wi-fi was usually very good.
The owner (one of Miriams daughters) was so lovely and was constantly asking how my wife was feeling (hurt her eye) and organised a great price on a water taxi to get us to a hospital and allowed us to use her phone numerous times. They also got up at 5am in the morning to transport our bags to the dock for free.
I really wish we could have stayed longer as I loved the relaxed vibe of the town (sunset over the river is amazing) and this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We looked at a number of hotels before we decided on Miss Miriam 2, which was one of the nicer hotels we saw. Accommodations are very basic and rustic. The room had one double bed and two single beds, and there was a bathroom. This is simply a place to sleep, nothing else! So manage your expectations...

We had trouble overnight with being eaten alive by mosquitoes, so bring your bug spray!

We paid $35/night, so it was decent for its price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nice terrace with ocean view
Poor rooms:
-- wall of our rooms where painted in dark green: you cannot spot and hunt mosquitos and the atmosphere is "dark", but other rooms have other colours
-No room service although the toilet paper is not supposed to be flushed in the toilet and although sand everywhere.
- Dust bin only in the toilet
-No table, no chair, no wardrobe
- climatisation was leaking so I found my bag in a lot of water the next morning
My outdoor sandals were stolen from in front of the room although the hotel has a a night watch
You can't get to the breakfast room during rain without getting wet
There is a fridge on the terrasse where you can store your food for free
I was allowed to use the hotel phone for free
Breakfast was mediocre
free rubber boots, but one of my boots had a hole

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My kids (6,10,12) and I stayed at this hotel. The price was good ($40), the room was very clean, we had free WiFi (spotty at times), our room had a bathroom and the hotel was located just a short walk to the beach. The owner was friendly and available. He even helped us get our bags to and from the "town dock". My only advice to anyone going is to get a room on the second floor. We, like another reviewer, also found a couple of big roaches in our room but they didn't live in the room, they were slipping in under the door at night. Also, the room next to us had mildew all along the bottom of the walls- again, a result of being on the bottom floor, where things are damper. Finally- despite the fan in our room, it was pretty warm at night- no breeze on this floor. Overall, it was a good value- I think had we been on another floor I would have definitely rated it higher.

Room Tip: request a room on the second floor and maybe splurge on a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Decent value rooms, hot water and free wifi. Good location near the beach and only a few minutes walk to the village. Breakfast is not included but for $5 you get a big fruit plate and eggs and bread. Bring rain gear as it can be very rainy in Tortuguero

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is simple, but right beside a nice beach. The owners are very layed back, lovely people who will make sure you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

just before going for dinner, I sprayed mosquitoe spray all around the room. one hour later on my return the room was COVERED in dead giant coackroaches!!!
basic rooms, you can see the sea a bit from some rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miss Miriam 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Miriam 2

Address: Tortuguero, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Miss Miriam 2 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Miss Miriam 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Miriam 2 Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Miriam 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.