We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for the area, nothing great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Miriam 2

Miss Miriam 2
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Miss Miriam 2 to your Saves list
Miss Miriam 2
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tortuguero, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average for the area, nothing great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We looked at a number of hotels before we decided on Miss Miriam 2, which was one of the nicer hotels we saw. Accommodations are very basic and rustic. The room had one double bed and two single beds, and there was a bathroom. This is simply a place to sleep, nothing else! So manage your expectations...

We had trouble overnight with being eaten alive by mosquitoes, so bring your bug spray!

We paid $35/night, so it was decent for its price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nice terrace with ocean view
Poor rooms:
-- wall of our rooms where painted in dark green: you cannot spot and hunt mosquitos and the atmosphere is "dark", but other rooms have other colours
-No room service although the toilet paper is not supposed to be flushed in the toilet and although sand everywhere.
- Dust bin only in the toilet
-No table, no chair, no wardrobe
- climatisation was leaking so I found my bag in a lot of water the next morning
My outdoor sandals were stolen from in front of the room although the hotel has a a night watch
You can't get to the breakfast room during rain without getting wet
There is a fridge on the terrasse where you can store your food for free
I was allowed to use the hotel phone for free
Breakfast was mediocre
free rubber boots, but one of my boots had a hole

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My kids (6,10,12) and I stayed at this hotel. The price was good ($40), the room was very clean, we had free WiFi (spotty at times), our room had a bathroom and the hotel was located just a short walk to the beach. The owner was friendly and available. He even helped us get our bags to and from the "town dock". My only advice to anyone going is to get a room on the second floor. We, like another reviewer, also found a couple of big roaches in our room but they didn't live in the room, they were slipping in under the door at night. Also, the room next to us had mildew all along the bottom of the walls- again, a result of being on the bottom floor, where things are damper. Finally- despite the fan in our room, it was pretty warm at night- no breeze on this floor. Overall, it was a good value- I think had we been on another floor I would have definitely rated it higher.

Room Tip: request a room on the second floor and maybe splurge on a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Decent value rooms, hot water and free wifi. Good location near the beach and only a few minutes walk to the village. Breakfast is not included but for $5 you get a big fruit plate and eggs and bread. Bring rain gear as it can be very rainy in Tortuguero

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is simple, but right beside a nice beach. The owners are very layed back, lovely people who will make sure you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

just before going for dinner, I sprayed mosquitoe spray all around the room. one hour later on my return the room was COVERED in dead giant coackroaches!!!
basic rooms, you can see the sea a bit from some rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Miss Miriam 2 is a comfortable place to stay. I had a room on the second floor with a private bathroom and fan for $20 per night. There's also wireless throughout the hostal and nice common areas. It gets really hot during the day to be on the beach but they have a nice deck that has a cool breeze and nice views of the beach.

The location is great, only about 20 meters from the beach and close to the main street where you can find restaurants.

Mauricio, the owner, was also very friendly and allowed me to bring my puppy along.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Miss Miriam 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Miriam 2

Address: Tortuguero, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Miss Miriam 2 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Miss Miriam 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Miriam 2 Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Miriam 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.