We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room on the second floor!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Miriam 2

Save Saved
You added Miss Miriam 2 to your Saves list
Miss Miriam 2
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miss Miriam 2
Tortuguero, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Tortuguero
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get a room on the second floor!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My kids (6,10,12) and I stayed at this hotel. The price was good ($40), the room was very clean, we had free WiFi (spotty at times), our room had a bathroom and the hotel was located just a short walk to the beach. The owner was friendly and available. He even helped us get our bags to and from the "town dock". My only advice to anyone going is to get a room on the second floor. We, like another reviewer, also found a couple of big roaches in our room but they didn't live in the room, they were slipping in under the door at night. Also, the room next to us had mildew all along the bottom of the walls- again, a result of being on the bottom floor, where things are damper. Finally- despite the fan in our room, it was pretty warm at night- no breeze on this floor. Overall, it was a good value- I think had we been on another floor I would have definitely rated it higher.

Room Tip: request a room on the second floor and maybe splurge on a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Decent value rooms, hot water and free wifi. Good location near the beach and only a few minutes walk to the village. Breakfast is not included but for $5 you get a big fruit plate and eggs and bread. Bring rain gear as it can be very rainy in Tortuguero

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is simple, but right beside a nice beach. The owners are very layed back, lovely people who will make sure you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

just before going for dinner, I sprayed mosquitoe spray all around the room. one hour later on my return the room was COVERED in dead giant coackroaches!!!
basic rooms, you can see the sea a bit from some rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Miss Miriam 2 is a comfortable place to stay. I had a room on the second floor with a private bathroom and fan for $20 per night. There's also wireless throughout the hostal and nice common areas. It gets really hot during the day to be on the beach but they have a nice deck that has a cool breeze and nice views of the beach.

The location is great, only about 20 meters from the beach and close to the main street where you can find restaurants.

Mauricio, the owner, was also very friendly and allowed me to bring my puppy along.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

Miss Miriam 2 is a nice place to stay in Tortuguero. Nice room with fan and bathroom, location near the beach.
I can recommend this place for a good night sleep.

We had dinner at the sister place called Miss Miriam (by the soccer field) which didn't show any prices on the menu. We were very surprised because we ended up paying 6500 colones (about 13 dollars) for a rice and vegetables meal... The most expensive dinner we had in our one month CA trip! So I cannot recommend that place...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Tortuguero is a lovely little pueblo on the Caribbean coat of Costa Rica. We ate at Miss Miriam 1 (I highly recommend the Caribbean Chicken!) and asked where we could use the Internet. She mentioned her sisters place had free wifi and so the next day we moved in. We took room 8, which has private bath, balcony and sea views $20. It really was a realy cool place. The owners are very friendly and helpful and will do your laundry for you included in the price. They should have a restaurant and lounge/bar area on sight in the next few weeks but until there are the hammocks out the front. We saw a 6ft leatherback turtle nesting while we were there on a Turtle tour one night. Awesome place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miss Miriam 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Miriam 2

Address: Tortuguero, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Miss Miriam 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Miriam 2 Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Miriam 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.