We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites to your Saves list
Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites
South side of the soccer field, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We've stayed at Aracari Gardens for one night and were very happy with their service. The owner and his wife went out of their way to provide us with help and tips for having a good time in Tortuguero. They arranged the Night and Canoe tours for us, which were amazing. The property is very relaxing (we particularly loved the hammocks!) and is only 100 metres from the Carribean Beach. We definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boxtel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We (a couple) stayed 3 nights at aracari in a double with private bathroom (got a 3 day stay low season discount, so only at $20 dollars a night, normally 25 dollars). Don't expect a five star resort, but it's a super clean room and great value for money! Owners are welcoming, and even invited us one day to have lunch with them (Alejandro, you're a great cook!). The kitchen is basic, bus has everything you need to prepare a nice meal. The chill out areas are also basic, but it's nice to be able to relax somewhere other than in your room. And I'm sure this area will even get better over time, the owners shared some winderful ideas/plans they have for the place in the future.

We also enjoyed a canoe trip with Alejandro as our guide through Tortuguero park, saw lots of animals and got amazing shots of them. I also enjoyed (together some other guests), the night walk with him. Didn't see a lot of animals at that walk, mostly frogs and various insects, but still Alejandro made it interesting by telling us as many things about them and various plants as ge could. I would recommend him as a guide.

A last remark about their website, the right one was a bit hard to find for us (there also was an old one of the previous owner, with wrong phonenumber!). So make sure you google on Aracari GARDEN tortuguero, if you need to find their phone number or emailadress.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here two nights in May 2015. Hostel was just 6 weeks open. Neat and clean, small room but communal area and nice garden compensate this largely. Owners Marina and Alejandro are very friendly and welcoming. Also the kayak tour with Alejandro (he is an official tourguide) was great!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AracariGarden, Propietario at Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hey Mark, thank you very much for your review and thank you very much that you stayed with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the tour! If you come back some day to Tortuguero it would be a pleasure to welcome you again - maybe next time in one of our suites - our superior (bigger) double rooms to have more space?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where should I start?
Marina and Alejandro are such amazing hosts. They opened the hostel just a couple of weeks ago and I just admire they spirit and passion. They actually take their time to answer each of your questions and make you feeling at home on their site. On top of that, Alejandro is a funny and excellent tour guide and you should definitely consider to go on tour with him. If he is not available, he has great firends that have impressive knowledge about flora and fauna!
Secondly, the hostel itself has everything you need: Nice, clean and spacious rooms with ensuite bathrooms. And I gotta tell you: The beds are amazingly comfy which is a big plus! The kitchen can be used by everybody and in the same area you can meet very quickly other travellers. I absolutely recommend this place because it has such a outstanding vibe and is very good located (right next to the soccer field)! Keep up the perfect work marina and Alejandro! :)

PS: If you are in Tortuguero try out some eateries as well. Your hosts have good recommendations!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AracariGarden, Propietario at Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Andy, thank you very much for your nice review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hostel, the beds, the tours and our hospitality - we love to hear when clients leave our place perfectly satisfied! It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope to welcome you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited tortuguero national park with my girlfriend from Montreal Canada. The owners Marina and Alejandro made you feel at home and very welcome. Their hostel is extremely clean and bran new!! In my opinion after searching and seeing all the other hostels on the island this one was the best by far. Your a 1 minute walk from the beach. Full kitchen with everything you would need. The showers in the rooms are massive you can almost have a party in there ;). The owners were super helpful and honest they really made the experience that much better. I forgot the mention that the owner Alejandro has all his permits to take you on tours, he has an excellent eye and great detailed informations to go with it. All around 10/10 experience

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AracariGarden, Propietario at Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your review! To read that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience (and liked our showers ...) makes us more than happy! For us it was a pleasure meeting you and we hope that we can welcome you again some day! All the best, Marina & Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was greeted by both owners Marina & Alejandro with such positive energy. The hostel was clean, comfort and just what any backpacker needs when relaxation and rest is required. Thank so much for everything I have enjoyed my stay :) holly xx

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AracariGarden, Propietario at Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Holly, thank you very much for your review and thank you for staying at our place. It was a real pleasure meeting you and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay . Anytime you need to relax or rest - just let us know and it would be a pleasure welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Clean, well cared and well organised. The owners have taken care of all my wishes and questions. Lovely quiet and relaxing garden and super clean kitchen.
Brandnew hostel. I also booked the night walk and canoe trip there. Great experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AracariGarden, Propietario at Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hey Anja, thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you and we are happy to hear that we could give you a "home away from home" and that you had a great expierience during the tours. Hopefully we can welcome you again some day! Alles Gute, Marina & Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites

Address: South side of the soccer field, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aracari Garden Hostel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.