We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Tortuguero!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero to your Saves list
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best location in Tortuguero!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very nice hotel right by the beach, and only a few minutes walk to the village centre. Simple but big rooms. Good breakfast. There is a small communal kitchen, but very few pots. The staff are very helpful and helped us book our onward travels. The hammocks are under a roof (good for rainy days) with a lovely sea view. One evening at sunset we were walking on the beach very close to the hotel and found ourselves surrounded by turtle babies! There were around 30 of them, making their way from their egg to the water, an amazing experience! We booked a canoe trip with the hotel that was very good. The guide, Víctor Barrantes, knows a lot about animals and is really good at spotting them! In our little boat he took us right into the mangroves where we got very close to the animals. We were within 2 meters of tucans and caymans, fabulous!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    97
    32
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
96
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The price was right. $35/night with breakfast. But breakfast is from 7-9 and the tours start at 6am and go tell 9am. And the boat leaving back to La Pavona leaves at 5:30am. So we did not get to eat the free breakfast either morning. The room was minimal, but clean and the shower worked great. Wifi did not work from our room or the balcony of our room, but did work in dinning area. I would not choose this location again, due to, you have to walk across a soccer field that is not lit at night. and cut through some poorly lit pathways. This was not a concern until i had to do it by myself one night and had to walk past some shady youth hanging out. I think single gals would be better off in a location closer to the main shopping area. There is no A/C, but we did not need it. There is also no TV.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

After we got a new room (first one was really dirty) we had a great stay. The staff are really friendly an helpfull.

Fresh fruits and toast/pancake + eggs for breakfast, plus juice an good coffee.

The rooms could use some new paint. Electric shower (got zapped 1 day).
The towels and sheets had some stains, even when they changed. They felt clean, so i suppose its just some rust from the washer or something.

Tortuguero is very humid, so an aircon would have been nice. There were a fan though. So the nights will get hot.

Its just by the beach so the air outside is nice.(dont swim, ripcurrents)
Try to open a coconut with your bare hands, frome one of the thousands of c.trees.

Nice relaxing hammoc place.
Free wifi, though not great signal in the room.
Kitchen for you to use.
Just outside town(2min walk).
Feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elicaco1, Director Comercial at Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear customer thank you for your value opinion your rating said that EL ICACO is very good although with these inconvenience thanks once again , the front desk gave you a room that was not ready our apologies for the inconvenience and yes we already paint that room all the others are ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel based on other's people review. Unfortunately, we left a day before of schedule becasue we did not feel that confortable. It's a very rustic hotel, no A/C and no room TV as they claimed they have.
The real plus side is that people are very very friendly and you feel safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elicaco1, Propietario at Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
No where in our advertising say that EL ICACO have a/c or TV in our rooms , this customer just set this comment in our place as a mistake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Quiet and beautiful location, clean rooms and very friendly people! Breakfast simple but fresh. Rooms only have screens so light and noise can be seen from the outside. But we enjoyed it and would definately go again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms are a good size. Bathrooms are ok, bit cramped. The hostel is located just next to the beach, a short walk from the main centre where you can book tours etc. Resorts all require boats to get to, so if you want to do things independently, this is a good place to stay. Staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good. They also gave us late breakfast to have after our tour, which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The b and b Icaco Lodge in Tortuguero is wonderful and very inexpensive. I highly recommend it. It is right on the ocean , and the cheap price includes breakfast. The staff are very sweet and helpful. It does not have first class rooms, but for the person travelling on a budget, it is the best.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms are equal and in good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Address: 200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.