We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice to stay in Tortuguero” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero to your Saves list
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good choice to stay in Tortuguero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the El Icaco. Staff member came to take our bagage and guided us to the hotel.
When we arrived, the owner took time to explain to us activities to do on the island. We did the turtle tour with the hotel, it was amazing. The hotel offers breakfast and confortable basic room. It is close to the beach and the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    101
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
102
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Nicely located directly at the beach where the sea turtles nest. Nice hammock hangout area and reasonably clean rooms with private bathroom. 24/7 reception/security personnel which do their best to help. Small and basic kitchen area which is not accessible during late evening or night times. I enjoyed my stay there and would return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibbenbueren, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we had a great and awesome stay at el icaco. from the boat we had to walk through the small village to the hostel. it was very easy to find.
the room was clean and every day were some flowers in there, great! breakfast were excited and enough to get through the day. you don´t need a pool, the ocean is close to the hostel. we did the canoe tour with roberto, also the turtle tour the next evening. it was awesome to see the turtles!
the atmosphere in the hostel is warm and cosy. best view to the ocean lying in the hammock. calixto is very pleased to help you getting tours

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Staff and Management

Icaco is a family hotel, the owners were correct and friendly, I spoke to them in Spanish, but I'm quite sure they also speak English. The check-in and check-out was very quick and efficient. When we arrived the owner gave us the necessary information and warned us for dangerous rip currents in the ocean. When in the evening we wanted to eat something on the terrace of our cabine we needed a canopener, they let us borrow theirs, they even offered us their microwave to heat our food.

Services

The hotel offered us to send someone to pick us up at the arrival in Tortuguero to not make us search the hotel. They offer free of charge wireless internet connection but I didn´t use it so I don´t know how good it is, although I saw some people using skype on it.

Location

The location of the hotel is very convenient, at about 10 steps from the beach.

Bedrooms

The bedroom is basic but nice and clean, the bathroom is big and basic, the shower is big though the floor inclinates to the wrong side which makes that the water doesn´t have an easy exit. The comfort is good enough to get a good rest. The door had a little opening up and down so the room is not guaranteed free of insects, but all in all you´re in the tropical zone, so you need to come prepared for those things...The room is not airconditioned but that is not a surprise as it says so when you book. There is a ventilator though.

Food

The hotel offers a breakfast included in the price of the room. The breakfast has coffee or tea, fresh fruit juice, fresh fruits, scrambled eggs and toast. Breakfast is good and for sure enough. Great to start your day with a wonderful view on the Caribean Sea.

Conclusion

The location, close to the beach, the correct owners, the comfortable rooms make this hotel be a good place to stay when you visit Tortuguero. Whenever we go back to Tortoguero we´ll consider another visit to Icaco.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

People waiting to greet guests at other end, Took big bags on bike to hotel, only short walk, friendly, smiley and very nice! Hotel in good location, rooms clean, lovely atmosphere, fab shower, big room, nice breakfast, $25 a night, fab owners- lovely! First night slept badly because of some very noisy Americans and Italians. Second night had amazing nights sleep. Fans in room, safe, recommend.

Room Tip: You get what you´re given, didn´t see much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Arrived on the boat from Moin. Greeted by Leonardo - an independent guide who works with the hotel. He walked us to the b and b- which was great as its a bit of a maze when you get there but you soon find your bearings! He didn't realise we were two friends and not a couple so he switched our double room for a family room (4 beds!) at no extra cost. It was upstairs at the back of the property, with a deck that had a view of the sea and a lush breeze!!!! The room was basic, but clean and comfortable. Calixto the owner was very relaxed and helpful - helped me to call our next accommodation etc. also recommended places to eat! The property felt really safe and the shower was also hot! It is 'rustic' but we loved it!!! Breakfast was great and the hammocks were a super place to read a book and sleep in the heat of the day! The location is great - just on the edge of town , but right on the turtle beach and the nature trails!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent two nights in Tortuguero and it definetely looked like we made the best choice for a affordable hostel. We participated to the guided walk to see the turtles and a trip by Cano which were both organized through the hostel. The both tours were definetely as good or even better as then ones organized by the "official tour guides" of the village. Especially the Cano tour was great, we were only 6 in the Cano compared to other tours were people were with much more and in boats with motors which scared the birds and other animals away.
The breakfast was perfect, the manager very friendly and helpful and we especially liked the hammocks outside!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Address: 200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.