We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality/price, best I've seen in Tortuguero” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero to your Saves list
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good quality/price, best I've seen in Tortuguero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent two nights in Tortuguero and it definetely looked like we made the best choice for a affordable hostel. We participated to the guided walk to see the turtles and a trip by Cano which were both organized through the hostel. The both tours were definetely as good or even better as then ones organized by the "official tour guides" of the village. Especially the Cano tour was great, we were only 6 in the Cano compared to other tours were people were with much more and in boats with motors which scared the birds and other animals away.
The breakfast was perfect, the manager very friendly and helpful and we especially liked the hammocks outside!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    111
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
39
111
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice host Kaliksta, breakfast was very good, clean rooms, near the beach and center road of tortuguero. Brilliant guide (Leonardo) connected to this hostel. The only down point was your matress is lying on a wooden plate so for people with a bad back it's not that good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elicaco1, Owner at Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear customer thank you for your comment , it is a pleasure to me to let know people who reads this that we changed all mattresses in all rooms that was necessary .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

At first I came to tortugero in December 2011 looking for a place to stay because I have to work in tortugero for a year and a half, after trying some hostels I found el icaco B&B it's a nice and peaceful place right in front of the beach. At first I stayed for a week on December 2011 and I loved the rooms and the bathrooms are very comfortable, they clean the room and the change the towels and the sheets every day and if you have any problem you can tell Calixto the owner and he will try to fix it right away he and all the staff of the hotel are very friendly people they will make you feeling like part of their family, one of the best things in el Icaco is the breakfast is delicious , another good thing is that the icaco is a very quiet place. This is really a home away of home. At first I was a week here in December 2011, now I am living here since February 2012 and truly this place is amazing I really love this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I recently moved to Costa Rica for four months and two of these months were spent in Tortuguero to work on a volunteer recycling project which we set up ourselves. We stayed at a few different hostels at the beggining which were very cheap and pretty nasty lol! Then we met Calixto and his wife Meybel, and it was a whole new world. Their little B&B El Icaco is truly a home away from home. The rooms are extremely comfortable and they are cleaned to perfection every day. Once in a while we would treat ourselves to the 5 dollar breakfast which was sooo delicious. My husband would spend alot of time in the front patio working on his study and chatting to all the local friendly guides who we got to know during our extended stay. El Icaco became our home and we were treated like family by all that worked there. We both had our birthday's whilst we were there and Meybel organised a birthday cake for us which we were both very touched by :) Tortuguero is a must visit if you go to Central America. I have travelled all over the world and there is no other place like it! The turtle nesting and canal tours are amazing. I also recommend a walk in the national park and the Buddha Restaurant is a winner too. El Icaco is THE place to stay for every adventurous backpacker who wants to experience the Carribean culture and family life for what it truly is. Will post some photos as well very soon. I miss it very dearly and hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Missouri
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were 'recommended' this hostel by what we thought was a representative of the 'associacion de guias' whilst waiting for the bus at Cariari. Turns out he wasn't an independent rep but had called his mate to meet us at the dock upon arrival to take us to Icaco and presumably get the commission - this was a little annoying as we had got chatting to a guide on the boat who also was intent on getting the commission by taking us to the hotel and upon arrival neither man was happy with the situation! Not that it was anything to do with us!

They both walked us to Icaco - we looked at the room, decided to stay, and just left them to fight out the commission amongst themselves. They also wanted us to sit down discuss our tour plan for the next day but we told them to leave us to get our bearings first and we'd find them later if we needed to.

Anyway, Icaco is a pretty basic hostel - two double beds in our room with poor mattresses, TINY bathroom, knees practically touching the door when sitting on the toilet! The rooms are cleaned every day which is good and there each has a little patio area with table and chairs and there are hammocks that you can chill out on whilst looking at the sea/browsing the internet on their wifi.

Our room was $25 - you could get breakfast for an extra $10 but we felt this excessive and just sorted ourselves out.

Incidentally, I have some severe reservations about the 'turtle tours' - but see my other post for this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Honestly, I don't understand what all that hype is all about and why they are sooo heavily booked all the time, even during the low season.
We just showed up there and they lady said she could accomodate us only for 2 nights (we needed 3), as she is completely booked with the group coming on a third day. Ok, no problem. On a third day we moved to a neighbour's property, hotel "Balcon del Mar" which is a much better option in every aspect (they have mini fridges in a room, very nice and clean communal kitchen, bigger bathrooms) and charge less for essentially the same room.

Anyway, our room was very basic with a tiny bathroom - one person could barely fit in there. No mosquito nets. They charge 5 dollars extra for the breakfast (if you want one) - we opted out. You can not use there kitchen (which was a bummer, since we were travelling with a 2 year old kid). Since our room was facing the house where owners stayed, we were subjected to listen to their TV with them. ((( (hate that)
On a positive side: rooms cleaned daily. Towels changed daily and the maid makes those fancy swans out of them .)) There is a nice little patio with a plastic table/chairs by each room, so you can seat there (if mosquitoes don't get you before).

This property did not work for me at all. Sorry.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Mrs ,thank you for your comment those are what make us do a better job , No one visit a place that give a bad service to costumers , most of the comments that our possible visitors read coming from people who visit our place twice,we are a B&B so our reasonable rates include breakfast ., For people who arrive with no reservation like you we do our best to hold them in our place , but we need to respect reservation, respect reservation is what make us grow up in the area ,we do not have a kitchen guest but people who needs a fridge or a microwave can use ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed only one night, but El Icaco was great! The breakfast was the best included breakfast I've ever had at a budget hotel/hostel, and the place is literally steps from the ocean, with hammocks looking out on the beach. All this plus a private room with my own bathroom for less than $20 USD and it really can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Address: 200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.