We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Baula Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Baula Lodge to your Saves list
La Baula Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 70210, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Grecia La Argentina, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. Everything we inquired about, we received. We wanted a kayak tour and within minutes they notified the guy . Asked about seeing the turtles, and we were put on the list and got our time. Pool was very nice and clean. Even got to use the hotel's kayaks to paddle around a bit. In the restaurant, staff was always ready to serve. Food was excellent. They were very accommodating because, even though we did not do the all-inclusive price, often we would decide to eat at the hotel at the last minute. They got us to the airport on time. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    54
    29
    9
    3
See reviews for
23
51
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights - family owned and operated lodge - 4/5 star grounds and eating area - really good value for money in that a trip a day is included in your stay - also all meals - home cooked food - traditional Costa Rican style - friendly staff and good service. Room basic, but no need for more - howler monkeys right outside room provide entertainment nightly and even serenade you at 5am!!!
Water taxi to Tortuguero village $3 per person one way.
Guide supplied by hotel was Rey Brown - very knowledgeable and friendly - he showed us turtles at night - ask for him by name since he is really really worth it.
Transfer to La Fortuna included a boat ride- this was an excursion in itself as well!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaarup, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice welcome with drinks, very nice and friendly staff, we felt lige very welcom guests very soon. Spacious dining- and bar area, Small but fine pool area. Rooms ok, nothing special but everything needed was there. We brought our own very efficient anf great guide (Jorge Mendez) who helped us wil all tours and transport, and whatever we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

BE WARNED. CAUTION!
The front office staff are a bunch of cheats looking to take advantage of guests.
We stayed during turtle season and while we were initially impressed with the facilities things only deteriorated after we met the staff which checked in guests.
1. we made a reservation well in advance and recieved a confirmation. Upon arrival they had no idea we were coming. I showed them the confirmation email. They proceeded to point fingers and after sometime they then said they could make a room available. (mind you my wife and I are both fluent in spanish, so miscommunication was not an issue)
2. They asked if we would be interested in dinner buffet at $15 USD a person. We agreed as they descibed it as being very good and loads of options. At dinner they served tuna pasta salad (canned tuna in pasta salad), mashed potatoes, steamed veggies, sliced cucumber, and tilapia in a cream sauce. It was all bad. Cumbers were soggy, potatoes -flavorless, tuna salad- horrible and tilapia was undercooked. I wont even mention the dessert.
3. We booked a turtle watching trip thru the hotel. While it was more than booking it in town we figured it would be easier for transportation to book at hotel. At $40.00 a person for 2hours one would expect the hotel to make sure we had everything in hand before heading to see the turtles. Completely wrong! At the boat launch, suited up and ready to go, the same to men who checked us in told us they didnt have our tickets to the National Park. That we were supposed to buy them. Well nobody ever told us this. So here we are, its 7:45pm. the tour starts at 8:00 and we are being told we cant go. Needless to say when one books a tour thru the hotel, one would expect the hotel to set up araingments. Not at La Baula!
4. Breakfast buffet which was included in our room cost at $35 per person. The food once again - horrid!. Not even worth describing. Just imagine you most hated foods served in a buffet and the food is cold.
5. Dead cockroaches in the shower.
6. To top it all off upon checking out the same two guys who checked us in wanted to charge us for the tour tickets we never recieved.
All in all DO NOT STAY HERE! I know all the other reviews are good. But honestly this place left a very bad taste in my mouth. Its not worth the risk. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

La Baula is located a 3 min ($3 per person) water taxi from Tortuguero village.

The lodge is in beautiful surroundings, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffets and lunches were very good.

The only disadvantage is that if you plan to organize tours through the village (as opposed to the hotel) then each return trip will set you back $6 per person, so add this to your budget. Saying that the hotel organizes tours but my wife and I wanted to support the association of local guides.

Overall, I'd recommend La Baula lodge as a great base in the national park.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you need somewhere to stay in Tortuguero I can recommend La Baula. It is in a great location and short water taxi ride to Tortuguero Village. The rooms are basic, clean and functional, the beds are comfortable and the shower is powerful and hot! The big open plan restaurant is wonderful overlooking the river and breakfast, lunch and dinner is good value and not bad quality either. My children loved the swimming pool and the gardens to wonder through. The manager, Bernardo, is fantastic, helping us out with all our questions and booking up tours and transport for us. His quality customer service attitude emanates through his staff as from cleaners to restaurant to bar staff, they are all excellent. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I spent our 39th wedding anniversary at La Baula Lodge, plus two more nights. All three nights and days were thoroughly enjoyable! Two of the three nights we were the only guests there, but you'd never know by the service and attention we received. Our room was so comfortable and clean. The maid made a cute towel design on our bed each day. The waiters provided special smoothies the next before our anniversary, a special romantic dinner the night after, and even gave us fresh fruit to take on a morning tour. This place was fantastic, at any price. For only $70 per night, it was an absolute steal! We probably will never return to Tortuguero, but if we did, we would definitely stay at La Baula Lodge again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Baula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baula Lodge

Address: Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 70210, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Baula Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAULA LODGE TORTUGUERO Tortuguero National Park, is located on the Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica, Province of Limon. This was established on November 13, 1975 and has an area of 18,946 hectares in the terrestrial and 52,265 hectares in the marina. This park comes to constitute the most important site in the Western Caribbean side for the green turtle nesting, and other species such as leatherback and Carey. Lagoons and waterways make up the National Park and are the habitat of species such as crocodiles, alligators, manatees, turtles, crabs and the millennial fish Gaspar and others. This national park was created to protect a wide variety of flora and fauna found in the area and is part of Wetlands of International Importance of the Ramsar Convention. Strategically located opposite the Tortuguero Lagoon and only 5 minutes by boat from Tortuguero National Park is La Baula Lodge, a rustic hotel, very comfortable that re-opened in June 2008 with a clear vision of providing its customers personalized service, quality and comfort in the midst of a natural sanctuary. La Baula Lodge has focused on the respect, protection and conservation of the environment and the flora and fauna of the area. The Lodge in general has a real Caribbean style, painted in vivid colors that identify with the culture of the area, beautiful exotic gardens, restaurant, pool and large bar, laundry service, experienced guides and quality service is what we offer, plus of course 45 standard rooms with ceiling fan and private bathroom with hot water. The hotel is located on a beautiful 2 acre property in the middle of flora and fauna that identify the Tortuguero National Park, where the exotic sounds will make your experience unforgettable, here you will have the first opportunity for a destination of immense natural wealth, the hotel is strategically located facing the lagoon and close to Tortuguero Town. Our Bar and Restaurant offers national and international meals and drinks, and of course Caribbean and is completely open, giving expansive views of the tropical gardens and the Laguna Tortuguero. Come on and enjoy a true natural adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Baula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Baula Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Baula Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.