We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with brilliant staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Baula Lodge

Save Saved
You added La Baula Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com AMOMA.com
and 1 more site!
La Baula Lodge
Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Tortuguero
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with brilliant staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Check in: We were greater from the boat with a refreshing watermelon juice and handed our keys easily.

Room: I stayed in room 25. This was opposite the restaurant and close to the pool. The wifi worked well in the room.

I had a comfortable double bed, fan, table and chairs and the shower had good water pressure and was hot.

Restaurant: I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. All buffet style fresh food. The only issue was the flies in breakfast around the jabs etc but the staff tried to keep them away.

Bar: The bar was great. 2-4-1 cocktails during happy hour. The bar staff were fantastic, Freddie was very friendly and so were all the other staff.

Pool: The pool was very refreshing and clean. The hotel provides pool towels which was good.

The view over the river is fantastic. This is such a well run, relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I loved the place. very basic but this is what you need at that secluded place. Fresh and tasty food, friendly stuff. Will come back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic experience at La Baula. The staff was extremely accommodating and rooms were spotless and comfortable. Nestled practically inside Tortuguero National Park, La Baula is overflowing with natural, rustic beauty and is quite a refreshing change from the busy streets of San Jose. We really enjoyed lounging poolside amidst lush tropical plants and flowers (and a few giant iguanas!), the early morning canal tour where our experienced guides pointed out tons of exotic wildlife, and just hanging with people who live and work at the lodge. Also, the coconut-guaro cocktails are delish! If you are looking for a charming and serene place to stay, I highly recommend the La Baula Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights and 3 days at La Baula. The staff took every opportunity to maximize our time at Tortuguero National Park. The meal plan was delicious and provided a solid menu, while Freddy, the bartender took care of all of our drink and entertainment needs. La Baula is well connected to all of the recreational tours, and we thoroughly enjoyed the early morning canal tour. There is a vast amount of wildlife to be seen on that trip and I highly recommend it. The pool there provides an excellent opportunity to laze away an afternoon as well. Take a trip into the town of Tortuguero to enjoy the small car-less village and take a hike through the national park. The rooms were nothing fancy, but clean and well tended. I can't speak highly enough of the service from all of the staff there during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed here for 3 days....the scenic beauty cant be better, and the good vibes from the family running the place made my stay a great experience. Food was great, Costa Rican food....no fancy food, but tasty and filing.
Speaking to the family who run the hotel (who have plenty opf experience running hotels in other parts of Costa Rica), said bought the place 20 months ago, and will work on improving the rooms which were already good to me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My friend and I were on a school trip and stayed at this hotel for two nights, July 22 and 23. We both received multiple bed bug bites on our backs. We had to completely fumigate our luggage. Please do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baulalodge, Propietario at La Baula Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
It's a shame you've gone with a bad impression of our lodge. We are very sorry for your bad experience and ask you for an apology.
We have had many groups of students from the same company with which you traveled and they have always gone very happy with our service and facilities.
Too bad we were not informed at the time in order to have done something about it, as a change of room or whatever it took to make you feel comfortable and safe.
It sometimes happens that students forget to close the door when they leave the room and then the mosquitoes come in and disturb the sleep time.
We are already taking steps to check and prevent this situation from happening again.
Thank you very much for your comment, it makes us grow and improve for our future customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed here for two nights as part of a small tour group. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this lodge, with its colorful cabins, lovely gardens and small swimming pool (a nice treat in the heat and humidity).
The cabins are basic but just fine, with fans and screened windows for ocean breezes. Be prepared to be woken up by howler monkeys at 5am! The location is great, overlooking the lagoon just a short water-taxi ride from town, so all the grounds have a water view. The food (buffets available for all meals) is bland (underseasoned local dishes like rice and beans, mashed plantains, etc) and not worth the $14 charge, but fine and filling if you don't want to go into town or if it's included in your package. The bar is well-stocked with ice-cold beer, wine etc.
Sergio, who runs the nighttime turtle tours for the hotel, is a real character and very knowledgeable and passionate about turtles. Don't take an unauthorized turtle tour; I met several people who got ripped off - plus those operations can harm the turtles. Go with Sergio!
I also took a morning canal tour and hike with Bony, a very nice guy who operates from town just to the right of the water taxi dock. His wildlife-spotting skills were uncanny.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Baula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baula Lodge

Also Known As:
La Baula Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero
Address: Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baula Lodge features 40 cosy rooms which are located in different sized room blocks that are painted with the typical caribbean colors of Tortuguero. They have a rustic touch that goes in hand with our commitment to work in harmony with our environment. Each room features a private bathroom, hot water, ceiling fan, and views to our beautiful gardens. Our restaurant serves a wide variety of national and international meals as well as traditional caribbean dishes, that you may join with a cocktail, a beer or a liquor of your choice from our Bar. The restaurant features no walls which provides a vast view of our tropical gardens and the Tortuguero Lagoon with a cool atmosphere to enjoy your meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your La Baula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Baula Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.